One product, one panel, one record.

Ora Organic Trust Your Gut / Probiotic + Prebiotic Daily Essential — label audit

Under one unchanged UPC, Ora swapped its Lactobacillus acidophilus from DDS-1 to La-14 — removing the single best-evidenced organism in its entire line, the one carrying nine human RCTs and the only strong digestive result. The page still says "Contains non-generic, clinically-studied strains".

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
How deep this went
Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
What did not survive verification
Part of this page was refuted or could not be reproduced Two open items constrain what this page may be quoted for. (1) Not one of the five certification marks on this label could be checked at its issuer: CCOF's directory, the USDA Organic Integrity Database, vegan.org and nongmoproject.org all defeated automated access. Every certification here is recorded as brand-asserted and unverified, which is not a finding against Ora and must never be read as one — it is a fact about the registers. (2) Whether the bottle shipping today contains La-14 or DDS-1 cannot be settled from published documents: the label and the government record disagree under one UPC, and the published certificate of analysis does not identify strains. Only the brand can answer that, and the question is open.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

69.0 out of 100

Rank 54 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 1 other product — 2 products sit on 69.0 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 69.0 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 6 of 6 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 6 / 6 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 6 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 6 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 4 of 6 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 4 / 6 = 0.6667 0.133333
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.593333 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.6899. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 69.0 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Ora Organic Trust Your Gut / Probiotic + Prebiotic Daily Essential discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 16 Billion CFU (OraFlora Daily Probiotic Blend, 98 mg)
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 6 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 322682

Stated in three independent places. On the label, per DSLD 322682 [Formula re: Contains]: "Daily essential probiotic & prebiotic / 16 billion probiotics / 6 probiotic strains / Probiotics until end of shelf life." On the product page comparison chart: "Guaranteed potency through expiration" (Ora ✓ / Other Brands ✗). On the brand's 5N Standard page: "Ora requires a 100% label claim throughout shelf life… We justify every expiration date with real data — what we call Shelf Life Justification."

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of Ora Organic Trust Your Gut / Probiotic + Prebiotic Daily Essential, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Lactobacillus acidophilus La14® — not stated separately Human RCT "Lactobacillus acidophilus La-14" → 24; (La-14[tiab] OR La14[tiab] OR "LA-14"[tiab]) AND acidophilus[tiab] → 45; RCT-filtered → 6
Bifidobacterium lactis (correct name: Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis) UABla12™ — not stated separately Human RCT "UABla-12" → 9; UABla12[tiab] OR "UABla-12"[tiab] OR "UABLa-12"[tiab] → 8; RCT-filtered → 5
Bifidobacterium breve UABbr11™ — not stated separately No records "UABbr-11" → 0; UABbr11[tiab] OR "UABbr-11"[tiab] OR "UABBr-11"[tiab] → 0
Lactobacillus reuteri UALre16™ — not stated separately No records "UALre-16" → 0; UALre16[tiab] OR "UALre-16"[tiab] OR "UALRe-16"[tiab] → 0
Bifidobacterium bifidum UABb10™ — not stated separately Human RCT "UABb-10" → 1; UABb10[tiab] OR "UABb-10"[tiab] OR "UABB-10"[tiab] → 1; RCT-filtered → 1
Bifidobacterium longum UABl14™ — not stated separately Human RCT "UABl-14" → 3; UABl14[tiab] OR "UABl-14"[tiab] OR "UABL-14"[tiab] → 3; RCT-filtered → 2
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Photograph of the printed panelTYG-DE-SFPhttps://ora.organic/products/probiotics-prebiotics-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own 2000×2000 Supplement Facts PNG, transcribed by hand at native resolution. Source of the OraFlora blend line, all six designators, the 750 mg inulin figure and the five-seal row. Not present as text in the page HTML.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 322682 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market, entered 2024-11-22. UPC 8 56720 00766 5 matches the live Shopify barcode 856720007665. Records the previous generation of this label under the same UPC — "Ora Probiotic Blend" at 123 mg, DDS-1 in the acidophilus slot, 625 mg inulin, "Non GMO Project Verified" and "NSF Certified Gluten-free", and the at-expiry statement "Probiotics until end of shelf life."
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pageora-trust-your-gut-coa-T25202003https://ora.organic/pages/coa — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf, batch T25202003, downloaded and parsed. Manufactured 07/21/2025, expiring 07/20/2027. Labs named as Qalitex, Venture and FSNS with stated ISO 17025 accreditation; report IDs AFSG 231031-009, 25-466527-001, P9147194, 237677. Probiotic Viable Count specification "NLT 16 billion CFU/Serv", result "Meets Specification", reference VL-2506069.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pageora-trust-your-gut-pdp-2026-07-31https://ora.organic/products/probiotics-prebiotics-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Live page and Shopify JSON, HTTP 200. $39.99, SKU 1000T, barcode 856720007665. Source of the "Guaranteed potency through expiration" comparison chart, the claim quotations and the women's-SKU comparison figures.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 4 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.33 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$39.99 USD
What that buys
60-capsule bottle (30 servings, 2 capsules per serving)
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://ora.organic/products/probiotics-prebiotics-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Ora Organic Trust Your Gut / Probiotic + Prebiotic Daily Essential, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Batch-specific Certificate of Analysis (Qalitex, Venture, FSNS — stated ISO 17025) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Certified CCOF Organic® Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Certified Vegan (vegan.org) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Five Nation Standard (5N) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
"GLUTEN FREE" seal Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
"GMO FREE" seal Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026

Batch-specific Certificate of Analysis (Qalitex, Venture, FSNS — stated ISO 17025)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf was downloaded and parsed. Batch T25202003, item 10109, label version 1000-L03-25, manufactured 07/21/2025, expiring 07/20/2027, reviewed 11/03/2025, approved by Gerry Wong. Tested by "Independent ISO 17025-Certified Laboratories", named as Qalitex, Venture and FSNS, with report IDs AFSG 231031-009, 25-466527-001, P9147194 and 237677. It covers heavy metals, microbials, nutritionals, allergens, and "Probiotic Viable Count — Specification: NLT 16 billion CFU/Serv — Result: Meets Specification — Reference VL-2506069". This is genuinely better than anything else in its batch: batch-specific, labs named, potency actually covered, published without a login. Three limits travel with it. Every result reads "Meets Specification" and not one numeric measured value appears anywhere in the document. The COA specifies Inulin NLT 625 mg per serving — matching the older DSLD record, not the current label's 750 mg — so it describes a formula no longer being shipped. And it does not identify strains at all, so it cannot settle whether the bottle contains La-14 or DDS-1. The laboratories' accreditations were not checked at any accreditor.

The register we queried https://ora.organic/pages/coa — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Certified CCOF Organic®

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

CCOF's member directory is a JavaScript/FacetWP application whose admin-ajax endpoint returns 404 to direct POSTs, and the USDA Organic Integrity Database is a Blazor single-page app returning only the app shell to every API path attempted. Unreachable register means brand-asserted. It does not mean the brand lacks the certification. DSLD 322682 recorded the previous certifier as QCS; both QCS and CCOF are USDA-accredited.

The register we queried https://www.ccof.org/ — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Certified Vegan (vegan.org)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

vegan.org's product-finder URL returned 404, so the register could not be queried. Unchanged from DSLD 322682, which records the same mark.

The register we queried https://vegan.org/ — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Five Nation Standard (5N)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

Ora's own house standard, by Ora's own account. From the brand's testing page, verbatim: "we looked for the ultimate test to prove they're as good as we say they are. Unsurprisingly, that test, it didn't exist. …Pushing us to set a new benchmark for supplement testing: 5 Nation Standard," and "We self-publish batch-specific lab test results for all products." Self-created, self-administered and self-published, described by the brand as "5N-verified". There is no independent issuer, and therefore no register that could ever confirm it.

"GLUTEN FREE" seal

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

A generic seal with no issuer. DSLD 322682, under the same UPC, transcribed this slot as "NSF Certified Gluten-free" — a named third-party mark that is no longer named.

"GMO FREE" seal

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

A generic seal with no issuer. DSLD 322682, under the same UPC, transcribed two statements reading "Non GMO Project Verified nongmoproject.org" — a named third-party mark that is no longer named. The Non-GMO Project's product-finder URL returned 404 in this session, so the current status cannot be checked either way.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Compared against Ora Organic Probiotics for Women (Lady Bugs), SKU 1709T, UPC 856720007559. Diffed .

What the two panels differ by

  • Only two of six strains are shared between the two panels — La-14 and UALre-16. The unisex daily carries La-14, UABla12, UABbr11, UALre16, UABb10 and UABl14; the women's carries La-14, UALp05, HN001, LCr86, DSM33557 and UALre-16. Both Ora Supplement Facts panels, SKU 1000T and SKU 1709T, read 2026-07-31
  • The women's panel prints a real culture-collection deposit number — Lactobacillus fermentum DSM 33557 — the only genuine depositary accession anywhere across Ora's two panels. Every designator on this unisex product is a trademark instead. Both Ora Supplement Facts panels, read 2026-07-31
  • The women's panel contains Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001, one of the most-studied probiotic strains in existence — "Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001" returns 98 PubMed records and (HN001[tiab] OR "HN-001"[tiab]) AND rhamnosus[tiab] returns 143. Nothing on the unisex panel comes close. PubMed E-utilities, both queries run 2026-07-31
  • Blend weight is 98 mg here against 110 mg on the women's SKU; inulin is 750 mg here against 725 mg. The organic certifier differs too — CCOF here, QAI on the women's product. Both Ora Supplement Facts panels, read 2026-07-31
  • The women's product costs more per day — $1.43 against $1.33 — and is the better-disclosed and better-evidenced of the pair. The SKU that lands in men's roundups is the generic daily. Ora product pages for SKU 1000T ($39.99) and SKU 1709T ($42.99), read 2026-07-31

What is identical across the pair

  • Same 16 Billion CFU claim, same 2-capsule serving, same 30 servings per container, same 60-capsule count.
  • La-14 and UALre-16 appear on both panels.
  • Both panels give the blend as a single weight and CFU figure with no per-strain split.

Ora Supplement Facts panels for SKU 1000T and SKU 1709T, plus DSLD 322682, all read 2026-07-31

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 strain-substitution-under-an-unchanged-upc

DSLD 322682 (entered 2024-11-22) and the current live label describe the same UPC, 8 56720 00766 5, with different contents. The blend was renamed from "Ora Probiotic Blend" to "OraFlora Daily Probiotic Blend", its weight fell from 123 mg to 98 mg, inulin rose from 625 mg to 750 mg, and the Lactobacillus acidophilus strain was swapped from DDS-1 to La-14. Five of six strains are unchanged. The sixth was the best-evidenced organism in the entire Ora line — nine human RCTs under DDS-1, including the only strong digestive-outcome result. DSLD 322682 also carries the IP statement "DDS is a registered trademark of Chr. Hansen A/S and used under license", confirming the substitution crosses supplier lines.

The record: DSLD 322682 against the current label image, both read 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 2 clinically-studied-strains-resting-on-the-strain-that-was-removed

The page says "6 highly-studied and efficacious Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium strains" and "Contains non-generic, clinically-studied strains". The literature underpinning this strain family is overwhelmingly DDS-1 literature — nine human RCTs, including the strong IBS result (PMID 32019158) — and DDS-1 is in the government-recorded label, not the current one. The trials did not test La-14.

The record: PMID 32019158, PMID 31271261, PMID 33584665; DSLD 322682 against the current panel

Finding 3 every-positive-result-used-a-dose-this-blend-cannot-be-shown-to-deliver

Every positive monostrain result in this strain family used 1 × 10^10 CFU (10 billion) of a single organism. This product delivers 16 billion CFU total, shared across six organisms, with no per-strain split disclosed. For UABla-12 — the one currently-present strain with a genuine positive monostrain trial — matching the trial dose would require it to be roughly 63% of the entire blend. Nothing on the label says whether it is 63% or 3%, which is exactly what makes the claim unfalsifiable.

The record: PMID 32019158 (1 × 10^10 CFU/day monostrain) against the panel's 16 Billion CFU blend total

Finding 4 two-of-six-designators-have-zero-literature

Bifidobacterium breve UABbr-11 and Lactobacillus reuteri UALre-16 return no PubMed record at all, each confirmed under two spellings. Two of six organisms on this panel have no published human evidence of any kind under the designator printed on the label.

The record: "UABbr-11" → 0 and UABbr11[tiab] OR "UABbr-11"[tiab] OR "UABBr-11"[tiab] → 0; "UALre-16" → 0 and UALre16[tiab] OR "UALre-16"[tiab] OR "UALRe-16"[tiab] → 0, all run 2026-07-31

Finding 5 the-only-trial-covering-two-strains-failed-its-primary-endpoint

PMID 31271261, Martoni CJ et al., J Dig Dis 2019 — the only trial covering UABb-10 and the main one covering UABl-14. Four strains at 1.5 × 10^10 CFU/day, 94 adults, functional constipation. Verbatim: "There were no significant between-group differences in the PAC-SYM score." Conclusion: "No significant differences were observed in symptomology, with both groups showing a more than 20% improvement." Sponsored by UAS Laboratories with two UAS employees as authors, disclosed.

The record: PMID 31271261, verified 2026-07-31

Finding 6 house-standard-presented-as-a-certification-seal

The seal row on the current label reads: Certified CCOF Organic® · CERTIFIED VEGAN vegan.org · Five Nation STANDARD ✓ · GLUTEN FREE · GMO FREE. The Five Nation Standard sits third, in identical typography and lockup to the two accredited marks, and it is Ora's own — self-created, self-administered and self-published, by the brand's own description. The underlying practice is real and better than most of this category. Rendering it as a certification seal in a row with two accredited third-party marks invites a reader to count three certifications where there are two.

The record: Current label seal row read at native resolution, plus Ora's own testing page quoted verbatim, 2026-07-31

Finding 7 two-named-third-party-marks-replaced-by-unattributed-seals

Under the same UPC, DSLD 322682 transcribed "Non GMO Project Verified nongmoproject.org" (twice) and "NSF Certified Gluten-free". The current label carries a generic "GMO FREE" seal and a generic "GLUTEN FREE" seal, neither naming an issuer. The two marks that carried an independent certifier are precisely the two that became unattributed.

The record: DSLD 322682 Seals/Symbols against the current label seal row, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 8 coa-publishes-pass-fail-never-a-number

Every parameter in the batch certificate reads "Meets Specification". Specifications are published; measured results are not. The measured CFU, the measured lead in ppb and every other value are absent. A COA without numbers is a claim of compliance, not a disclosure of data.

The record: ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf, batch T25202003, downloaded and parsed 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://ora.organic/pages/coa — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 9 the-published-coa-describes-the-previous-formula

The certificate specifies Inulin NLT 625 mg per serving, matching DSLD 322682's 625 mg rather than the current label's 750 mg. It also does not identify strains at all, so it cannot confirm whether the bottle contains La-14 or DDS-1 — the question the strain substitution raises.

The record: ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf against the current label, 2026-07-31

Finding 10 designators-are-trademarks-not-depositary-accessions

All six designators are proprietary commercial marks (™/®), not public culture-collection deposit numbers. None is an ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB or CECT accession. The UAB-prefixed marks belong to UAS Laboratories (now within Chr. Hansen / Novonesis); La-14 is a Danisco/DuPont-lineage designation. A trademarked designator is checkable against the supplier's literature but not against an independent depositary — a meaningful step below a deposit number. Ora's own women's SKU prints a real one, DSM 33557, which makes its absence here a choice.

The record: Current label panel read at native resolution against the women's SKU panel, 2026-07-31

Finding 11 proprietary-blend-behind-real-disclosure

98 mg and 16 Billion CFU are given for the blend as a whole, with no per-strain CFU. The designators are disclosed and the doses are not, which is what leaves every dose-dependent claim unfalsifiable.

The record: Current label panel, transcribed 2026-07-31

Finding 12 supporting-trials-are-supplier-sponsored-and-largely-paediatric

Nearly all supporting trials are UAS Laboratories-sponsored with UAS employees as authors, disclosed in each. Several are in children aged 1–12 rather than adults (PMID 26463725, PMID 20642296), and PMID 26463725's primary endpoint failed — acute respiratory infection incidence 57% versus 65%, P=0.261. None of the positive trials has a male-specific analysis, and the only trial with a substantial male sample (PMID 17356554, 22 men) was negative.

The record: PMIDs 31271261, 32019158, 33584665, 26463725, 20642296, 17356554, all verified 2026-07-31

Finding 13 ibs-evidence-attributed-to-the-wrong-strain

The page says of LA-14, verbatim: "Studied as a solution for improved digestion, including alleviating lactose intolerance symptoms and reducing IBS-related discomfort." The IBS trial that produced that evidence tested DDS-1 and UABla-12. La-14 has no monostrain digestive RCT.

The record: ora.organic product page quoted verbatim against PMID 32019158, 2026-07-31

Finding 14 six-conditions-named-in-the-claim-set

IBS, lactose intolerance, constipation, dermatitis, eczema and antibiotic-associated diarrhoea are all named on the page or in its FAQ. Ora hedges consistently — "may", "studies suggest", "researched for their potential" — carries the dagger throughout with the FDA disclaimer, and keeps the two disease-named claims inside FAQ answers about general probiotic research rather than asserting them of this product. That is a real mitigation. Naming six conditions still moves closer to the line than either competitor in its batch.

The record: ora.organic product page and FAQ, all quoted verbatim 2026-07-31

Finding 15 supplement-facts-published-only-as-an-image

The panel exists only inside a 2000×2000 product PNG and appears nowhere as text in the page HTML.

The record: TYG-DE-SFP PNG, read at native resolution 2026-07-31

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

Batch-specific Certificate of Analysis (Qalitex, Venture, FSNS — stated ISO 17025) status
ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf was downloaded and parsed. Batch T25202003, item 10109, label version 1000-L03-25, manufactured 07/21/2025, expiring 07/20/2027, reviewed 11/03/2025, approved by Gerry Wong. Tested by "Independent ISO 17025-Certified Laboratories", named as Qalitex, Venture and FSNS, with report IDs AFSG 231031-009, 25-466527-001, P9147194 and 237677. It covers heavy metals, microbials, nutritionals, allergens, and "Probiotic Viable Count — Specification: NLT 16 billion CFU/Serv — Result: Meets Specification — Reference VL-2506069". This is genuinely better than anything else in its batch: batch-specific, labs named, potency actually covered, published without a login. Three limits travel with it. Every result reads "Meets Specification" and not one numeric measured value appears anywhere in the document. The COA specifies Inulin NLT 625 mg per serving — matching the older DSLD record, not the current label's 750 mg — so it describes a formula no longer being shipped. And it does not identify strains at all, so it cannot settle whether the bottle contains La-14 or DDS-1. The laboratories' accreditations were not checked at any accreditor.
Certified CCOF Organic® status
CCOF's member directory is a JavaScript/FacetWP application whose admin-ajax endpoint returns 404 to direct POSTs, and the USDA Organic Integrity Database is a Blazor single-page app returning only the app shell to every API path attempted. Unreachable register means brand-asserted. It does not mean the brand lacks the certification. DSLD 322682 recorded the previous certifier as QCS; both QCS and CCOF are USDA-accredited.
Certified Vegan (vegan.org) status
vegan.org's product-finder URL returned 404, so the register could not be queried. Unchanged from DSLD 322682, which records the same mark.
Five Nation Standard (5N) status
Ora's own house standard, by Ora's own account. From the brand's testing page, verbatim: "we looked for the ultimate test to prove they're as good as we say they are. Unsurprisingly, that test, it didn't exist. …Pushing us to set a new benchmark for supplement testing: 5 Nation Standard," and "We self-publish batch-specific lab test results for all products." Self-created, self-administered and self-published, described by the brand as "5N-verified". There is no independent issuer, and therefore no register that could ever confirm it.
"GLUTEN FREE" seal status
A generic seal with no issuer. DSLD 322682, under the same UPC, transcribed this slot as "NSF Certified Gluten-free" — a named third-party mark that is no longer named.
"GMO FREE" seal status
A generic seal with no issuer. DSLD 322682, under the same UPC, transcribed two statements reading "Non GMO Project Verified nongmoproject.org" — a named third-party mark that is no longer named. The Non-GMO Project's product-finder URL returned 404 in this session, so the current status cannot be checked either way.
Whether the bottle shipping today contains La-14 or DDS-1
DSLD 322682 and the current live label describe the same UPC with a different acidophilus strain. The published certificate of analysis does not identify strains at all, so it cannot adjudicate. Only the brand can answer this.
Any of the five certification marks, at any issuer
All four registers defeated automated access. CCOF's directory is a JavaScript application whose ajax endpoint returns 404 to direct POSTs; the USDA Organic Integrity Database returns only its Blazor shell to every API path attempted; vegan.org and nongmoproject.org product-finder URLs both returned 404. Per this project's rule, every certification here is recorded as brand-asserted and unverified — never "verified", and never "does not hold it". These should be re-checked by hand.
The per-strain CFU split of the 98 mg OraFlora blend
98 mg and 16 Billion CFU are given for the blend as a whole. This is the number that decides whether any of the supporting literature applies, because every positive monostrain result in this strain family used 1 × 10^10 CFU of a single organism.
Any measured value behind the certificate of analysis
Every parameter in ORA_COA_TYG_DE_T25202003.pdf reads "Meets Specification". Specifications are published; results are pass/fail. The measured CFU, the measured lead in ppb and every other number are absent. A COA without numbers is a claim of compliance, not a disclosure of data.
Whether the published COA describes the product on sale
It specifies Inulin NLT 625 mg per serving, matching DSLD 322682 rather than the current label's 750 mg. The published COA lags the shipping formula.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://ora.organic/products/probiotics-prebiotics-dailyhttps://ora.organic/products/probiotics-prebiotics-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Start with the credit, because it is real and because it is what makes the rest worth writing down.

Ora prints six designators for six organisms. In this category that is rare enough to be remarkable, and it places this label in the 99 of 166 that print a designator for every organism — the majority, not a distinction. It guarantees potency through expiration — stated on the label, on the product page and on the brand’s standards page, three independent places saying the same thing. And it publishes a batch-specific certificate of analysis, naming three laboratories, covering probiotic viable count, available without a login. Almost nobody does that.

Now the finding. Under the same UPC, the government’s record of this label and the label on sale today disagree about what is in the bottle. DSLD 322682 lists Lactobacillus acidophilus DDS-1. The current panel lists La-14. Five of six strains are unchanged; the sixth was swapped — and the sixth was the one carrying the evidence. DDS-1 has nine human RCTs behind it, including the strongest digestive result anywhere in this strain family: 330 adults with IBS, where DDS-1 beat both placebo and the other Ora strain tested alongside it, 52.3% versus 28.2% significant responders.

The page still says “Contains non-generic, clinically-studied strains.” It says of La-14 specifically that it was “Studied as a solution for improved digestion, including… reducing IBS-related discomfort.” That IBS trial was DDS-1 and UABla-12. La-14 has no monostrain digestive trial at all — its six RCT-filtered hits are a non-randomised kidney study, a rheumatoid-arthritis mixture, a nine-strain formula in colicky infants, a five-strain mixture in 32 overweight women, an uncontrolled cystitis pilot, and a cholera-vaccine antibody study.

Two of the six designators return nothing at all. UABbr-11 and UALre-16: zero PubMed records, each checked under two spellings. And the one trial covering UABb-10 — the only one — failed its primary endpoint outright: “There were no significant between-group differences in the PAC-SYM score.”

Then the dose. Every positive monostrain result in this family used 10 billion CFU of one organism. This bottle is 16 billion across six, with no per-strain split. For UABla-12 to reach its studied dose it would need to be about 63% of the blend. It might be. It might be 3%. The label does not say, and that silence is what keeps the claim standing.

Two smaller things on the seal row, which reads: Certified CCOF Organic · Certified Vegan vegan.org · Five Nation STANDARD · GLUTEN FREE · GMO FREE. The third seal is Ora’s own standard — the brand says so itself, in its own words, on its own page: the test it wanted did not exist, so it made one. The practice behind it is genuinely better than most of this category. Set in identical typography between two accredited marks, it invites you to count three certifications where there are two. And the last two seals are downgrades: the government record for this same UPC says “Non GMO Project Verified” and “NSF Certified Gluten-free”. Today they are unattributed “GMO FREE” and “GLUTEN FREE”. The two marks that named an independent issuer are exactly the two that stopped naming one.

One last note, and it is the reason this SKU appears on a men’s-probiotic site at all. Ora sells no men’s product. It sells a women’s one — and the women’s panel is the better disclosure: a real culture-collection deposit number, and L. rhamnosus HN001, one of the most-studied probiotic strains that exists. The unisex daily is what men’s roundups pick up. The better-evidenced bottle is the other one.