One product, one panel, one record.

Vitamin Bounty Pro-100 Probiotic — label audit

Thirteen organisms, zero strain designators — confirmed independently on the 2026 label and in the 2022 federal record — and the brand calls them "13 strains" on the panel, on the page and in the federal record alike. They are thirteen species. The only product in its batch with no third-party mark of any kind, and the most expensive per day.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
How deep this went
Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

14.7 out of 100

Rank 142 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 14.7 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 0 of 13 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 13 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. 2 / 3 = 0.6667 0.146667
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 0 of 13 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 1 claimed certification queried at the issuer’s register and not listed there. 0 / 1 = 0.0000 0.0000
The five weights sum to 1.00. This record answers all five, so the divisor below is that full 1.00 and nothing has been renormalised away. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.146667 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.1467. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 14.7 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Vitamin Bounty Pro-100 Probiotic discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 100 Billion CFU Probiotic Blend† — 375 mg
What that count is measured against At manufacture only
Strain designators None — species only
Organism slots transcribed here 13 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 266647

"† Formulated with 100 billion CFU at time of manufacture."

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.

The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.

Every organism named on the panel of Vitamin Bounty Pro-100 Probiotic, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Lactobacillus acidophilus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus plantarum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium lactis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus brevis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus casei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus rhamnosus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus salivarius — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus paracasei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus bulgaricus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium bifidum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium breve — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium longum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Saccharomyces boulardii — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed "Saccharomyces boulardii"[All Fields] AND randomized controlled trial[pt] AND humans[mh]
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Photograph of the printed panelPro100_SF.jpghttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0266/7112/0472/files/Pro100_SF.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own Supplement Facts JPEG, transcribed by hand. This is the current 2026 label and the source for every figure on this page.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 266647 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market federal record. UPC cross-check passes cleanly — the live Shopify barcode 00857449008568 matches the record's upcSku 8 57449 00856 8, so the panel above is definitively this SKU. Cited for identity, for the species list and for label statements. Not cited for the blend mass, which this record puts at 900 mg against the current label's 375 mg. The record also preserves a typo in the brand's own warning text — "Discontinue use and consult your odctor if any adverse reactions occur."

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.10 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$32.99 USD
What that buys
60 delayed-release veggie capsules (30 servings, 2 capsules daily). $26.39 on subscription, with cancellation required at least 3 days before renewal.
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-100-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Vitamin Bounty Pro-100 Probiotic, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Clean Label Project Absent from register 31 July 2026
"Tested live organisms" Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026

Clean Label Project

The register was queried and this product is not listed on it.

The register was queried. The full certified-brand facet was retrieved and brands beginning with V were enumerated — Vang, Veracity, Vinamilk, Vinatura, Visbiome, Visbiome Vet, Voyager Milk, Vykee Nutrition. Vitamin Bounty is not among them. A scoped negative about one specific register.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

"Tested live organisms"

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

The entire quality claim on this product. It names no lab, no method, no threshold, no frequency and no release specification. It is not a certification and must never be reported as one. The federal record's Seals/Symbols field, in full, reads "Made in the USA" — that is the only entry.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 thirteen-species-counted-as-thirteen-strains

"13 strains" is repeated on the panel, on the product page and in the federal record. These are 13 species — twelve bacteria and one yeast — and not one carries a designator of any kind. A species name does not identify a tested agent, and the trials in this field are of strains.

The record: Panel JPEG Pro100_SF.jpg and DSLD 266647, both read 2026-07-31; anchor PMID 29868585 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 2 at-manufacture-basis-with-no-expiry-floor

"† Formulated with 100 billion CFU at time of manufacture." No expiry number appears anywhere. The federal record's own marketing statements — "Pro-100 delivers a market-leading, 100 billion CFU probiotic per serving" and "13 strains - 100 billion CFU per serving" — both say "per serving" with no basis qualifier attached at all. The qualifier lives only in the panel dagger.

The record: Panel JPEG Pro100_SF.jpg footnote and DSLD 266647 statements, both verbatim, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 3 no-certification-of-any-kind

No NSF, no USP, no Informed Choice, no Clean Label Project, no Non-GMO Project, no named third-party lab, no certificate of analysis, no batch lookup, no certificate number. The federal record's Seals/Symbols field contains one entry, "Made in the USA", which is an origin statement. The whole quality proposition is the phrase "Tested live organisms", which names no lab, method or threshold. Of the three products torn down alongside it, this is the only one carrying no third-party mark at all — and the most expensive per day.

The record: DSLD 266647 Seals/Symbols field and the brand's own marketing panels, 2026-07-31

Finding 4 the-federal-record-is-stale-by-one-reformulation

DSLD 266647, filed 2022, records the blend at 900 mg. The current 2026 label records 375 mg for the same declared 100 billion CFU, and the brand's own imagery includes an old-versus-new packaging graphic. The federal record no longer describes the product being sold. It remains valid for identity and for label statements and is not usable for the blend mass.

The record: DSLD 266647 versus panel JPEG Pro100_SF.jpg, both 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 5 maximized-efficacy-and-market-leading-with-no-referent

"Maximized Efficacy" is an unqualified efficacy claim with no comparator and no measurement — maximised relative to what? "Market-leading" is a superiority claim with no substantiation footnote of any kind. Both sit alongside a customer-testimonial block headed "No more bloating!" with a before-and-after slider, which is the standard visual grammar of a treatment claim even when the words stay structure/function. All claims are structure/function-worded, hedged, dagger-referenced and carry the correct FDA disclaimer; none crosses into disease-claim territory.

The record: vitaminbounty.com Pro-100 marketing panels, read verbatim 2026-07-31

Finding 6 highest-cost-per-day-with-the-fewest-identified-strains

$1.10 a day, the most expensive in its batch, while carrying zero identified strains and zero third-party marks. Its only structural advantage is the cheapest cost per billion CFU — $0.011 — and that is the metric that means least, because 100 billion of unidentified organisms at an unknown split is 100 billion of nothing you can look up.

The record: $32.99 / 30 servings, against the same-batch figures, 2026-07-31

Finding 7 every-marketing-image-uses-a-female-model

The Supplement Facts image, the "Real Gut Benefits" panel and the "Clean Formula" panel all show women. A man arriving from a "best probiotic for men" listicle lands on a page whose entire visual language is addressed to women. The product makes no gender claim in either direction.

The record: vitaminbounty.com Pro-100 product imagery, 2026-07-31

Finding 8 pricing-display-defects-on-the-live-page

The product page renders "Sale price $32.99 Regular price (/) Sold out Save $-32.99" — a negative saving on an in-stock item — and the site states two different free-shipping thresholds on the same page, $50 in the banner and $60 in the footer. Cosmetic, and the second pricing-display defect this project has recorded for this brand.

The record: vitaminbounty.com Pro-100 live page, 2026-07-31

Finding 9 a-womens-probiotic-exists-at-this-brand-and-a-mens-does-not

The brand's 29-product Shopify catalogue was enumerated. Pro-100, Pro-50, Pro-25, Pro-Daily and Pro-Daily Immunity are unisex; Pro-Daily Women Probiotic 10 Billion CFU is women's; and the brand sells a Testosterone Booster for Men, which is not a probiotic. Vitamin Bounty is entirely capable of building a men's product and has never built a men's probiotic. It has built a women's one.

The record: vitaminbounty.com Shopify catalogue, 29 products enumerated 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-100-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 10 zinc-is-not-a-mens-angle-and-is-not-sold-as-one

The only non-probiotic actives are vitamin C at 90 mg, 100% DV, and zinc citrate at 12 mg, 109% DV. Zinc has a male-fertility literature at supra-DV doses. 12 mg is a DV-level dose, the brand makes no male claim for it, and it should not be spun into one. Recorded here so that it is not. There is no prostate ingredient, no androgen-related ingredient, no urinary ingredient and no male-selected organism anywhere in this product.

The record: Panel JPEG Pro100_SF.jpg and DSLD 266647, both 2026-07-31

Finding 11 brand-has-no-indexed-literature-of-its-own

A brand-level PubMed query on "Vitamin Bounty" returns zero records; PubMed reports the phrase as not found. Not a criticism on its own — most supplement brands have none — but it forecloses the last route by which an unnamed thirteen-species blend could have been checked.

The record: PubMed E-utilities, query '"Vitamin Bounty"[All Fields]', run 2026-07-31

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

"Tested live organisms" status
The entire quality claim on this product. It names no lab, no method, no threshold, no frequency and no release specification. It is not a certification and must never be reported as one. The federal record's Seals/Symbols field, in full, reads "Made in the USA" — that is the only entry.
A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
Per-organism CFU for any of the thirteen
375 mg and 100 billion CFU are declared for the blend. No organism has a quantity, so any single one could be a token dose.
Any lower bound on potency at the end of shelf life
No expiry floor is stated anywhere — not on the panel, not on the page, not in the federal record. Nothing is guaranteed about the last capsule in the bottle. This is the least consumer-favourable basis available, and it is stated honestly, which is the mitigating half.
Any strain identity
Not one of the thirteen organisms carries an ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB, CECT or proprietary designator. Verified twice — on the 2026 label image and independently in the federal record, which transcribes the row as "13 Freeze-Dried Probiotic Strains" over the same thirteen species. This is not a search failure; it is unanswerable from the label.
A current federal transcription of the blend mass
The federal record from 2022 gives the blend at 900 mg; the current 2026 label gives 375 mg, for the same declared 100 billion CFU. The brand's own imagery includes an old-versus-new packaging graphic, confirming a repack. A 2.4x increase in CFU per mg is achievable with a more concentrated raw material and is not implausible — but the federal record no longer describes the product being sold. It is cited here for identity and for label statements, never for the blend mass.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-100-probiotichttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-100-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

One hundred billion CFU is the biggest number on this shelf, and it is the least informative one in its batch.

Thirteen organisms, zero designators. Not one ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB or CECT accession, and no proprietary code either — verified twice, once on the brand’s own 2026 panel image and once independently in the federal label record, which transcribes the same thirteen and calls them “13 Freeze-Dried Probiotic Strains”. They are thirteen species. The brand repeats “13 strains” on the panel, on the page and in the government record alike, and none of the three is right.

Look at what that costs. Saccharomyces boulardii is on this label, and the species has 114 human randomised trials behind it — every one of them run on a named preparation, and the evidence base is overwhelmingly CNCM I-745. This product’s S. boulardii is unnamed and unquantified. None of the 114 attaches to it. That is the whole mechanism in one row: the species has the evidence, and the undisclosed strain at an undisclosed dose inherits none of it.

The potency is guaranteed at manufacture and nowhere else. There is no expiry floor on the panel, on the page, or in the federal record. Nothing is promised about the last capsule in the bottle. Credit where it is owed, twice: the basis is stated plainly in the panel rather than hidden, and the word used is honestly “CFU” in both the headline and the footnote — no substitution of a softer unit. Notice, though, that the federal record’s own marketing lines say “100 billion CFU per serving” and “13 strains - 100 billion CFU per serving” with no qualifier attached at all. The basis lives only in the dagger.

There is no certification of any kind. No NSF, no USP, no Clean Label Project — the register was queried and the brand is absent — no Non-GMO Project, no named lab, no COA, no batch lookup. The federal record’s Seals/Symbols field has one entry: “Made in the USA”. The entire quality claim is the phrase “Tested live organisms”, which names no lab, no method, no threshold and no release specification, and which must never be reported as a certification.

Two more things. The federal record is now stale by one reformulation — 900 mg of blend in 2022, 375 mg today, for the same declared 100 billion. Cite it for identity and for what the label says; do not cite it for what is in the capsule. And every marketing image the brand publishes for this SKU features a female model, on a product that men’s listicles route men toward. Vitamin Bounty sells a testosterone booster, so it plainly knows how to build for men. It has built a women’s probiotic and never a men’s.