One product, one panel, one record.
Walgreens Daily Probiotic Capsules, 50 Count, 10 Billion Active Cultures — label audit
The footnote reads, in its entirety, "Contains 10 billion active cultures at expiration". No manufacture number is advertised anywhere — the figure on the front of the pack is the figure guaranteed on the last day of shelf life. That is the cleanest CFU claim in its batch and one of the cleanest this project has recorded, on the cheapest product in it at $0.60 a day.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes and contributes to none of them.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
76.7 out of 100
Rank 39 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 76.7 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 2 of 2 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 2 / 2 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 2 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 2 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 2 of 2 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 2 / 2 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.6600 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.7674. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 76.7 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | Probiotic Blend — 108.9 mg (10 Billion CFUs**) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 2 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
"**Contains 10 billion active cultures at expiration"
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | CUL60 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "CUL60" |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | GG | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG" AND randomized |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — walgreens-300435852-carton-supplement-factshttps://www.walgreens.com/store/c/walgreens-daily-probiotic-capsules/ID=300435852-product — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Carton photography obtained through the retailer mirror of the Walgreens listing, downloaded and transcribed directly - walgreens.com refuses automated fetching and the Supplement Facts exists only inside carton JPEGs. Transcribed - Serving Size One Capsule; Probiotic Blend 108.9 mg (10 Billion CFUs**); Lactobacillus acidophilus CUL60; Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG; Inulin 50 mg; the at-expiration footnote; Other Ingredients (Vegetarian Capsule Shell (Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Silicon Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Titanium Dioxide (color)); "SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS. NO GLUTEN. NO DAIRY. NO SOY."; the storage instruction; W10809-0420-L; (c)2022 Walgreen Co.; MADE IN UNITED KINGDOM. The panel was tied to the SKU in the brief by barcode - the carton reads 3 11917 12494 0 and the retailer mirror gives gtin 00311917124940 / UPC 31191712494 with merchant sku 400657583, a match.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — walgreens-300435852-listing-2026-07-31https://www.walgreens.com/store/c/walgreens-daily-probiotic-capsules/ID=300435852-product — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Walgreens' own listing, source of the live price ("$29.99 $0.60/ea"), the 50-count quantity, and the Buy 1 Get 1 50% OFF promotion running at this pass.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 2 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$0.60 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $29.99 USD
- What that buys
- 50 once-daily capsules, 1 capsule per serving. Front of pack "VALUE SIZE". Walgreens ITEM 836391, merchant SKU 400657583.
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://www.walgreens.com/store/c/walgreens-daily-probiotic-capsules/ID=300435852-product — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Any third-party certification | Not checked | 31 July 2026 |
Any third-party certification
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
No third-party certification mark appears on this carton - no UL, NSF, USP or Informed Choice - so there is no issuer register to query and nothing is recorded as confirmed or refused. Two things worth naming. The "Walgreens Pharmacist Recommended" roundel appears here as it does on the sibling Super Probiotic - it is an in-house seal with the visual grammar of a certification mark and no issuer behind it. And the same brand carries a genuine, register-verified UL mark (certificate V907999) on its Canadian-made Extra Strength SKU while carrying no mark at all on its two UK-made SKUs, so the certification is not applied across the range in practice even though the certificate itself is issued brand-wide.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 compare-to-culturelle-rests-on-an-undisclosed-lgg-fraction
The front of pack reads "Compare to Culturelle Digestive Health Probiotic††". Culturelle's flagship is LGG-based and this product does contain LGG, so the comparison is more defensible than most store-brand equivalence framings. It still invites a same-dose, same-effect inference the label does not support - no per-strain CFU is printed, so how much of the 10 billion is LGG is undisclosed. If LGG were five per cent of the blend the comparison would remain literally true and practically misleading.
The record: Carton front-of-pack copy against the panel's single "Probiotic Blend 108.9 mg (10 Billion CFUs**)" line, transcribed from carton photography of Walgreens product 300435852, 2026-07-31
Finding 2 one-of-the-most-clinically-studied-strains-is-strain-borrowing-here
The side panel says LGG is "one of the most clinically studied probiotic strains". True of LGG in general, and deployed to substantiate this product, whose LGG content is unquantified and whose pairing with CUL60 is untrialled. The evidence belongs to the strain, not to the formulation.
The record: Carton side-panel copy, verbatim, against PubMed "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG" AND randomized (305 records) and the absence of any trial of this pairing, read 2026-07-31
Finding 3 blend-total-only-across-both-organisms
108.9 mg and 10 billion CFU covering both organisms with no split. The inulin is broken out separately at 50 mg, which is better practice than the probiotics themselves get.
The record: Carton Supplement Facts panel, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 4 no-third-party-certification-while-a-sibling-sku-carries-one
No UL, NSF, USP or Informed Choice mark on this carton, while Walgreens' Canadian-made Extra Strength SKU carries a register-verified UL mark (certificate V907999). The brand-wide certificate is not applied brand-wide in practice.
The record: Carton photography of Walgreens product 300435852 against the Extra Strength carton (product 300437566) and verify.ul.com certificate V907999, all 2026-07-31
Finding 5 pharmacist-recommended-in-house-seal
"†Our pharmacists recommend the Walgreens brand. We invite you to compare to national brands." An in-house endorsement in the visual position of a substantiation footnote.
The record: Carton footnote †, verbatim, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 6 thin-review-base
4.1 out of 5 from 22 reviews - the smallest review count of the three Walgreens store-brand probiotics audited alongside it, so the rating carries little information either way.
The record: Walgreens listing for product 300435852, read 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- Any third-party certification status
- No third-party certification mark appears on this carton - no UL, NSF, USP or Informed Choice - so there is no issuer register to query and nothing is recorded as confirmed or refused. Two things worth naming. The "Walgreens Pharmacist Recommended" roundel appears here as it does on the sibling Super Probiotic - it is an in-house seal with the visual grammar of a certification mark and no issuer behind it. And the same brand carries a genuine, register-verified UL mark (certificate V907999) on its Canadian-made Extra Strength SKU while carrying no mark at all on its two UK-made SKUs, so the certification is not applied across the range in practice even though the certificate itself is issued brand-wide.
- A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
- The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
- How much of the 10 billion CFU is LGG and how much is CUL60
- Not disclosed. The panel prints "Probiotic Blend - 108.9 mg (10 Billion CFUs**)" as a total across both organisms. This is the specific gap that undercuts the "Compare to Culturelle" framing on the front of the pack - if LGG were five per cent of the blend the comparison would still be literally true and practically misleading, and a buyer has no way to tell.
- Whether the CUL60 + LGG pairing has been trialled
- It has not, as far as this pass could establish. CUL60's published evidence comes from the four-strain LAB4 consortium, three of whose organisms are not in this product; LGG's comes from studies of LGG alone or in other combinations. Both organisms have real literature and this combination at this dose does not.
- Any third-party certification
- None is claimed on this carton, so there is no issuer to query. The "Pharmacist Recommended" roundel is an in-house seal.
- Any government label record
- None exists. The search was run seven ways - DSLD brand filters "Walgreens" / "Well At Walgreens" (5 records - Probiotic Colon Support, Probiotic with LGG, Probiotic Gummies with Bacillus Coagulans, Children's Probiotic with LGG, Daily Probiotic with Digestive Enzymes; none of them this SKU) and "Finest Nutrition" (2 records, no match); free-text "Walgreens Daily Probiotic Capsules"; UPC queries; and a designator query on CUL60, which returned one hit belonging to Higher Nature "Pro-Digestion" (DSLD 246050), an unrelated brand.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
The footnote on this carton is one sentence long and it is the whole reason this page is worth reading:
**Contains 10 billion active cultures at expiration
No manufacture number appears anywhere. The front of pack advertises “10 billion active cultures per capsule**”, and the asterisk resolves to a guarantee on the last day of shelf life rather than to the day the powder was blended. The number on the front is the number you are promised at the end.
That is rarer than it should be. Its own siblings on the same pharmacy shelf print both endpoints and disclose real decay — Walgreens Super Probiotic goes 20 billion to 12.5, Extra Strength goes 30 billion to 7.5. This product does not need the two-number structure because it never advertises the higher figure at all. It is also the cheapest of the three, at $0.60 a day — $0.45 on the buy-one-get-one-half-off running at this pass.
Both organisms carry designators, and one of them is about as unambiguous as strain identity gets. Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG returns 305 randomised-trial records in PubMed. L. acidophilus CUL60 returns 10, published as part of the LAB4 consortium — the anchor being PMID 18785988, the LAB4 IBS trial. The prebiotic is named and quantified too: 50 mg of inulin, broken out as its own line, which is more than the probiotics themselves get.
And here is the honest reading, which must not be overstated in either direction. Both organisms have real literature. Neither the CUL60 + LGG pairing nor this 10-billion dose has been trialled as such. CUL60’s evidence comes from a four-strain consortium whose other three organisms are not in this bottle. LGG’s evidence comes from LGG studied alone or in other combinations. Strain identity here is genuinely verifiable; combination-level evidence is not.
That gap is exactly what the front of pack leans on. “Compare to Culturelle® Digestive Health Probiotic††” — and Culturelle’s flagship is LGG-based, so unlike most store-brand equivalence claims this one has something behind it. But the panel prints one blend total, 108.9 mg / 10 billion CFU across both organisms, so how much of that is LGG rather than CUL60 is undisclosed. If LGG were five per cent of the blend the comparison would still be literally true and practically misleading, and no buyer could tell. The side panel’s “one of the most clinically studied probiotic strains” is the same move in words: true of LGG, deployed to substantiate a product whose LGG content is unquantified.
No third-party certification appears on this carton — while the same brand’s Canadian-made Extra Strength SKU carries a register-verified UL mark. The certificate is issued brand-wide; it is not applied brand-wide. What is on the front instead is the “Walgreens Pharmacist Recommended” roundel, an in-house seal, and the footnote “†Our pharmacists recommend the Walgreens brand.”
Two things this label does that are worth naming because so few do them. It carries an honest trademark disclaimer on its own comparison claim — “This product is not manufactured or distributed by i-Health, Inc” — and every health claim on it is structure/function worded and carries the disclaimer. There is no disease claim on this carton.