One product, one panel, one record.
Bio-K+ Drinkable Dairy Probiotic, Original Unsweetened — label audit
One page carries both "Why might women prefer a drinkable probiotic over a capsule format?" and "Is Bio-K+ Dairy Probiotic Drink a good daily probiotic supplement for men?" — for one bottle, one formula, one dose, with the pronoun as the only variable between two otherwise interchangeable answers.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
66.0 out of 100
Rank 59 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 66.0 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 3 of 3 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 3 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 3 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 3 of 3 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | 1 claimed certification queried at the issuer’s register and not listed there. | 0 / 1 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
0.6600 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.6600. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 66.0 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | Probiotic blend (50 billion CFU) 550 mg |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 3 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
"'Guaranteed until expiration date' means each bottle is formulated and tested to deliver 50 billion live and active bacteria through to that date, not just at production. Always shake before drinking and keep refrigerated." And, from the site FAQ: "Bio-K+ drinkable probiotics have a bacterial count guaranteed until the best before date if the product is refrigerated. They can be kept out of the fridge for a maximum of 24 hours."
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lacticaseibacillus casei | LBC80R® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "LBC80R" → 24; ("CL1285" OR "LBC80R" OR "CLR2") AND randomized controlled trial[pt] → 5 |
| Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus | CLR2® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "CLR2" AND Lactobacillus → 16; "CLR2"[tiab] AND randomized controlled trial[pt] → 3 |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | CL1285® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "CL1285" → 29; CL1285 AND probiotic → 28 (control); "CL1285" AND clinical trial[pt] → 6 |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — 6c4b43de2e5c--Bio-K-Drinkables-Unsweetened-US.pnghttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0455/1183/5798/t/7/assets/6c4b43de2e5c--Bio-K-Drinkables-Unsweetened-US.png — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own Supplement Facts image, downloaded from its CDN and transcribed verbatim, including the full macronutrient block — serving size 1 container 3.5 fl. oz. (104 mL), 6 servings per container, calories 40, cholesterol 5 mg, total carbohydrate 6 g, total sugars 6 g, protein 4 g, calcium 124 mg, sodium 50 mg, potassium 191 mg — then "Probiotic blend (50 billion CFU) 550 mg" over the three strains. Most probiotic SKUs in this project disclose none of the macronutrient detail. The panel is image-only; the page's machine-readable ingredient block lists water, skim milk powder and whey protein concentrate and nothing else.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — biokplus-drinkable-original-2026-07-31https://biokplus.com/products/drinkable-dairy-probiotic-original-1 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Brand JSON-LD read directly: GTIN 626608000763, variant "Dairy Probiotic Drink - Original Unsweetened - 6 Pack", availability http://schema.org/OutOfStock, Offer $29.99 CAD. Also the source of both gendered FAQ answers, the vaginal-health refusal, the pregnancy answer and the "1 to 4 doses" dosing line, all quoted verbatim on this page. This is a fermented product rather than a capsule — the organisms are grown in the milk base rather than freeze-dried and encapsulated — and should be treated separately in any comparison.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 3 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| "Certified gluten-free" (no certifier named) | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) | Absent from register | 31 July 2026 |
| Non-GMO Project | Register unreachable | 31 July 2026 |
"Certified gluten-free" (no certifier named)
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The product description reads "Certified gluten-free and crafted with natural dairy ingredients, with no added sugar." "Certified" asserts a third party, and no third party is named anywhere on the page, in the product FAQ or in the site FAQ. There is therefore no issuer register to check, which is itself the finding: a certification claim that names no certifier is unfalsifiable by construction.
GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization)
The register was queried and this product is not listed on it.
Six queries across the brand and keyword fields — Bio-K, Bio-K+, Bio-K Plus, Biok — all returned "No products found", with the control query "probiotic" returning 25 certified products, proving the register and the query work. This does not prove the product is uncertified: GFCP, run by the Allergen Control Group, is the likely scheme for a Quebec manufacturer and has no comparable public API. It does mean the claim cannot be corroborated by any route available to a consumer.
Non-GMO Project
The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.
The site FAQ says "All the Extra drinkable probiotics are Non-GMO certified" — note the scope: by the FAQ's own taxonomy that covers the "Extra" drinkable line, and this is the Original, not an Extra, so whether this SKU is covered is unclear from the brand's own text. The issuer's register could not be queried in any case: every product-directory path tested returns 404 and the search page renders with no reachable product endpoint.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Compared against Bio-K+ Women's Health Probiotic Capsules. Diffed .
What the two panels differ by
- Asked directly whether this product delivers a sex-specific benefit, the brand says no — and correctly explains that a sex-specific benefit requires different strains. Verbatim: "Does the Original Unflavoured probiotic supplement support vaginal health? No. The Original Unflavoured supplement promotes digestive and immune health.* It is not formulated for vaginal health. For vaginal balance, Bio-K+ offers Women's Health Probiotic Capsules formulated with Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus GR-1™ and Limosilactobacillus reuteri RC-14™, which carry approved structure-function claims." Two questions later the same FAQ block answers "Yes" to whether the same bottle is a good daily probiotic supplement for men. biokplus.com drinkable Original product page FAQ, both answers read verbatim 2026-07-31
- The women's product changes the organisms entirely, to two designators with a real urogenital literature. This product changes nothing — the men's FAQ answer lists the identical three strains at the identical 50 billion. biokplus.com Women's Health Probiotic Capsules page (GR-1™ / RC-14™) against this page's own men's and women's FAQ answers, all read 2026-07-31
What is identical across the pair
- The men's answer and the women's answer on this page describe the same bottle, the same three strains and the same 50 billion CFU. Strip the gender words and they are interchangeable.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 the-same-bottle-is-gendered-both-ways-on-one-page
Two FAQ headings on one product page for one formula: "Why might women prefer a drinkable probiotic over a capsule format?" and "Is Bio-K+ Dairy Probiotic Drink a good daily probiotic supplement for men?" — the second answering "Yes. Bio-K+ Dairy Probiotic Drink is a purposeful daily probiotic supplement for men seeking digestive and immune support in a ready-to-drink format." Both answers list the identical three strains at the identical dose. The only variable is the pronoun, and no formulation defence is available.
The record: biokplus.com drinkable Original page, both FAQ headings and answers read verbatim 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://biokplus.com/products/drinkable-dairy-probiotic-original-1 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 2 the-brand-states-the-correct-standard-and-then-abandons-it-by-pronoun
Asked whether this product supports vaginal health, the brand answers "No… It is not formulated for vaginal health" and explains that the sex-specific benefit lives in different strains — GR-1™ and RC-14™ — "which carry approved structure-function claims". It applies that standard rigorously to women and abandons it entirely two questions later when the pronoun changes to "men". The brand's own FAQ is the strongest available rebuttal to the brand's own marketing.
The record: biokplus.com drinkable Original page FAQ, vaginal-health and men's answers read verbatim 2026-07-31
Finding 3 the-regulated-serving-size-contradicts-the-brands-own-dosing-copy
The Supplement Facts panel declares "Serving Size 1 container 3.5 fl. oz. (104 mL)" — one bottle, one serving, 50 billion CFU. The "How to Use" block on the same page says "Take up to 1 bottle daily… Each bottle contains 1 to 4 doses." A consumer following that copy could take a quarter of the declared serving, receive 12.5 billion CFU, and believe they had taken the product as directed. The product FAQ and the site FAQ both treat one bottle as one daily dose, so three of the four statements agree and the one that does not sits in the dosing instructions.
The record: Panel 6c4b43de2e5c--Bio-K-Drinkables-Unsweetened-US.png against the page's How to Use block, product FAQ and site FAQ, all read 2026-07-31
Finding 4 the-strains-are-absent-from-the-machine-readable-ingredient-block
The page's "Ingredients & Supplement Facts" section reads, in full: "Other ingredients: Water, skim milk powder, whey protein concentrate. Contains: Milk." The three probiotic strains — the entire reason to buy the product — appear nowhere in machine-readable page text except inside FAQ prose. For a bot, a screen reader or a comparison tool, they exist only as pixels inside a PNG.
The record: biokplus.com drinkable Original page HTML ingredient block, quoted in full, 2026-07-31
Finding 5 certified-gluten-free-names-no-certifier
"Certified gluten-free" is a stronger word than the capsules' plain "Gluten Free" — it asserts a third party — and no third party is named on the page, in the product FAQ or in the site FAQ. Unfalsifiable by construction. GFCO's queryable register returns "No products found" for this brand across six queries with a working control, which corroborates nothing either way but does show the consumer has no route to check.
The record: biokplus.com product description and products.gfco.org queries with control, all 2026-07-31
Finding 6 format-equivalence-to-the-studied-capsule-is-brand-asserted
Both trials of these strains gave capsules to hospitalised patients. This is a fermented dairy drink at 50 billion per bottle. The brand asserts "They are all equally effective" and offers a plausible mechanistic argument about acid adaptation with no citation. No head-to-head comparison exists in what was searched, and the brand cites none.
The record: biokplus.com FAQ text; PMIDs 38073551 and 29888656, both capsule trials, 2026-07-31
Finding 7 the-inherited-findings-from-the-capsule-line-apply-here-too
Same three strains, same literature, same three problems: the pivotal trial used two of these three strains at 50 or 100 billion a day (PMID 20145608); the most recent RCT of the actual three-strain formula was null, IRR 0.92 with a 95% CI of 0.68–1.23 (PMID 38073551), and appears in no marketing; and the "immune health" half of the claim has zero strain-level records across three query formulations, with a positive control proving the query mechanics.
The record: PMIDs 20145608 and 38073551 quoted verbatim; PubMed immune-outcome queries with control, run 2026-07-31
Finding 8 the-most-expensive-product-per-day-in-its-batch-for-the-least-cfu
$5.00 CAD a day for 50 billion, against $1.67 CAD a day for 80 billion in the brand's own capsule — three times the cost for 62.5% of the CFU, while the brand's FAQ asserts that "our drinkable probiotics are an ideal alternative to capsules. They are all equally effective." A separate and real caveat cuts the other way: this product's guarantee is void outside refrigeration beyond 24 hours and it is sold via "Find in Store" precisely because it cannot ship ambient, so anyone comparing it on CFU per dollar against a shelf-stable capsule is not comparing like with like.
The record: biokplus.com Offer nodes for both SKUs and the brand FAQ, all read 2026-07-31
Finding 9 the-review-carousel-is-cross-catalogue-and-format-mismatched
The identical testimonial block that runs on the capsule pages runs here, on a product that is not a capsule, with reviewers praising capsules that are "easy to swallow" and an ashwagandha this product does not contain, alongside references to 20 capsules and 25 billion CFU. Social proof pooled across the catalogue and presented as product-specific.
The record: biokplus.com drinkable Original page testimonial block, read verbatim 2026-07-31
Finding 10 unbuyable-us-storefront-with-cad-pricing
CAD pricing on a US locale, OutOfStock in the brand's own structured data, no cart — the same non-transactional storefront as the rest of the 33-product catalogue.
The record: biokplus.com schema.org Offer node and /products.json, read 2026-07-31
Finding 11 ninety-eight-grams-versus-one-hundred-and-four-millilitres
The panel says 104 mL; three separate FAQ answers say "98 g bottle". For a fermented milk at roughly 1.03 g/mL, 104 mL would be about 107 g. Net weight and fill volume are different measures and this is not necessarily an error — but the brand states both without reconciling them, on one page.
The record: Panel 6c4b43de2e5c--Bio-K-Drinkables-Unsweetened-US.png against three FAQ answers, 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- "Certified gluten-free" (no certifier named) status
- The product description reads "Certified gluten-free and crafted with natural dairy ingredients, with no added sugar." "Certified" asserts a third party, and no third party is named anywhere on the page, in the product FAQ or in the site FAQ. There is therefore no issuer register to check, which is itself the finding: a certification claim that names no certifier is unfalsifiable by construction.
- Non-GMO Project status
- The site FAQ says "All the Extra drinkable probiotics are Non-GMO certified" — note the scope: by the FAQ's own taxonomy that covers the "Extra" drinkable line, and this is the Original, not an Extra, so whether this SKU is covered is unclear from the brand's own text. The issuer's register could not be queried in any case: every product-directory path tested returns 404 and the search page renders with no reachable product endpoint.
- A US retail price, and therefore the cost per day
- No USD price is published by the brand. The Offer node prices the 6-pack at $29.99 CAD — $5.00 CAD per bottle, and at the label's one-bottle-daily dosing that is $5.00 CAD a day, the most expensive product in its batch by threefold and three times the brand's own 80-billion capsule for 62.5% of the CFU, on a brand FAQ that asserts the formats are "all equally effective". The product's own structured data marks it OutOfStock and the only CTA is "Find in Store". No US retail figure was substituted from a third party.
- Any USD retail price, and therefore a comparable cost per day
- The brand publishes CAD only on a US-locale storefront, for a product its own structured data marks OutOfStock and which has no add-to-cart.
- The per-strain CFU split across the three organisms
- 550 mg and 50 billion CFU are declared for the trio combined, with no split disclosed.
- Whether the drinkable format performs like the capsule format that was actually trialled
- Both trials of these strains administered capsules to hospitalised patients. The brand asserts the formats are "all equally effective", and cites nothing; no head-to-head bioavailability or efficacy comparison was found. Its mechanistic argument — that bacteria in a drinkable are "already adapted to an acid-rich environment through fermentation, which supports their transit through the stomach" — is biologically plausible and carries no citation. Format equivalence is brand-asserted and unsubstantiated.
- Who certifies the "Certified gluten-free" claim
- No certifier is named anywhere on the page or in either FAQ, so there is no issuer register to check. GFCO's register — the one publicly queryable gluten-free register — returns nothing for this brand across six queries with a working control, which does not establish absence of certification elsewhere.
- Whether Non-GMO Project verification covers this SKU
- The site FAQ's claim is scoped to the "Extra" drinkable line and this is the Original. The issuer's register was unreachable in any case.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
One bottle. One formula. Two FAQ answers, pointing in opposite directions.
“Why might women prefer a drinkable probiotic over a capsule format?”
“Is Bio-K+ Dairy Probiotic Drink a good daily probiotic supplement for men?” — “Yes.”
Both are headings on the same product page. Both answers list the identical three strains at the identical 50 billion CFU. Strip the gender words and the two answers are interchangeable; each reduces to “it is a drinkable probiotic with 50 billion CFU of these three strains.” Gender-targeting as pure search-intent capture, run twice in opposite directions on one page — which removes any defence that the copy reflects a formulation decision.
The brand knows the correct standard, because it states it two questions away. Asked whether this product supports vaginal health, Bio-K+ answers “No… It is not formulated for vaginal health”, and explains that the sex-specific benefit lives in different strains — GR-1™ and RC-14™, in a different SKU, “which carry approved structure-function claims”. It applies that rule rigorously to women. It abandons it entirely when the pronoun changes. The same page also declines the easy pregnancy claim, stating plainly that the product “does not carry a pregnancy-specific claim”. This brand knows exactly where the line is, which is what makes the men’s answer a choice.
The label itself is good, and one number on it is not. All three organisms carry designators. The storage story is the best in its batch — at expiry, quantified at a 24-hour out-of-fridge tolerance and a 7-day opened-bottle limit, honest about what happens when you break it. The full macronutrient panel is disclosed, which most of this category never bothers with. But the regulated panel says one bottle is one serving and the marketing copy on the same page says “Each bottle contains 1 to 4 doses.” A consumer following the copy could swallow a quarter of the declared serving — 12.5 billion instead of 50 — and believe they had taken the product as directed.
Two more things a buyer would want to know. The three strains appear nowhere in the page’s machine-readable ingredient text — that block lists only water, skim milk powder and whey — so for a bot or a screen reader the entire reason to buy this product exists only as pixels. And “Certified gluten-free” names no certifier anywhere, which makes it unfalsifiable by construction: there is no register to check, because no issuer was named.