One product, one panel, one record.
Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS 25 Billion CFU, Enteric-Coated Veggie Caps — label audit
Same eight strains as the brand's 10-billion SKU, same undisclosed ratios, and — unusually for a "high potency" line item — a better price per billion CFU than the cheaper product it sits beside.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
76.7 out of 100
Rank 39 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 76.7 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 8 of 8 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 8 / 8 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 8 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 8 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 8 of 8 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 8 / 8 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.6600 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.7674. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 76.7 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 413 mg (25 Billion CFU) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 8 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
The same Live Probiotic Guarantee as the 10-billion SKU: "CFU counts are guaranteed within best used before date." Room-temperature stable, blister-packed, EnteroGuard enteric coating.
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus | R0011 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus helveticus | R0052 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Pediococcus acidilactici | R1001 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lacticaseibacillus casei | R0215 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium longum | BB536 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactiplantibacillus plantarum | R1012 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium breve | R0070 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis | R1058 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact-phrase designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 307632 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market. UPC cross-check passed — DSLD upcSku 7 90011 03040 9 matches jarrow.com's JSON-LD gtin12 790011030409 on the "30ct" offer, sku JEPSHP. Panel reads "Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 413 mg (25 Billion CFU)" with the same eight organisms as the 10-billion SKU, carrying post-2020 Zheng et al. nomenclature. Contains milk and soy in trace amounts, disclosed.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — jarrow-jepshp-2026-07-31https://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-25-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-caps — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200. Source for price ($39.99 for 30 ct, $76.99 for 60 ct) and for the Live Probiotic Guarantee wording.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 8 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.33 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $39.99 USD
- What that buys
- 30 veggie capsules, 1 capsule once daily, 30 servings per container. A 60-count pack (sku JEPSHP60) lists at $76.99.
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://jarrow.com/products/jarro-dophilus-eps-25-billion-cfu-enteric-coated-veggie-caps — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource) | Register unreachable | 31 July 2026 |
| IGEN Non-GMO Tested | Register unreachable | 31 July 2026 |
IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource)
The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.
Line-level certification is confirmed at the issuer: nutrasource.ca, 22 June 2020, "the Jarrow Probiotic line is now certified through the International Probiotic Testing Standards (IPRO)", naming the Jarro-Dophilus line explicitly. Per-SKU currency could not be confirmed — nutrasource.ca/ certified-products returned HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products returned 404. Recorded as issuer-confirmed at line level in 2020, per-SKU currency unverified. IPRO is a content and label-claim certification specific to probiotics, verifying identity, CFU count and stability.
IGEN Non-GMO Tested
The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.
Same issuer, same register outage. Brand-asserted, unverified.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 proprietary-blend-hides-eight-organism-doses
413 mg and 25 billion CFU across eight organisms, with no per-strain allocation printed.
The record: DSLD 307632 Supplement Facts transcription, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 2 eight-clinically-studied-strains-is-a-strain-identity-claim-not-a-dose-claim
All eight designators are real and all eight map to at least one human RCT, so the claim is defensible at the level of identity. The doses those trials used are not disclosed here, so clinical equivalence is not established by it.
The record: jarrow.com product page copy against DSLD 307632 panel, 2026-07-31
Finding 3 certification-marks-not-confirmable-at-the-issuer-register
IPRO and IGEN are claimed; the issuer's per-SKU registers returned HTTP 500 and 404, so neither could be confirmed current for this SKU.
The record: nutrasource.ca/certified-products HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products 404, 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- IPRO (International Probiotic Testing Standards, SGS Nutrasource) status
- Line-level certification is confirmed at the issuer: nutrasource.ca, 22 June 2020, "the Jarrow Probiotic line is now certified through the International Probiotic Testing Standards (IPRO)", naming the Jarro-Dophilus line explicitly. Per-SKU currency could not be confirmed — nutrasource.ca/ certified-products returned HTTP 500 and igenprogram.com/certified-products returned 404. Recorded as issuer-confirmed at line level in 2020, per-SKU currency unverified. IPRO is a content and label-claim certification specific to probiotics, verifying identity, CFU count and stability.
- IGEN Non-GMO Tested status
- Same issuer, same register outage. Brand-asserted, unverified.
- A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
- The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
- How the 25 billion CFU is split across the eight organisms
- Not disclosed. The 25-billion and 10-billion SKUs differ only in blend mass — 413 mg against 131 mg — and total CFU. The same eight strains, with the same ratios undisclosed in both.
- Whether any strain is present at its studied dose
- All eight strains have human trials under the exact code on the label, but those trials used particular doses and this label discloses none of them. "8 clinically studied strains" is true at the level of strain identity and cannot be converted into clinical equivalence.
- Per-SKU currency of the IPRO and IGEN marks
- The issuer's per-SKU registers returned HTTP 500 and 404. See the certification detail.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
This is the same formula as Jarrow’s 10-billion SKU with more of it in the capsule. Identical eight organisms, identical designators, and a blend that has grown from 131 mg to 413 mg. All eight strains map to at least one human randomised trial under the exact code printed on the label, which is the best strain-traceability in its batch.
The comparison worth making runs inside a single brand and a single formula, so nothing else can confound it. The 10-billion SKU costs $0.77 a day for 10 billion CFU. This one costs $1.33 a day for 25 billion. Per billion CFU per day that is $0.077 against $0.053 — the higher-potency product is the better buy, which is the reverse of the usual pattern where the “high potency” line item carries the markup. Worth stating plainly on a site whose readers are being sold CFU counts as if they were a quality metric.
What neither SKU tells you is how the total is split. Eight organisms, one number. The ratios are undisclosed in both, so the only thing the extra 282 mg of blend mass proves is that there is more blend.
The rest reads well: at-expiry CFU basis in the brand’s own words, single-capsule dosing, blister packing with enteric coating, allergens disclosed, and a probiotic-specific third-party certification — IPRO, which verifies identity, CFU count and stability rather than gluten or facility process. That last one comes with a narrower claim than the badge implies: the issuer’s per-SKU register was unreachable, so what is confirmed is line-level certification in 2020, not current status for this SKU.