One product, one panel, one record.
Codeage Men's Daily Probiotic 50 Billion CFU — label audit
The men's ingredient is 80 mg of saw palmetto — one quarter of the 320 mg daily dose that failed in a 32-trial, 5,666-man Cochrane review, and one twelfth of the 960 mg that also failed in the 369-man CAMUS trial. The page never says what it is for, which is the point.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- D₂₇ founding teardown One of the 27 products taken apart at label level. That cohort is frozen and dated, so the audit’s published percentages cannot silently move.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
54.3 out of 100
Rank 86 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 1 other product — 2 products sit on 54.3 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 5 of 5 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 5 / 5 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 5 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 5 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. | 2 / 3 = 0.6667 | 0.146667 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 2 of 5 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 2 / 5 = 0.4000 | 0.0800 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.466667 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5426. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 54.3 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 50 Billion CFU |
| What that count is measured against | At manufacture only |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 5 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Same chassis as women’s SKU |
‡At time of manufacture
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| L. rhamnosus (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus) | GG | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG" AND randomized |
| L. plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) | Lp39 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "Lp39" AND plantarum |
| L. acidophilus | LAC361 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "LAC-361" |
| B. lactis (correct name: Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis) | P23 | — not stated separately | No records | "P23" AND Bifidobacterium lactis |
| B. longum | S12 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "S12" AND Bifidobacterium longum |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — MensDailyProbiotic-30ct_SF_square_blackhttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0014/4719/8797/files/MensDailyProbiotic-30ct_SF_square_black.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own Supplement Facts image, read directly and independently re-read during the audit: zinc 5 mg / 45% DV, Probiotic Blend (50 Billion CFU‡) 200 mg with GG, Lp39, LAC361, P23 and S12, chicory inulin 100 mg, Saw Palmetto Extract 80 mg, ‡At time of manufacture.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — codeage-mens-pdp-2026-07-30https://www.codeage.com/products/mens-daily-probiotic-zinc — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Live page and Shopify JSON: $29.99, SKU MenDailyProbiotic, and the zero-match search for prostate, testosterone, urinary, virility and libido.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 2 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $29.99 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule per serving)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://www.codeage.com/products/mens-daily-probiotic-zinc — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| cGMP facility | Not checked | not checked |
cGMP facility
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
Not a third-party certification. cGMP for dietary supplements is a baseline legal requirement under 21 CFR Part 111, binding on every US supplement manufacturer. Presented adjacent to "for quality and purity" it invites reading as a quality credential; it is a statement of minimum legal compliance. No USP, NSF, Informed Choice or ConsumerLab mark is claimed anywhere.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Compared against Codeage Women's Daily Probiotic. Diffed .
What the two panels differ by
- The sex-specific add is the only real difference: saw palmetto 80 mg plus zinc 5 mg in the men's, cranberry fruit powder in the women's. Codeage live catalogue, 183 products, and both product pages
What is identical across the pair
- Both are a five-strain, 50-billion-CFU chassis at time of manufacture, and both are $29.99.
- Both use chicory inulin as the prebiotic.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 saw-palmetto-at-quarter-of-a-failed-dose
80 mg of saw palmetto. The standard clinical dose is 320 mg/day, and it does not work at that dose: Cochrane pooled 32 randomised trials in 5,666 men and concluded, verbatim, that "Serenoa repens, at double and triple doses, did not improve urinary flow measures or prostate size in men with lower urinary tract symptoms consistent with BPH". The 369-man CAMUS trial escalated to 640 and then 960 mg/day over 72 weeks and found a group mean difference of 0.79 points favouring placebo. This product supplies a quarter of the lowest failed dose, in an unspecified extract form.
The record: PMID 23235581 · PMID 21954478 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 2 ingredient-makes-the-claim-copy-stays-clean
Searching the full page for prostate, testosterone, urinary, virility and libido returns zero matches. The copy is purely descriptive: it names ingredients and never says what they do. Saw palmetto has essentially no consumer use case other than prostate and lower-urinary-tract symptoms, so putting it in a bottle labelled "Men's" communicates the benefit while the text commits to nothing challengeable. Regulatorily immaculate, and it leaves the buyer nothing to hold the brand to.
The record: codeage.com product page string search, verified live 2026-07-30 — open ithttps://www.codeage.com/products/mens-daily-probiotic-zinc — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 3 zinc-below-the-male-rda
5 mg per capsule, labelled 45% DV against the 11 mg Daily Value. The RDA for adult men is 11 mg/day. In a product positioned on men's health, zinc at 45% DV is a gesture rather than a dose, and no rationale for the amount is offered.
The record: Brand panel image, verified 2026-07-28
Finding 4 three-of-five-strains-have-no-human-evidence
Lp39, P23 and S12. P23 returns zero PubMed records of any kind; Lp39's five records are murine, in-vitro and apicultural; S12's two records are one keyword collision and one in-vitro study of an organism whose identity match to this label is unverified.
The record: PubMed exact-phrase queries re-run 2026-07-30
Finding 5 the-one-non-gg-trial-missed-its-primary-endpoint
PMID 24200199 is the sole human trial behind any non-GG strain here. It used a different strain combination (LAC-361 with BB-536), a different dose, and a pelvic-radiotherapy oncology population — and its primary endpoint, time to first grade ≥2 diarrhoea, was not met (p = 0.13).
The record: PMID 24200199 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 6 cgmp-presented-as-a-quality-credential
"Manufactured in the USA … in a cGMP-certified facility for quality and purity." cGMP is a legal floor under 21 CFR Part 111, not a distinction, and no certifier is named. The only page matches for "third-party" are boilerplate disclaimers about user reviews.
The record: codeage.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30
Finding 7 cfu-at-manufacture-only
"‡At time of manufacture" on the panel, with no through-expiry guarantee anywhere on the page or label.
The record: Brand panel image, verified 2026-07-28
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- cGMP facility status
- Not a third-party certification. cGMP for dietary supplements is a baseline legal requirement under 21 CFR Part 111, binding on every US supplement manufacturer. Presented adjacent to "for quality and purity" it invites reading as a quality credential; it is a statement of minimum legal compliance. No USP, NSF, Informed Choice or ConsumerLab mark is claimed anywhere.
- Whether the saw palmetto is a lipidosterolic or liposteroidal extract, or standardised at all
- Not disclosed. The label says only "Saw Palmetto Extract (Serenoa repens; Berry) 80 mg" — no extract ratio, no fatty-acid percentage. Trial material was standardised, so even the 80 mg is not demonstrably comparable to what was tested.
- Funding source and author conflicts for PMID 24200199
- Not retrieved.
- Whether B. longum S12 on this label is the organism in PMID 32988256
- Unverified. Strain-identity match was never established.
- Per-strain CFU across the five organisms
- Not disclosed. Five strains share one 200 mg / 50 billion CFU figure.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Search this product’s page for the word prostate. Zero matches. Testosterone: zero. Urinary, virility, libido: zero. The copy names its ingredients and never says what any of them do.
That silence is the finding, because one of those ingredients is 80 mg of saw palmetto, and saw palmetto has essentially no consumer use case other than the prostate and lower urinary tract. The ingredient makes the claim. The text stays clean.
It is worth being precise about what the evidence says, because the ingredient is not merely underdosed. Cochrane pooled 32 randomised trials in 5,666 men and concluded that Serenoa repens, “at double and triple doses, did not improve urinary flow measures or prostate size”. CAMUS randomised 369 men aged 45 and over and escalated from 320 to 640 to 960 mg/day over 72 weeks; the group mean difference was 0.79 points favouring placebo. Codeage supplies 80 mg — a quarter of the lowest of those doses, in an extract whose standardisation is not disclosed.
The honest summary is not “underdosed”. It is: the ingredient does not work at four times this dose, and this product contains a quarter of it.
The men’s-versus-women’s comparison here had to be corrected. The original teardown reported that Codeage sells no women’s daily probiotic and compared the men’s SKU against the brand’s unisex Probiotic+ instead. The women’s SKU exists, at the same $29.99, on the same five-strain 50-billion-CFU chassis, with cranberry where the men’s has saw palmetto. That is a cleaner and more useful finding than the one it replaced: one chassis, one botanical swapped by sex — structurally the same move Physician’s Choice makes with selenium and hawthorn against D-mannose and cranberry.
Genuine credits: the strain designators are the cleanest of the three products in this batch, the subscription is a flat cancel-anytime discount with no first-order hook, the delayed-release capsule is specified, and the brand makes no “clinically studied” claim it cannot support — because it makes almost no claim at all.