One product, one panel, one record.

MegaFood MegaFlora Probiotic — label audit

All fourteen organisms carry ATCC Special Deposit accessions — the only label in its batch whose designators resolve to a public culture collection rather than a supplier trademark — and eleven of the fourteen return zero PubMed records under both spellings. The label tells you precisely which unstudied organisms you are buying.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
How deep this went
Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

64.3 out of 100

Rank 67 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 64.3 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 14 of 14 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 14 / 14 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 14 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 14 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 3 of 14 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 3 / 14 = 0.2143 0.042857
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 1 claimed certification found on the issuer’s own public register. Read the scope before reading the mark: most certify one narrow property. 1 / 1 = 1.0000 0.1400
The five weights sum to 1.00. This record answers all five, so the divisor below is that full 1.00 and nothing has been renormalised away. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.642857 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.6429. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 64.3 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What MegaFood MegaFlora Probiotic discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed Proprietary MegaFlora Blend — 20 billion live cultures, 14 strains (no blend weight, no per-organism CFU)
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 14 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 287476, 257018, 256999, 287478

"Colony forming units. Potency guaranteed until expiration, when stored as recommended." Two heavy qualifications travel with it. "When stored as recommended" means "Store in refrigerator or freezer to maintain potency. Once open, consume within three months" — so the guarantee is void for any buyer who keeps the bottle in a bathroom cabinet, and a 90-count bottle is a 90-day supply that only just fits inside the three-month post-opening window. And the guarantee appears on the physical label, via the government transcription, and not in the product page text at all.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of MegaFood MegaFlora Probiotic, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis SD-5219 — not stated separately Human RCT "SD-5219"[tw] OR "SD5219"[tw]
Lactobacillus acidophilus SD-5212 — not stated separately Human RCT "SD-5212"[tw] OR "SD5212"[tw]
Lactobacillus casei SD-5213 — not stated separately No records "SD-5213"[tw] OR "SD5213"[tw]
Lactobacillus plantarum SD-5209 — not stated separately No records "SD-5209"[tw] OR "SD5209"[tw]
Lactobacillus rhamnosus SD-5217 — not stated separately No records "SD-5217"[tw] OR "SD5217"[tw]
Lactobacillus salivarius SD-5208 — not stated separately No records "SD-5208"[tw] OR "SD5208"[tw]
Lactobacillus brevis SD-5214 — not stated separately No records "SD-5214"[tw] OR "SD5214"[tw]
Lactobacillus bulgaricus SD-6833 — not stated separately No records "SD-6833"[tw] OR "SD6833"[tw]
Lactobacillus gasseri SD-5585 — not stated separately No records "SD-5585"[tw] OR "SD5585"[tw]
Lactococcus lactis SD-5584 — not stated separately No records "SD-5584"[tw] OR "SD5584"[tw]
Bifidobacterium longum SD-5588 — not stated separately No records "SD-5588"[tw] OR "SD5588"[tw]
Bifidobacterium bifidum SD-6576 — not stated separately Human RCT "SD-6576"[tw] OR "SD6576"[tw]
Bifidobacterium longum subsp. infantis SD-6720 — not stated separately No records "SD-6720"[tw] OR "SD6720"[tw]
Streptococcus thermophilus SD-5207 — not stated separately No records "SD-5207"[tw] OR "SD5207"[tw]
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 287476 (opens in a new tab) captured 60 capsules, UPC 0 51494 10204 6, on market, entered 2023-06-22 — the current label and the source of the fourteen SD- accessions, the at-expiry guarantee and the 2023 seal list. The live page offers 60-count and 90-count; the federal database carries 30, 60 and 90-count records with the same fourteen-organism panel and the same "20 billion / 14 strains" claim.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 257018 (opens in a new tab) captured 30 capsules, UPC 0 51494 10205 3, entered 2021-11-19 — the 2021 label generation, whose seal list carries "NSF Certified Gluten-free" where the 2023 label carries "Tested gluten free". The evidence for the certification downgrade is the brand's own two records.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 256999 (opens in a new tab) captured 90 capsules, UPC 0 51494 10228 2, entered 2021-11-19.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 287478 (opens in a new tab) captured MegaFlora Women's Probiotic, UPC 0 51494 10021 9, 60 capsules, on market — the women's comparison panel, which adds LP-115, HN001 and cranberry.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagemegafood-megaflora-pdp-2026-07-31https://www.megafood.com/products/megaflora-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Fetched HTTP 200 direct. Source of the $37.99 price, the stated unit prices, the storage copy and the finding that the Supplement Facts panel exists on the brand's own site only as an image.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 3 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$0.63 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$37.99 USD
What that buys
60-capsule bottle (60 servings, 1 capsule per day with a meal and a beverage)
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://www.megafood.com/products/megaflora-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for MegaFood MegaFlora Probiotic, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Glyphosate Residue Free (The Detox Project) Confirmed at issuer 31 July 2026
Non-GMO Project Verified Register unreachable 31 July 2026
Certified Vegan (vegan.org) Register unreachable 31 July 2026
Certified B Corporation Register unreachable 31 July 2026
NSF Certified Gluten-Free (2021 label only) Register unreachable 31 July 2026
"Tested gluten free" and "Tested for 125+ pesticides & herbicides" Not checked not checked

Glyphosate Residue Free (The Detox Project)

Found on the certifier’s own public register.

The one certification in its batch confirmed at the issuer. The register is reachable at HTTP 200 and names this product explicitly, listing under MegaFood, verbatim: "…Vitamin D3 5000 IU (Capsules), MegaFlora® Probiotic, MegaFlora® Plus Probiotic, MegaFlora® Kids Probiotic, Complex C…".

The register we queried https://detoxproject.org/certification/glyphosate-residue-free/certified-products/ — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Non-GMO Project Verified

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

The product finder returns 404 on every search parameter tried and the site-wide search returns navigation chrome only. Brand-asserted and unverified.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

Certified Vegan (vegan.org)

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

vegan.org returns HTTP 403 to automation. Brand-asserted and unverified.

The register we queried https://vegan.org/ — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Certified B Corporation

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

bcorporation.net returns HTTP 403 to automation. Brand-asserted and unverified.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

NSF Certified Gluten-Free (2021 label only)

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

nsf.org returns HTTP 403, so current status could not be checked directly — but the brand's own two label generations are the evidence. DSLD 257018 (2021) carries "NSF Certified Gluten-free" in its seal list; DSLD 287476 (2023) carries "Tested gluten free" instead, with no other change to the seal list. A third-party certification was replaced by an unspecified self-test.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

"Tested gluten free" and "Tested for 125+ pesticides & herbicides"

We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.

Neither names a laboratory, a standard or a threshold. The pesticide and herbicide screening is a real, explicit quality practice and deserves credit as one; neither statement is a certification.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Compared against MegaFlora Women's Probiotic. Diffed .

What the two panels differ by

  • The two organisms in the MegaFood family that carry substantial published human evidence — Lp-115 and HN001 — are in the women's product. Its "Women's Healthy Microbiome" tier adds Lactobacillus plantarum LP-115 and Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001 on top of the base blend. The unisex product that gets recommended to men contains neither, and eleven of its fourteen organisms have no literature at all. DSLD 287476 versus DSLD 287478
  • The women's SKU runs the "Original MegaFlora Blend" of 13 SD- organisms, dropping Bifidobacterium longum SD-5588 from the unisex product's 14. DSLD 287476 versus DSLD 287478
  • The women's SKU adds cranberry 400 mg and a 240 mg prebiotic blend (beetroot 80 mg, burdock 80 mg, dandelion 80 mg). The unisex product has no botanicals at all. DSLD 287478

What is identical across the pair

  • Neither product discloses per-organism CFU.
  • Both are built on the same SD- accession family.

DSLD 287476 versus DSLD 287478, plus a federal line search for a men's SKU — the women’s SKU record (opens in a new tab)

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 proprietary-blend-with-no-per-organism-cfu-and-no-blend-weight

20 billion live cultures split fourteen ways by an unstated allocation, with no blend mass printed either. Excellent identification attached to an unknowable dose.

The record: DSLD 287476 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 2 eleven-of-fourteen-designators-have-no-literature

Eleven of the fourteen SD- accessions return zero PubMed records under both hyphenated and unhyphenated spellings. The label identifies its organisms precisely and what it identifies is largely unstudied.

The record: PubMed E-utilities, fourteen designators queried in two spellings each, run 2026-07-31

Finding 3 supplement-facts-is-image-only-on-the-brands-own-site

The fourteen organism names and their SD- accessions appear nowhere in the page text; the panel exists only inside a product JPEG. The readable copy says only "our proprietary blend of 14 unique strains of probiotics with 20 billion active bacteria". The only reason this teardown can list SD-5212 through SD-6833 at all is that a US government database transcribed the physical label. A shopper on the brand's own site — or any screen reader, price-comparison tool or AI assistant reading that page — cannot obtain the strain list.

The record: megafood.com product page against DSLD 287476, both 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.megafood.com/products/megaflora-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 4 nsf-certification-replaced-by-an-unspecified-self-test

The 2021 label's seal list carries "NSF Certified Gluten-free"; the 2023 label's carries "Tested gluten free", with no other change to the list. "NSF Certified Gluten-Free" is auditable by an outside body; "Tested gluten free" names no laboratory, no standard and no threshold. A downgrade in verifiability, evidenced by the brand's own two labels.

The record: DSLD 257018 (2021) versus DSLD 287476 (2023) — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 5 the-at-expiry-guarantee-is-not-on-the-website

"Potency guaranteed until expiration, when stored as recommended" appears on the physical label, via the government transcription, and not in the product page text. The page offers only "we recommend storing in the fridge or freezer" plus an FAQ note that "our studies have indicated that temporary exposure to heat during shipping has no impact on bacterial count up to 6 days". The best disclosure this product makes is the one a web shopper never sees.

The record: DSLD 287476 against the megafood.com product page, both 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 6 the-guarantee-is-conditioned-on-storage-and-a-three-month-window

"Store in refrigerator or freezer to maintain potency. Once open, consume within three months." A 90-count bottle is a 90-day supply, so the post-opening window and the container size are only just compatible — and the guarantee is void for any buyer who keeps the bottle in a bathroom cabinet.

The record: DSLD 287476 storage statement — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 7 four-of-five-certifications-unverifiable-at-their-registers

Non-GMO Project 404, Certified Vegan 403, B Corp 403, NSF 403. Recorded as brand-asserted and unverified — a fact about the registers, not a finding against MegaFood, which is also the one brand in its batch that names five specific issuers rather than saying "third-party tested".

The record: Four issuer registers queried 2026-07-31

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

Non-GMO Project Verified status
The product finder returns 404 on every search parameter tried and the site-wide search returns navigation chrome only. Brand-asserted and unverified.
Certified Vegan (vegan.org) status
vegan.org returns HTTP 403 to automation. Brand-asserted and unverified.
Certified B Corporation status
bcorporation.net returns HTTP 403 to automation. Brand-asserted and unverified.
NSF Certified Gluten-Free (2021 label only) status
nsf.org returns HTTP 403, so current status could not be checked directly — but the brand's own two label generations are the evidence. DSLD 257018 (2021) carries "NSF Certified Gluten-free" in its seal list; DSLD 287476 (2023) carries "Tested gluten free" instead, with no other change to the seal list. A third-party certification was replaced by an unspecified self-test.
"Tested gluten free" and "Tested for 125+ pesticides & herbicides" status
Neither names a laboratory, a standard or a threshold. The pesticide and herbicide screening is a real, explicit quality practice and deserves credit as one; neither statement is a certification.
Four of the five named certifications, at their issuers' registers
nsf.org 403, nongmoproject.org 404 with a navigation-only site search, vegan.org 403, bcorporation.net 403. All four are recorded as brand-asserted and unverified, which is a fact about the registers and must never be read as a finding that the marks are absent. The fifth, Glyphosate Residue Free, was reachable and confirmed.
The total price of the 90-count
The brand states "$0.53/unit" for it but publishes no total on the page as read.
Whether the Certified Vegan seal has gone stale
The 2023 federal record still shows "Certified Vegan / Vegan.org" while the current live page presents the product as vegetarian. If the product moved from vegan to vegetarian, the seal on the label would be stale — and neither state could be confirmed, because vegan.org returns 403. This is recorded as an open question and is deliberately not published anywhere on this page as a finding.
Per-organism CFU and the blend weight
Neither is disclosed. 20 billion is split fourteen ways by an unknown allocation, and no blend mass is given at all.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://www.megafood.com/products/megaflora-probiotichttps://www.megafood.com/products/megaflora-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

The cheapest product in its batch discloses the most, which cuts against the lazy assumption in every roundup ever written.

All fourteen organisms carry an SD- accession, and those numbers were checked against primary literature rather than assumed, because the distinction decides whether this label discloses anything real. PMID 32277597 writes “probiotic L. acidophilus ATCC SD-5212 culture”. PMID 19598302 writes “Bifidobacterium lactis Bl-04 (ATCC SD5219)”. PMID 28230607 writes “Bifidobacterium bifidum ATCC SD6576. These are ATCC Special Deposit accessions — a genuine public culture collection, not a supplier trademark. On the narrow question “can I identify the organism from the label”, MegaFood technically discloses more than the practitioner-channel brands that cost 1.4 to 2.7 times as much.

Then eleven of the fourteen return zero PubMed records under both spellings. Precise identification of largely unstudied organisms. The label tells you exactly which bugs you are buying, and most of them have no human literature at all.

The three that hit, hit hard — because they are famous strains wearing their accession numbers. SD-5212 is La-14, which DuPont’s own genome announcement reports as 99.98 percent identical to NCFM. SD-5219 is Bl-04, with 17 randomised trials. Both are in a $1.71-a-day practitioner-exclusive product read the same day. 2.7 times the price does not buy different microbiology here.

Three more things, two of them to MegaFood’s credit.

It is the only through-expiry guarantee in its batch: “Potency guaranteed until expiration, when stored as recommended.” That is the honest form of the claim. Two qualifications ride with it — “as recommended” means refrigerator or freezer plus consume within three months of opening, which a 90-day bottle only just fits — and the guarantee sits on the physical label and not on the website. The best disclosure this product makes is the one a web shopper never sees.

One certification checks out at the issuer. The Detox Project’s register is reachable and names this product by name. That is one of eight certification claims in its batch confirmed at source, and MegaFood is also the brand that names five specific issuers rather than writing “third-party tested” and leaving it there.

And one was quietly downgraded. The 2021 label’s seal list reads “NSF Certified Gluten-free”. The 2023 label’s reads “Tested gluten free” — same list otherwise. An outside body’s certification replaced by a self-test naming no lab, no standard and no threshold.

The claim wording, unusually, is clean: no mental-health claim, no heart claim, no anti-microbial claim, no release-kinetics claim, no “#1” claim, no “clinically studied”. And MegaFood is one of the few brands in this project actually entitled to say “strains”, since SD- accessions do identify strains.

The men’s question answers itself the same way it has everywhere else. There is no MegaFlora Men’s. There is a MegaFlora Women’s — and it is the one that gets Lp-115 and HN001, the two organisms in this family with substantial published human evidence. The product men are pointed toward has neither.