One product, one panel, one record.
Just Thrive Probiotic & Antioxidant — label audit
"Clinical study showed that Just Thrive Probiotic addressed leaky gut in participants within just 30 days." The study tested MegaSporeBiotic — a different company's five-strain product containing Bacillus licheniformis, which Just Thrive does not sell — at 4 billion spores across two capsules a day, funded by a grant from a different company, with fifteen people in the probiotic arm.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- D₂₇ founding teardown One of the 27 products taken apart at label level. That cohort is frozen and dated, so the audit’s published percentages cannot silently move.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
36.4 out of 100
Rank 107 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 1 other product — 2 products sit on 36.4 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 4 of 4 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 4 / 4 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 4 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "none-stated": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated no, basis reaches expiry no — 1 of 3. | 1 / 3 = 0.3333 | 0.073333 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 0 of 4 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 0 / 4 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.313333 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.3643. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 36.4 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 3 Billion Cells (Proprietary Probiotic Blend, 175 mg) |
| What that count is measured against | No basis stated |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 4 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
The panel prints "3 Billion Cells" — note the unit is cells, not CFU — with no at-manufacture or through-expiry qualifier anywhere.
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
A CFU number appears with no temporal basis of any kind. A count with no basis is not a quantity; there is no date at which it is claimed to be true.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bacillus indicus | HU36 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "Bacillus indicus" AND randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bacillus clausii | SC-109 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "SC-208" OR "SC-109" |
| Bacillus subtilis | HU58 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "Bacillus subtilis HU58" |
| Bacillus coagulans | SC-208 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "SC-208" OR "SC-109" |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — Pro30-suppfacts-latesthttps://justthrivehealth.com/cdn/shop/files/Pro30-suppfacts-latest.png — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own Supplement Facts image, at a native 350 by 575 pixels — the lowest-resolution label asset in this research, legible only after four-times upscaling.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 201373 (opens in a new tab) captured Entered 2019-04-25, on-market, carrying no UPC. The archived label: a 500 mg Proprietary Probiotic Blend with the note "3 billion cells", the same four strains, and directions extending to children above the age of three. Also the record classifying the brand's seals as general marketing content.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.67 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $49.99 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule per serving)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://justthrivehealth.com/products/probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| "VERIFIED SURVIVES GASTRIC" / "VERIFIED DNA CHECKED" | Not checked | not checked |
| "GMP Certified locations" | Not checked | not checked |
| "Pharmaceutical grade" | Not checked | not checked |
"VERIFIED SURVIVES GASTRIC" / "VERIFIED DNA CHECKED"
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
Two seals printed on the label naming no certifier. The NIH label database classifies both, along with "1000x better survivability" and "Pharmaceutical grade", under General Statements: All Other Content — i.e. the government's own label database files these as marketing copy rather than as certifications.
"GMP Certified locations"
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
Presented on the page as proof that "what's on the label is exactly what's in the bottle". A facility registration is not a product assay, and cGMP is a legal baseline under 21 CFR Part 111.
"Pharmaceutical grade"
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
A term with no regulatory meaning for a dietary supplement.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 clinically-proven-on-a-different-companys-product
The product page says "Clinical study showed that Just Thrive Probiotic addressed leaky gut in participants within just 30 days" and "Clinically-proven to address Leaky Gut in just 30 days". The linked study's methods name the product tested, verbatim: "Megasporebiotic; Physicians Exclusive, LLC; Glenview, IL, United States", containing 4 billion spores from five strains including Bacillus licheniformis — which Just Thrive does not sell — taken as 2 capsules a day. Just Thrive is four strains at 3 billion cells in 1 capsule. The acknowledgments read: "funded in part by a competitive research grant from Microbiome Labs, LLC (Glenview, IL) to the University of North Texas." The brand's own blog headline hedges correctly — "with the Strains Used in Just Thrive Probiotic" — but the product page does not hedge at all.
The record: PMC5561432 · PMID 28868181 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 2 efficacy-arm-was-fifteen-people
The blog describes the study as "Conducted at the University of North Texas on nearly 100 people". The paper screened 80 subjects and enrolled 25 responders; the final groups were placebo n=13 and probiotic n=15. "Nearly 100" describes the screening funnel, not the trial. The paper itself reports three different Ns (25 enrolled, 26 randomised, and 13 plus 15 in Table 1), which is the journal's problem rather than the brand's, but it further weakens the citation.
The record: PMC5561432 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 3 placebo-figure-misreported
The blog says "those who got the placebo worsened by 32%". The paper says placebo subjects presented with a 36% increase in endotoxin.
The record: PMC5561432 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 4 adverse-events-reframed-as-die-off
From the FAQ: "Some people do experience bacterial die-off reactions… Temporary cold/flu-like feelings, gas/bloating, constipation/diarrhea, headaches, skin eruptions, irritability." This is not a claim about efficacy at all — it is a mechanism for reinterpreting adverse events as confirmation that the product is working. There is no clinical support for die-off as a probiotic phenomenon, and the passage's practical function is retention: a consumer experiencing headaches, skin eruptions and gastrointestinal upset is told these are signs of die-off and advised to lower the dose rather than stop.
The record: justthrivehealth.com FAQ, verified verbatim live 2026-07-30 — open ithttps://justthrivehealth.com/products/probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 5 survivability-silently-escalated-to-effectiveness
"1000x better survivability" becomes, elsewhere on the same page, "studies have proven Just Thrive Probiotic arrives in your gut 100% alive, making it 1000x more effective than leading brands." Survivability and effectiveness are different claims and the second does not follow from the first.
The record: justthrivehealth.com product page, both strings verified live 2026-07-30
Finding 6 proprietary-blend-despite-full-designators
Four of four strains carry designators — genuinely good, and matched by 14 of the 27 founding teardowns — and it is nonetheless a proprietary blend: 175 mg and 3 billion cells in total, with no per-strain quantity for any of the four. You know exactly which organisms are in the capsule and nothing about how much of each.
The record: Brand label image, read at 4x upscale 2026-07-30
Finding 7 blend-mass-cut-sixty-five-percent
The government record from 2019 gives a 500 mg Proprietary Probiotic Blend; the current label gives 175 mg — a 65% reduction with the same four strains and the same stated 3 billion cells. Without per-strain amounts at either date the delivered dose cannot be compared, which is precisely what a proprietary blend is for.
The record: DSLD 201373 versus the current label — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 9 self-certification-styled-as-third-party-seals
"VERIFIED SURVIVES GASTRIC" and "VERIFIED DNA CHECKED" are printed on the label and name no certifier. The government label database itself files them, along with "1000x better survivability" and "Pharmaceutical grade", under General Statements: All Other Content — i.e. as marketing copy.
The record: DSLD 201373 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 10 lowest-resolution-label-asset-in-the-project
The Supplement Facts image is 350 by 575 pixels — the smallest label asset encountered anywhere in this research, legible only after four-times upscaling. It also carries a typo: "hydroxpropyl methylcellulose", missing a letter.
The record: https://justthrivehealth.com/cdn/shop/files/Pro30-suppfacts-latest.png
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- "VERIFIED SURVIVES GASTRIC" / "VERIFIED DNA CHECKED" status
- Two seals printed on the label naming no certifier. The NIH label database classifies both, along with "1000x better survivability" and "Pharmaceutical grade", under General Statements: All Other Content — i.e. the government's own label database files these as marketing copy rather than as certifications.
- "GMP Certified locations" status
- Presented on the page as proof that "what's on the label is exactly what's in the bottle". A facility registration is not a product assay, and cGMP is a legal baseline under 21 CFR Part 111.
- "Pharmaceutical grade" status
- A term with no regulatory meaning for a dietary supplement.
- Any support for the survivability claims
- "1000x better survivability vs. yogurt, greek yogurt & leading probiotics" and "guaranteed to arrive 100% alive in your gut" are stated with no source cited on the page. The first also appears in the government label record as label copy.
- What happened to the delivered dose when the blend mass fell
- The blend fell from 500 mg to 175 mg across label generations with the same four strains and, per the government records, the same stated 3 billion cells. Without per-strain amounts at either date it is impossible to say what happened to the delivered dose. A mass reduction is not automatically a potency reduction, because carrier and excipient ratios change. The finding is that the label makes the question unanswerable.
- The potency basis
- Neither at manufacture nor at expiry is stated anywhere.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Follow the “View Study Here” link and read the methods section.
“‘Responder’ subjects were randomized to either a placebo (rice flour) or spore-based probiotic (Megasporebiotic; Physicians Exclusive, LLC; Glenview, IL, United States) condition. The spore-based probiotic included 4 billion spores from gram-positive, spore-forming strains [Bacillus indicus (HU36), Bacillus subtilis (HU58), Bacillus coagulans, and Bacillus licheniformis, Bacillus clausii]. Subjects were instructed to consume 2 capsules each day.”
And the acknowledgments:
“The present study was funded in part by a competitive research grant from Microbiome Labs, LLC (Glenview, IL) to the University of North Texas.”
The product page says: “Clinical study showed that Just Thrive® Probiotic addressed leaky gut in participants within just 30 days” and “Clinically-proven to address Leaky Gut.”
| The study's product | Just Thrive as sold | |
|---|---|---|
| Product | MegaSporeBiotic (Physicians Exclusive / Microbiome Labs) | Just Thrive Probiotic |
| Strains | 5 | 4 |
| B. licheniformis | present | absent |
| Dose | 4 billion spores | 3 billion cells |
| Capsules/day | 2 | 1 |
The brand’s own blog headline hedges correctly — “with the Strains Used in Just Thrive Probiotic”. The product page drops the hedge and says “clinically proven”, which is an establishment claim.
The numbers in the retelling drift too. The blog says the study ran on “nearly 100 people”; the paper screened 80 and enrolled 25 responders, with fifteen people in the probiotic arm. The blog says placebo “worsened by 32%”; the paper says 36%.
The passage worth flagging hardest is not a claim about efficacy at all. From the FAQ:
“Some people do experience bacterial die-off reactions … Temporary cold/flu-like feelings, gas/bloating, constipation/diarrhea, headaches, skin eruptions, irritability.”
There is no clinical support for “die-off” as a probiotic phenomenon. What that paragraph does is reinterpret adverse events as confirmation the product is working, and advise lowering the dose rather than stopping. Its practical function is retention.
One correction this page carries because it ran against the product. The original teardown said the archived 2019 label “carried no potency count at all” and that “3 Billion Cells” was a later addition. The government record it cited says otherwise: 3 billion cells, in 2019. The corrected finding is stronger, not weaker — the blend mass fell 65%, from 500 mg to 175 mg, while the stated cell count stayed fixed at 3 billion. Without per-strain amounts at either date, nobody outside the company can say what happened to the delivered dose. That is what a proprietary blend is for.
In fairness: four of four strains carry designators. So do 14 of the 27 founding teardowns, which puts this product at the median of that cohort rather than above it. The product is genuinely shelf-stable. And the subscription is mild — an 11% discount with swap, skip or cancel anytime and a self-service portal.