One product, one panel, one record.

Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS 10 Billion CFU, 120 Enteric-Coated Veggie Caps — label audit

All eight organisms are named to strain and all eight map to at least one human randomised trial — and not one of them has a disclosed dose, because the whole 10 billion sits behind a single 131 mg proprietary blend. Named strains, hidden doses.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

76.7 out of 100

Rank 39 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 76.7 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 76.7 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 8 of 8 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 8 / 8 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 8 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 8 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 8 of 8 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 8 / 8 = 1.0000 0.2000
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.6600 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.7674. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 76.7 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS 10 Billion CFU, 120 Enteric-Coated Veggie Caps discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 10 Billion CFU per 2-capsule serving; panel reads "Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 131 mg"
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 8 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 307628

"Live Probiotic Guarantee — When kept under recommended storage conditions, Jarrow Probiotics are formulated to ensure CFU counts are guaranteed within Best Used Before date." No refrigeration required; blister-packed, EnteroGuard enteric coating, room-temperature stable to 77°F.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS 10 Billion CFU, 120 Enteric-Coated Veggie Caps, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus R0011 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactobacillus helveticus R0052 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Pediococcus acidilactici R1001 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lacticaseibacillus casei R0215 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium longum BB536 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactiplantibacillus plantarum R1012 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium breve R0070 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis R1058 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 307628 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market. Three-way UPC cross-check passed — Amazon's detail table reads UPC 790011030249 and model JEPS120, DSLD's upcSku is 7 90011 03024 9, and jarrow.com's JSON-LD gtin12 is 790011030249 on the "120ct" offer. The Supplement Facts transcribed here are this exact SKU. servingsPerContainer 60. Allergen line, verbatim: "Contains: Milk and soy (in trace amounts)." Label states "Made in Canada by Lallemand Health Solutions, Inc." and "Star Technology Lallemand" — the R-series designators are Lallemand strains.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagejarrow-jeps120-2026-07-31https://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-10-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-caps — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200. Source for the price ($45.99, JSON-LD, offer sku JEPS120) and for the Live Probiotic Guarantee wording quoted above.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pageamazon-B0013OUKTS-2026-07-31https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0013OUKTS — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Amazon detail page for the same SKU, fetched directly, HTTP 200, 2.49 MB, no CAPTCHA. Source for the UPC and model number used in the three-way identity check, and for the listing title — "Jarrow Jarro Dophilus Probiotics - Probiotic Supplement, Gut Health, 120 Ct | Gut Health Support, 10 Billion CFU, 8 Probiotic Strains, Intestinal and Digestive Health For Women & Men, Shelf-Stable". No price element was present and "Currently unavailable" appears in the DOM.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 8 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$0.77 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$45.99 USD
What that buys
120 veggie capsules, 2 capsules once daily, 60 servings per container. Brand-site price from jarrow.com JSON-LD, offer sku JEPS120, "120ct". Amazon's price for the same ASIN could not be retrieved and this figure must not be quoted as an Amazon price.
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-10-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-caps — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS 10 Billion CFU, 120 Enteric-Coated Veggie Caps, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource) Register unreachable 31 July 2026
IGEN Non-GMO Tested Register unreachable 31 July 2026

IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource)

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

The per-SKU register at nutrasource.ca/certified-products returned HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products returned 404, so per-SKU currency could not be confirmed. The issuer's own newsroom does confirm line-level certification: nutrasource.ca, 22 June 2020, "the Jarrow Probiotic line is now certified through the International Probiotic Testing Standards (IPRO)", naming the Jarro-Dophilus line explicitly. Recorded as issuer-confirmed at line level in 2020 with per-SKU currency unverified — not "verified" for the 2026 SKU, and explicitly not "does not hold it". Worth noting what IPRO is: a content and label-claim certification specific to probiotics, verifying identity, CFU count and stability. That is the category of certification a probiotic buyer actually needs, unlike a gluten-free or workplace mark.

The register we queried https://www.nutrasource.ca/certifications-by-nutrasource/international-probiotic-testing-program-ipro/ — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

IGEN Non-GMO Tested

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

Same issuer, same register outage. Brand-asserted, unverified.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 proprietary-blend-hides-eight-organism-doses

131 mg and 10 billion CFU across eight organisms with no per-strain allocation. This is the standard "named strains, hidden doses" pattern — materially better than species-only labelling, and still not dose-transparent.

The record: DSLD 307628 Supplement Facts transcription, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 2 hundred-and-twenty-count-bottle-is-a-sixty-day-supply

The serving is two capsules, so "120 Ct" in the listing title is 60 days, not 120. Every per-day figure for this SKU depends on reading that correctly.

The record: DSLD 307628 servingsPerContainer 60; jarrow.com product page, 2026-07-31

Finding 3 certification-marks-not-confirmable-at-the-issuer-register

IPRO and IGEN are the marks claimed. The issuer's per-SKU registers were down (HTTP 500 and 404), so neither could be confirmed current for this SKU. Not the brand's fault, and not verified either.

The record: nutrasource.ca/certified-products HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products 404, 2026-07-31

Finding 4 amazon-price-and-availability-unresolved

No price element in the fetched Amazon HTML and "Currently unavailable" in the DOM. The published cost per day comes from jarrow.com and must not be quoted as an Amazon price.

The record: amazon.com/dp/B0013OUKTS fetched HTTP 200, 2026-07-31

Finding 5 nomenclature-partially-updated-across-the-line

The 25-billion sibling's record carries post-2020 Zheng et al. nomenclature (Lacticaseibacillus, Lactiplantibacillus) while the 10-billion records still carry legacy Lactobacillus forms. The panel has been updated in one place and not the other.

The record: DSLD 307632 versus DSLD 307628, compared 2026-07-31

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource) status
The per-SKU register at nutrasource.ca/certified-products returned HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products returned 404, so per-SKU currency could not be confirmed. The issuer's own newsroom does confirm line-level certification: nutrasource.ca, 22 June 2020, "the Jarrow Probiotic line is now certified through the International Probiotic Testing Standards (IPRO)", naming the Jarro-Dophilus line explicitly. Recorded as issuer-confirmed at line level in 2020 with per-SKU currency unverified — not "verified" for the 2026 SKU, and explicitly not "does not hold it". Worth noting what IPRO is: a content and label-claim certification specific to probiotics, verifying identity, CFU count and stability. That is the category of certification a probiotic buyer actually needs, unlike a gluten-free or workplace mark.
IGEN Non-GMO Tested status
Same issuer, same register outage. Brand-asserted, unverified.
A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
How the 10 billion CFU is split across the eight organisms
Not disclosed. One 131 mg proprietary blend covers all eight, so any single strain could be a token inclusion. The consequence is specific: all eight strains have human trials, those trials used particular doses, and this label does not disclose the dose of any individual strain — so "clinically studied strains" cannot be converted into "a clinically studied dose".
Amazon's current price and availability for B0013OUKTS
The ASIN page was fetched directly (HTTP 200, 2.49 MB, no CAPTCHA) and product identity, UPC and model number were readable, but no price element was present in the HTML and "Currently unavailable" appears in the DOM. The cost per day published here is computed from the brand's own price.
Per-SKU currency of the IPRO and IGEN marks
The issuer's per-SKU registers returned HTTP 500 and 404. See the certification detail.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-10-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-capshttps://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-10-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-caps — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Eight organisms, eight strain designators, and eight of eight with at least one human randomised trial under the exact code on the label. That is the best strain-traceability in its batch, and the R-series codes are traceable further still — the label names Lallemand Health Solutions as the manufacturer, so the provenance of each strain is checkable rather than assertable.

Then read the panel again and notice what is missing. All ten billion CFU sits inside one line: “Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 131 mg.” No organism has a dose. Every one of those trials used a particular quantity of a particular strain, and this label does not tell you the quantity of any of them. So “eight clinically studied strains” is true at the level of strain identity and cannot be converted into “a clinically studied dose”. That is the shape of the transparency problem in this tier: named strains, hidden doses — a real step up from species-only labelling, and still not enough to answer the question a buyer is actually asking.

The rest of the label is unusually well behaved. The CFU guarantee is at-expiry and stated in the brand’s own words. Allergens are disclosed plainly. The blister packing and enteric coating come with a stated rationale rather than a slogan. And the certification claimed, IPRO, is one of the few in this whole audit that is about probiotics — it verifies identity, CFU count and stability, unlike a gluten-free mark or a facility registration. The issuer’s per-SKU register was down when checked (HTTP 500 and 404), so what can be said is narrower than the badge: the issuer’s own newsroom confirms the Jarro-Dophilus line was certified in 2020, and current per-SKU status is unverified. Not confirmed, not refuted.

Two practical notes. The bottle says 120 Ct and the serving is two capsules, so it is a 60-day supply. And Jarrow sells six women’s-specific probiotic SKUs and zero men’s across a 102-product catalogue, while marketing this one, in its own words, as “probiotics for women and men”.