One product, one panel, one record.
Bioma Digestive & Gut Repair Probiotics — label audit
This is the best strain disclosure in its batch — four organisms, four real designators, all four with human RCT literature — and it exists only as pixels inside a marketing JPEG. The panel is not in the page HTML, not in any federal database, and not anywhere a screen reader can reach it.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
- What did not survive verification
- Part of this page was refuted or could not be reproduced One load-bearing number in this teardown is single-sourced and must not be quoted as a headline. The dose-gap finding compares this product's 10 billion CFU against 17 billion CFU specified for HOWARU® Restore by IFF, the ingredient's owner. IFF's own product page returned HTTP 403 to direct fetching, so the 17 billion figure came from IFF's published description surfaced through search rather than from the issuer page itself. The strain composition matches IFF's specification exactly, which corroborates that this is the genuine branded blend, but it does not corroborate the number. Everything else here — the panel transcription, the four designators, the absent CFU basis, the pricing tiers and the trial set — is directly sourced and stands.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
59.7 out of 100
Rank 72 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 7 other products — 8 products sit on 59.7 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 4 of 4 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 4 / 4 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 4 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "none-stated": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated no, basis reaches expiry no — 1 of 3. | 1 / 3 = 0.3333 | 0.073333 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 4 of 4 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 4 / 4 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.513333 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5969. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 59.7 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | Howaru®Restore (10 Billion CFU) — 29 mg |
| What that count is measured against | No basis stated |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 4 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
A CFU number appears with no temporal basis of any kind. A count with no basis is not a quantity; there is no date at which it is claimed to be true.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | NCFM® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "NCFM"[tiab] AND (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR randomized[tiab]) |
| Lacticaseibacillus paracasei | Lpc-37® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lpc-37"[tiab] AND (randomized[tiab] OR randomised[tiab] OR trial[tiab]) |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | Bl-07® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bi-07"[tiab] AND (randomized[tiab] OR randomised[tiab] OR trial[tiab]) |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | Bl-04® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bl-04"[tiab] AND (randomized[tiab] OR randomised[tiab] OR trial[tiab]) |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — PT03-2.jpghttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0922/3864/3575/files/PT03-2.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own product image, downloaded, cropped and upscaled to read the panel. This is the only place the Supplement Facts for this product exist. SKU bioma_digestive_repair_01, barcode 4779051873159, both from the brand's Shopify products.json.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — thebioma-digestive-gut-repair-2026-07-31https://thebioma.com/products/digestive-gut-repair-probiotics — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200, fetched directly. Source for the pricing tiers, the certification badge row, the claim copy and the confirmation that the panel is absent from the page HTML.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 4 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$3.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $89.99 USD
- What that buys
- 60-capsule bottle (30 servings, 2 capsules once daily)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://thebioma.com/products/digestive-gut-repair-probiotics — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| "Third-Party Tested" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "GMP Approved" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "Non-GMO" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "Gluten-Free" / "Vegetarian" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "Made in FDA Registered Facility" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
"Third-Party Tested"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Names no laboratory, no standard, and links to no certificate of analysis. There is no issuer to check. Unfalsifiable as written.
"GMP Approved"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
No registrar named.
"Non-GMO"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
An unqualified self-claim, not "Non-GMO Project Verified". No issuer register applies to a self-claim.
"Gluten-Free" / "Vegetarian"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
No certifier named for either.
"Made in FDA Registered Facility"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
This is not a certification. Facility registration with FDA is a mandatory notification, not an approval, an inspection or an endorsement. It appears on the product page inside a row of certification badges, which is misleading by placement rather than by wording.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 supplement-facts-exists-only-as-pixels
The panel is not in the page HTML, not in DSLD, and not anywhere a screen reader, a price-comparison tool or a regulator's crawler can parse it. It lives inside one marketing JPEG on the brand's own Shopify CDN. Everything good about this label — and there is a lot — is unreachable by machine.
The record: thebioma.com product page HTML versus panel JPEG PT03-2.jpg, both 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0922/3864/3575/files/PT03-2.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 2 cfu-basis-unstated-entirely
"Howaru®Restore (10 Billion CFU)" appears on the panel and "10 Billion CFU of clinically proven Howaru® Restore strains" on the page. Nowhere does anything say whether that number is guaranteed at manufacture or through expiry. No storage statement, no stability statement. A count with no basis has no date at which it is claimed to be true.
The record: Panel JPEG PT03-2.jpg and thebioma.com product page and FAQ, all 2026-07-31
Finding 3 dose-gap-against-the-ingredient-owners-own-specification
IFF specifies HOWARU® Restore at 17 billion CFU. This product ships 10 billion — roughly 59% of the branded dose — and the human trials of the blend were run at the manufacturer's dose, not this one. Right strains, right blend, wrong dose, with the studied dose never disclosed to the buyer for comparison. Combined with an unstated basis, a buyer cannot tell whether they are getting 10 billion at purchase or 10 billion at end of shelf life, and either way it is below the studied amount.
The record: IFF HOWARU Restore product description, surfaced via search 2026-07-31; panel JPEG PT03-2.jpg
Finding 4 indication-swap-behind-clinically-proven
Five randomised trials exist of this exact four-strain combination — PMIDs 28961980, 31131616, 32283645, 33763399 and 36235651. Their endpoints are antibiotic-associated diarrhoea, Clostridium difficile, hospital colonisation with multi-drug-resistant bacteria, faecal recovery during antibiotic treatment, and inflammation in the elderly. Bioma sells the blend for bloating, regularity, "gut repair", energy and mood in healthy consumers. Exactly one of the five — the two-week constipation trial, PMID 31131616 — is squarely on a symptom Bioma advertises.
The record: PubMed, 5 records verified by title, 2026-07-31; query: ("NCFM" AND "Lpc-37" AND "Bi-07" AND "Bl-04") AND (randomized OR randomised) — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 5 the-blend-name-itself-has-no-human-trial
"HOWARU Restore" returns exactly one PubMed record, PMID 38140334 in Nutrients 2023, and its own title ends "An Ex Vivo Study". The strains have human trials. The named blend does not.
The record: PubMed 2026-07-31, query '"HOWARU Restore"[tiab] OR "HOWARU(R) Restore"[tiab]' — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 6 strain-designator-typo-on-the-physical-label
The third organism is printed "Bl-07". The real IFF strain is Bi-07. A buyer who types what the label shows into PubMed gets nothing; the correct spelling returns 46 records. The typo also makes the panel read as carrying two Bl-numbered strains.
The record: Panel JPEG PT03-2.jpg transcribed 2026-07-31; PubMed counts for "Bl-07" versus "Bi-07"
Finding 7 bulk-tiers-with-exactly-zero-discount
Straight from the brand's own Shopify products.json — 1 bottle $89.99, 3 bottles $269.97, 6 bottles $539.94. That is $89.99 multiplied by three and by six, exactly. The "Select Your Purchase Option" widget presents three tiers that are arithmetically identical per unit. There is no volume pricing, only a larger commitment.
The record: thebioma.com products.json, fetched 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://thebioma.com/products/digestive-gut-repair-probiotics — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 8 anti-inflammatory-gut-protection-printed-on-the-package
"Anti-inflammatory" is drug-claim vocabulary rather than structure/function vocabulary, and here it is on the box art, not just in body copy. Alongside it — "reduced inflammation", "protection against toxins", "constipation and diarrhea" and "food sensitivities" named as conditions addressed, a "leaky gut" frame with an implied prevention claim ("may prevent bigger health problems down the road"), and "start feeling relief in as little as 7 days" with a week-by-week outcome timeline. The FDA disclaimer is present. No regulatory verdict is rendered here; the on-package "anti-inflammatory" wording is the specific item worth naming.
The record: Bottle and box art plus thebioma.com body copy, read verbatim 2026-07-31
Finding 9 three-dollars-a-day
$89.99 for 30 servings. The most expensive product in its batch and among the most expensive in the universe this project surveys — attached to a formula dosed below its own ingredient supplier's specification.
The record: thebioma.com products.json, $89.99 / 30 servings, 2026-07-31
Finding 10 funnel-catalogue-of-near-duplicate-landing-pages
Roughly 24 of the 30 Shopify entries are landing-page variants of two real SKUs, with handles like -pdpv1, -v2a-bloating, -gen-angle and -stress-eating. Not a defect in itself, but it tells you the product is an advertising artefact first.
The record: thebioma.com products.json, 30 entries enumerated 2026-07-31
Finding 11 not-a-mens-product-and-there-is-no-gendered-sku-either-way
The entire Shopify catalogue was pulled — 30 entries covering five real products, none of them gendered in either direction. There is no men's version, no women's version, and nothing male-specific in the formula: no prostate ingredient, no urinary ingredient, no androgen-related ingredient, no male-selected organism. The marketing imagery on the product page is predominantly female.
The record: thebioma.com Shopify products.json, 30 entries enumerated 2026-07-31
Finding 12 lithuanian-entity-behind-a-san-francisco-address
The label gives "Bioma Health UAB, 505 Montgomery Street, San Francisco, California". UAB is the Lithuanian designation for a private limited company, and the product barcode prefix 477 is the GS1 country prefix for Lithuania. Stated as an observation about corporate provenance, not as an accusation.
The record: Panel JPEG PT03-2.jpg distributor line and barcode 4779051873159 from thebioma.com products.json
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- "Third-Party Tested" status
- Names no laboratory, no standard, and links to no certificate of analysis. There is no issuer to check. Unfalsifiable as written.
- "GMP Approved" status
- No registrar named.
- "Non-GMO" status
- An unqualified self-claim, not "Non-GMO Project Verified". No issuer register applies to a self-claim.
- "Gluten-Free" / "Vegetarian" status
- No certifier named for either.
- "Made in FDA Registered Facility" status
- This is not a certification. Facility registration with FDA is a mandatory notification, not an approval, an inspection or an endorsement. It appears on the product page inside a row of certification badges, which is misleading by placement rather than by wording.
- The dose IFF specifies for HOWARU® Restore
- IFF's own HOWARU Restore product page returned HTTP 403 to automated fetching. The 17 billion CFU figure the dose-gap finding rests on came from IFF's published product description surfaced via search, not from a direct fetch, and needs one more source before it can carry a headline.
- Any statement of whether 10 billion CFU is at manufacture or through expiry
- There is none — not on the panel, not on the page, not in the FAQ. There is also no storage statement and no stability statement. This is a finding about the label, not a gap in the teardown.
- Per-strain CFU
- Four organisms share one 29 mg, 10 billion CFU blend figure. Any one of them could be a token inclusion.
- A machine-readable Supplement Facts panel
- The rendered page text is roughly 7,400 characters and contains no panel. The panel exists only inside the marketing image PT03-2.jpg on the brand's own CDN. It was downloaded, cropped, upscaled and transcribed by hand.
- A federal label record
- Zero DSLD records under three spellings — Bioma, Bioma Health, thebioma. DSLD is a voluntary archive, so this is a provenance limit, not a compliance finding.
- Subscription and refund terms
- Not tested in this pass. The page states "Cancel Anytime. Free Shipping. Guaranteed Safe Checkout" and no claim is made about what happens behind that. The third-party pages surfaced in search on this subject are affiliate-driven and were not used as sources.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Give Bioma the credit first, because it has earned some and almost nothing else in this category has.
Four organisms, four real strain designators. NCFM, Lpc-37, Bl-07 and Bl-04 — a named, reputable IFF branded blend with a genuine peer-reviewed evidence base behind every one of them. Total CFU disclosed. Complete allergen declaration. Delayed-release capsule with a stated rationale. Supplier trademark attributions present. The CoreBiome evidence described honestly as “Laboratory research” rather than inflated to “clinical”. That is materially better disclosure than most of the products this project has opened.
Now the problems, and they are structural.
The panel is a picture. The rendered page is about 7,400 characters and contains no Supplement Facts at all. Everything above exists only as pixels inside one marketing JPEG on the brand’s CDN. It is not in the page HTML and there is no federal label record under any of three spellings. A screen-reader user cannot read this label. Neither can a price-comparison tool, a safety tool, or anyone trying to diff the panel across time to catch a silent reformulation.
The CFU number has no basis. Ten billion — at manufacture, or through expiry? The panel does not say. The page does not say. The FAQ does not say. There is no storage statement and no stability statement anywhere. That matters more here than usual, because of what comes next.
The dose is below the ingredient owner’s own specification. IFF specifies HOWARU® Restore at 17 billion CFU; this product ships 10. The five randomised trials of this exact four-strain combination were run at the manufacturer’s dose. And read those trials’ endpoints, not their count: C. difficile, antibiotic-associated diarrhoea, hospital colonisation, faecal recovery during antibiotics, inflammation in the elderly. Bioma sells the blend for bloating, energy and mood in healthy people. Exactly one of the five is on a symptom the brand advertises. The phrase “clinically proven Howaru® Restore strains” is doing a great deal of work: the strains genuinely are clinically studied, largely for a different indication than the one being sold. The blend name itself has one PubMed record and it is ex vivo.
Then there is the shelf: $89.99 for thirty days, $3.00 a day, with three-bottle and six-bottle “options” that cost exactly three and exactly six times the single price. And on the box, in drug-claim vocabulary, “Anti-inflammatory gut protection”.
If Bioma moved the panel into HTML, stated the CFU basis, and dosed to 17 billion, it would be a defensible product at a hard-to-defend price. As shipped, the best label in its batch is one no machine can read.