One product, one panel, one record.
Ancient Nutrition SBO Probiotics Men's Once Daily — label audit
The probiotic in the men's product is character-for-character identical to the probiotic in the women's product — same four species, same 245 mg, same 25 billion CFU, same $29.95. Both panels were read independently. The entire sex differentiation is a herbal blend whose per-herb doses are not disclosed.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- D₂₇ founding teardown One of the 27 products taken apart at label level. That cohort is frozen and dated, so the audit’s published percentages cannot silently move.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
17.1 out of 100
Rank 135 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 17.1 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 0 of 4 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 4 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. | 2 / 3 = 0.6667 | 0.146667 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 0 of 4 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.146667 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.1705. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 17.1 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 25 Billion CFU |
| What that count is measured against | At manufacture only |
| Strain designators | None — species only |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 4 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Same chassis as women’s SKU |
¹At time of manufacture.
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.
The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bacillus coagulans | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Saccharomyces boulardii | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bacillus subtilis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bacillus clausii | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — CL-SPO5821-051425_SFP-DTChttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0053/9952/files/CL-SPO5821-051425_SFP-DTC_4633aaf8-6416-4502-acc5-65884185b1ad_2900x2900.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own full-resolution Supplement Facts image for SKU SPO5821, read directly and independently re-read during the audit.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — ancientnutrition-womens-panel-2026-07-30https://ancientnutrition.com/products/sbo-probiotics-womens-once-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The women's panel, read independently rather than inferred, which is what makes the identical-probiotic finding a comparison rather than an assumption.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $29.95 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule per serving)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://ancientnutrition.com/products/sbo-probiotics-mens-once-daily — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Carbon Neutral Certified | Not checked | not checked |
| B Corp | Register unreachable | 30 July 2026 |
| BIO Bottle (biodegradable packaging) | Not checked | not checked |
Carbon Neutral Certified
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
Listed by the brand under a "3rd Party Certified" heading. It is a carbon-accounting certification. It tests no identity, potency, purity, heavy metal or CFU count.
B Corp
The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.
bcorporation.net returns 403 to automated requests. Corporate governance, not product quality.
BIO Bottle (biodegradable packaging)
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
A packaging-material claim, presented under a "3rd Party Certified" heading.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Compared against SBO Probiotics Women's Once Daily. Diffed .
What the two panels differ by
- Men's Support Blend 310 mg — organic fermented ginger root, fenugreek seed, licorice root, cordyceps mycelium and fruit body. Women's Support Blend 370 mg — organic chaste tree berry extract, sage leaf, fermented amla berry, turkey tail mycelium. Men's and women's panel images, both read directly
What is identical across the pair
- SBO Once Daily Blend 245 mg (25 Billion CFU) in both, containing the same four organisms: B. coagulans, S. boulardii, B. subtilis, B. clausii. Character-for-character identical.
- Both at manufacture. Both $29.95. Both one capsule a day, 30 per bottle.
- The same misspellings — "Saccharomyces bouolardii", "Baciillus subtiilis" — appear in the web ingredient copy on both pages.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 identical-probiotic-in-both-sexes
The 245 mg / 25 billion CFU SBO blend is the same four species at the same dose and the same price in the men's and women's products. Both panels were read independently from the brand's own images. Nothing about the probiotic in this product is male-specific.
The record: Brand panel images for SPO5821 and the women's SKU, read directly
Finding 2 clinically-studied-with-no-strain-named
The site states the strains are "proprietary, clinically studied". Four species, no ATCC, DSM, CNCM or NCIMB code, and both blends proprietary with no per-component amount. Because no strain is identified, that claim is unfalsifiable by construction.
The record: Brand panel image SPO5821 · ancientnutrition.com product page
Finding 3 cfu-at-manufacture-only
"¹At time of manufacture", printed on the panel and repeated in the FAQ. The number on the front of the bottle describes the product on the day it was blended, not the day it is swallowed.
The record: Brand panel image SPO5821
Finding 4 third-party-certified-heading-over-non-product-certifications
The brand's "3rd Party Certified" list is, verbatim, "Carbon Neutral Certified, B Corp, BIO Bottle (Biodegradable Packaging)". None of the three is a product-quality certification. None tests identity, potency, purity, heavy metals or CFU count. Presenting them under that heading on a supplement page invites the shopper to read them as quality assurance.
The record: ancientnutrition.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30
Finding 5 undisclosed-licorice-dose
Licorice root sits inside a 310 mg proprietary blend with no stated amount and no statement that it is deglycyrrhizinated. Glycyrrhizin has a documented pseudoaldosteronism mechanism associated with hypertension and hypokalaemia.
The record: Brand panel image SPO5821
Finding 6 binomials-misspelled-in-web-copy
The website ingredient list reads "Bacillus coagulans, Saccharomyces bouolardii, Baciillus subtiilis, Bacillus clausii." The printed label is spelled correctly, so this is a web-copy defect rather than a labelling violation — but the identical typo string appears on both the men's and women's pages, indicating copy no scientifically literate reviewer has read.
The record: ancientnutrition.com men's and women's product pages, verified live 2026-07-30
Finding 7 acquisition-discount-double-the-retention-discount
35% off the first subscription order, 15% thereafter.
The record: ancientnutrition.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- Carbon Neutral Certified status
- Listed by the brand under a "3rd Party Certified" heading. It is a carbon-accounting certification. It tests no identity, potency, purity, heavy metal or CFU count.
- B Corp status
- bcorporation.net returns 403 to automated requests. Corporate governance, not product quality.
- BIO Bottle (biodegradable packaging) status
- A packaging-material claim, presented under a "3rd Party Certified" heading.
- The glycyrrhizin content, or even the milligram dose, of the licorice root
- Hidden inside a 310 mg proprietary blend. The label does not state deglycyrrhizinated (DGL). Glycyrrhizin is associated with hypertension and hypokalaemia via pseudoaldosteronism, so this is a safety-relevant non-disclosure rather than a marketing quibble — but no adverse event data for this product was found and none is asserted.
- Whether the B Corp certification is current
- bcorporation.net returns 403 to automated requests.
- Per-strain CFU for any of the four organisms
- Not disclosed. One blend figure covers all four.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Put the two panels side by side and one line is identical in both:
SBO Once Daily Blend 245 mg (25 Billion CFU¹) — Bacillus coagulans, Saccharomyces boulardii, Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus clausii.
Same four species. Same milligrams. Same CFU. Same footnote. Same $29.95. The only thing that changes between the men’s bottle and the women’s bottle is the herbal blend bolted on top — ginger, fenugreek, licorice and cordyceps for men; chaste tree, sage, amla and turkey tail for women — and neither blend discloses a single per-herb dose.
The women’s page sharpens it further. It claims “clinically studies [sic] Bacillus coagulans to support women’s overall vaginal and urogenital health as well as healthy yeast balance.” That benefit is attributed to a species with no strain designator, in the same blend, at the same dose, that the men’s product also contains. The identical ingredient is sold as vaginal support to women and as male health support to men.
Worth stating plainly what this product does not do: there are no prostate, testosterone, urinary or libido claims anywhere on the men’s page, and “reduces occasional constipation” is kept legal by the word occasional. The claims are disciplined. The problem is that the central credibility claim — “proprietary, clinically studied” — attaches to four species with no strain named, which makes it unfalsifiable rather than false.
One safety note that is not a marketing quibble: licorice root is in a 310 mg proprietary blend at an undisclosed dose, with no statement that it is deglycyrrhizinated. Glycyrrhizin has a documented pseudoaldosteronism mechanism. No adverse event is asserted for this product; the dose simply is not knowable from the label.