One product, one panel, one record.

Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 200 Billion, 7 stick packs (RN1550041) — label audit

The same brand, the same "Extra Care" product family and the same panel designer prints UF- strain codes on its 50 Billion SKU and the phrase "(5 diverse strains)" here. "Diverse" is not a strain identifier and carries no information at all. The capability exists; the disclosure is a per-SKU choice.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

36.5 out of 100

Rank 106 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 36.5 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 7 of 20 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 7 / 20 = 0.3500 0.0840
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 20 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 20 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 1 of 20 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 1 / 20 = 0.0500 0.0100
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.3140 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.3651. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 36.5 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 200 Billion, 7 stick packs (RN1550041) discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 200 Billion CFU (120 billion Bifido, 80 billion Lacto and Streptococcus)
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators None — species only
Organism slots transcribed here 20 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 243624

"At Expiration Date under recommended storage conditions. Store in a cool, dry place. Refrigeration not required." Note that unlike the brand's 50 Billion SKU, this panel says "Probiotic Cultures" only — no "& Postbiotic" and no inanimate-organism footnote — so the 200 billion reads as a straight viable count.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.

Every organism named on the panel of Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 200 Billion, 7 stick packs (RN1550041), in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Bifidobacterium lactis (5 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium infantis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium bifidum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium longum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium breve — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus plantarum (2 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactococcus lactis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus fermentum (2 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG — not stated separately Human RCT
Lactobacillus acidophilus (2 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus casei (2 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus gasseri — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus paracasei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus reuteri — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus rhamnosus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus brevis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus helveticus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus salivarius — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Streptococcus thermophilus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus bulgaricus (2 diverse strains) — not stated separately No designator printed
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 243624 (opens in a new tab) captured UPC cross-check passed — DSLD 6 31257 15859 8 matches the live barcode 631257158598, net contents agree at 7 packets and 24.5 g, and serving size agrees at 3.5 g. Duplicate entry 247402. This SKU is confirmed against the government label database, which is more than most products in this research manage.
  • Photograph of the printed panelRN1550041_AMAZONIMAGES-02.jpghttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-200-billion-7-stick-packs-rn1550041 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own current label art, copyright 2025 RenewLife, read from the product page's Full Supplement Facts modal. The strain count was counted from the panel and the brand's claim of 29 is correct.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$4.76 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$33.32 USD
What that buys
7 stick packs of 3.5 g (7 servings, 1 packet daily) — a 7-day intensive course, not a maintenance product
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-200-billion-7-stick-packs-rn1550041 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 200 Billion, 7 stick packs (RN1550041), each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Any third-party certification Not checked 31 July 2026

Any third-party certification

We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.

None claimed. Free-of gluten, dairy and soy is stated; no external mark appears anywhere. Issuer registers were unreachable in any case (Non-GMO Project 404, USP 403, NSF 403), so this is recorded as not claimed rather than refuted.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 diverse-strains-is-a-non-disclosure-dressed-as-a-disclosure

The regression is what makes it a finding. The brand's own 50 Billion Extra Care panel prints a UF- code for every one of 31 strains; this panel, in the same family, prints "(5 diverse strains)". One of 29 strains here carries a real designator.

The record: Panel image RN1550041_AMAZONIMAGES-02.jpg versus RN1550148_REV_20D_THUMBNAILS-04.jpg

Finding 2 two-thousand-milligrams-of-fos-per-packet

FOS is a fermentable prebiotic and a well-known trigger for gas and bloating at dose, in a product sold for digestive upset. It is 3.3 times the weight of the entire probiotic blend — 2,000 mg against 610 mg.

The record: Panel image RN1550041_AMAZONIMAGES-02.jpg, transcribed 2026-07-31

Finding 3 most-expensive-per-day-in-its-batch-by-four-times

$4.76 a day. The "200 billion" framing carries the price and the page cites no evidence that 200 billion outperforms the brand's own 50 billion.

The record: renewlife.com RN1550041, $33.32 over 7 servings, 2026-07-31

Finding 4 most-studied-strain-footnote-frozen-at-january-2022

The same stale GG footnote as the brand's other SKUs, presented in the present tense in 2026.

The record: renewlife.com RN1550041, footnote verbatim

Finding 5 pre-2020-nomenclature-throughout

Every reassigned organism still carries the legacy Lactobacillus genus.

The record: PMID 32293557 — open it (opens in a new tab)

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

Any third-party certification status
None claimed. Free-of gluten, dairy and soy is stated; no external mark appears anywhere. Issuer registers were unreachable in any case (Non-GMO Project 404, USP 403, NSF 403), so this is recorded as not claimed rather than refuted.
The identity of 28 of the 29 strains
The panel replaces designators with the word "diverse". There is nothing to look up.
Per-strain CFU
A two-tier split of 120 billion and 80 billion, and nothing finer, across 29 organisms.
Whether 200 billion outperforms 50 billion
No evidence is cited on the page for the proposition, and the CFU figure is what carries the price.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-200-billion-7-stick-packs-rn1550041https://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-200-billion-7-stick-packs-rn1550041 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Renew Life prints a strain code for every organism on its Extra Care 50 Billion. On this product — same brand, same “Extra Care” name, same panel designer — the codes are gone and the panel reads Bifidobacterium lactis (5 diverse strains).

“Diverse” is not a strain identifier. It carries no information whatsoever. The count is honest — I counted 29 on the panel and the page claims 29 — but 28 of those 29 are species-level or worse. Only L. rhamnosus GG is named, and its dose is unknowable inside an 80-billion bucket shared with nineteen other organisms.

Two things this label does better than its sibling. It calls its total “Probiotic Cultures” with no postbiotic hedge and no inanimate-organism footnote, so the 200 billion reads as a straight viable count at expiry. And its UPC matches a government label record exactly — net contents, serving size and all — which is more independent verification than most products in this research have.

Two things to weigh against that. Each packet carries 2,000 mg of FOS, a fermentable fibre with a well-known gas-and-bloating dose response, in a product sold for digestive upset — and that is 3.3 times the weight of the entire probiotic blend. And at $4.76 a day it is far and away the most expensive thing in its batch. That is defensible for a seven-day intensive course rather than a daily habit, which is how the brand frames it, but nothing on the page argues that 200 billion does more than the brand’s own 50 billion.