One product, one panel, one record.
Physician's Choice 100 Billion Probiotic, 16 Strains + Organic Prebiotics (30 ct) — label audit
The Supplement Facts panel — the legally operative disclosure — carries no CFU basis at all, while the Amazon listing promises the probiotics are "ready-to-work until expiration date" and the brand's quality page promises the label claim "remains in the bottle throughout the product's shelf life". The strongest at-expiry language sits everywhere except the panel.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
11.7 out of 100
Rank 146 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 1 of 16 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 1 / 16 = 0.0625 | 0.0150 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 16 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 16 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry-off-label-only": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated no, basis reaches expiry no — 1 of 3. | 1 / 3 = 0.3333 | 0.073333 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 1 of 16 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 1 / 16 = 0.0625 | 0.0125 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.100833 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.1172. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 11.7 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 100 Billion CFUs ("Total Probiotic Activity") across a 349 mg blend |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry — off-label only |
| Strain designators | Some organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 16 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
The panel reads "Total Probiotic Activity 100 Billion CFUs" with no temporal qualifier — not at manufacture, not at expiry. The Amazon listing bullet reads "Shelf-stable packaging provides dual-assurance that the probiotics will be ready-to-work until expiration date", and the brand's quality page says "This testing helps ensure that what is listed on the label remains in the bottle throughout the product's shelf life."
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The brand page promises a through-expiry count. The printed panel does not. Only the panel is a label claim.
Some organisms carry a printed strain designator and some are named by species only.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lacticaseibacillus paracasei | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactiplantibacillus plantarum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lacticaseibacillus casei | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus bulgaricus | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium infantis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium bifidum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium longum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Limosilactobacillus reuteri | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | NCFM | — not stated separately | Human RCT | — |
| Lactobacillus gasseri | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Ligilactobacillus salivarius | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium breve | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — 100-30CT-CAROUSEL_6_3.3.0.pnghttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/2677/6462/files/100-30CT-CAROUSEL_6_3.3.0.png — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The Supplement Facts panel is not in the page HTML; it exists only inside a carousel image. The brand's own 2400x2400 image, label version tag 3.3.0, was downloaded and transcribed. SKU 100-30CT-180EA.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — physicianschoice-100b-2026-07-31https://physicianschoice.com/products/100b-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200. Source for price, subscription terms and the review-count observation.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$2.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $59.97 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule daily). $50.97 on 15% Subscribe & Save.
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://physicianschoice.com/products/100b-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| NSF cGMP certified facility | Register unreachable | 31 July 2026 |
| GFSI Certified (FSSC 22000) | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| Named third-party laboratories — Eurofins and Light Labs | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
NSF cGMP certified facility
The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.
nsf.org returns HTTP 403 on both the product-listing page and the API path. Scope note — NSF cGMP certifies the manufacturing facility's process, not the product's contents. It is not NSF Certified for Sport and it is not a contents certification.
GFSI Certified (FSSC 22000)
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Claimed on the brand's quality page. Not verified at any register.
Named third-party laboratories — Eurofins and Light Labs
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Credit where due: naming its testing laboratories is more disclosure than any other brand in this batch offers, and the quality page describes probiotic enumeration, potency, identity and heavy-metal testing plus in-house HPLC and FTIR. None of it was verifiable at an issuer register, and no certificate or COA is published.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 cfu-basis-absent-from-the-panel-but-promised-in-marketing
All four Garden of Life SKUs audited alongside this one put the at-expiry guarantee on the panel itself. This one puts it in an Amazon bullet and a corporate quality page and leaves the Supplement Facts silent.
The record: Brand label image 100-30CT-CAROUSEL_6_3.3.0.png versus Amazon B0C63H7CFQ bullet and physicianschoice.com/pages/quality-standards-and-testing
Finding 2 the-prebiotic-row-is-printed-probiotic-blend
Two rows on one panel are both printed "Probiotic Blend". The 150 mg one contains only organic inulin from Jerusalem artichoke, organic acacia fibre and inulin from chicory — prebiotics. A Supplement Facts panel that misnames its own row is a quality failure on the single document a consumer is supposed to rely on.
The record: Brand label image 100-30CT-CAROUSEL_6_3.3.0.png, label version tag 3.3.0, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 3 sixteen-diverse-strains-is-inflated-by-a-duplicate-taxon
"Bifidobacterium lactis" is Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis. The panel lists both as separate line items and counts both toward 16. Either they are two strains of one subspecies — in which case at most one is identified — or the count is inflated. L. acidophilus is likewise listed twice, once anonymously and once as NCFM.
The record: Brand label image, panel rows 7 and 14, and rows 4 and 11
Finding 4 fifteen-of-sixteen-organisms-carry-no-designator
100 billion CFU spread across 16 named organisms with no per-organism allocation delivers the same opacity as a proprietary blend, and only NCFM can be looked up at all.
The record: Brand label image, 349 mg blend row
Finding 5 most-expensive-in-its-batch-with-the-weakest-basis-disclosure
$2.00 a day — 25% above the next most expensive product audited alongside it, and 63% above this brand's own Men's SKU at $1.11 a day.
The record: physicianschoice.com/products/100b-probiotic, $59.97 over 30 servings, 2026-07-31
Finding 6 label-typo-persists-across-two-skus
The panel's footnote reads "Daily Value (DV) not esablished". The same typo appears on this brand's Men's SKU, which makes it a label-QA pattern rather than a one-off, and it is on the current label version 3.3.0.
The record: Brand label image 100-30CT-CAROUSEL_6_3.3.0.png
Finding 7 amazon-sourced-review-quotes-inside-a-56-review-average
The brand's own page shows "4.8 out of 5 — based on 56 reviews" while displaying pull-quotes credited to "Amazon Review #35,921" and "Amazon Review #3,008".
The record: physicianschoice.com/products/100b-probiotic, fetched 2026-07-31
Finding 8 developed-with-doctors-with-no-doctor-named-for-this-sku
The on-page expert is a board-certified OB/GYN, quoted on a product sold to men and women alike. The same expert copy repeats an uncited universal threshold — "The potency, or colony-forming units (CFUs), should be at least 10 billion CFUs per serving" — with no source given.
The record: physicianschoice.com/products/100b-probiotic, verbatim, 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- NSF cGMP certified facility status
- nsf.org returns HTTP 403 on both the product-listing page and the API path. Scope note — NSF cGMP certifies the manufacturing facility's process, not the product's contents. It is not NSF Certified for Sport and it is not a contents certification.
- GFSI Certified (FSSC 22000) status
- Claimed on the brand's quality page. Not verified at any register.
- Named third-party laboratories — Eurofins and Light Labs status
- Credit where due: naming its testing laboratories is more disclosure than any other brand in this batch offers, and the quality page describes probiotic enumeration, potency, identity and heavy-metal testing plus in-house HPLC and FTIR. None of it was verifiable at an issuer register, and no certificate or COA is published.
- Any government label record for this SKU
- None found under three differently-spelled queries. The brand itself is in DSLD — 60 Billion appears in six records, plus Women's and Thin 30 — so this is a per-SKU gap, not brand absence. The decisive UPC-based query could not be run because the brand publishes no barcode for this SKU (Shopify variant barcode is null) and Amazon's UPC field was not retrievable. DSLD is voluntary; absence from it is not a regulatory finding.
- Any live Amazon price
- Amazon renders prices client-side and served captchas to direct fetches. The price used is the brand's own direct price.
- Any certification, at any issuer register
- nsf.org returned HTTP 403.
- Per-strain CFU
- One aggregate 100 billion figure across all 16 named organisms with no allocation.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Physician’s Choice does something no other brand in this batch does: it names the laboratories that test its products — Eurofins and Light Labs — and describes stability testing in plain language. That is real disclosure and it should count.
It is also the only product audited alongside it whose Supplement Facts panel states no CFU basis at all. The panel says “Total Probiotic Activity 100 Billion CFUs” and stops. The at-expiry promise lives in an Amazon bullet (“ready-to-work until expiration date”) and on the corporate quality page (“remains in the bottle throughout the product’s shelf life”). All four Garden of Life SKUs audited beside it put that guarantee on the panel, where it is the legally operative disclosure.
The label has two further problems visible to anyone who reads it. There are two rows both printed “Probiotic Blend”, and the 150 mg one contains nothing but inulin and acacia fibre — it is the prebiotic row, misnamed. And the “16 diverse strains” count includes Bifidobacterium lactis and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis as separate entries, which are the same taxon. Fifteen of the sixteen organisms carry no designator at all; the sixteenth is NCFM, which proves the brand can print one when it chooses.
At $2.00 a day this is the most expensive product in its batch — and 63% more per day than the same brand’s own Men’s SKU.