One product, one panel, one record.

Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 100 Billion — label audit

The $39.15 SKU contains fewer strains and half the prebiotic fibre of the same brand's $23.59 SKU — 27 against 31 strains, 100 mg against 200 mg — while both pages sell strain diversity as the reason to buy. Twenty-six of its 27 designators return zero PubMed records.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
How deep this went
Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

54.3 out of 100

Rank 86 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 1 other product — 2 products sit on 54.3 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 54.3 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 27 of 27 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 27 / 27 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 27 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 27 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 1 of 27 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 1 / 27 = 0.0370 0.007407
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.467407 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5435. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 54.3 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 100 Billion discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures — 100 Billion CFU¹
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 27 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 250915

Panel, verbatim: "Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures — 100 Billion CFU¹" and "Quality, purity and potency guaranteed through expiration.¹" Footnote ¹, verbatim: "At Expiration Date under recommended storage conditions. Store in a cool, dry place. Best if refrigerated. Provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms". The basis is at expiry and it is stated plainly — the same credit and the same defect as its 30 Billion sibling. A live-only unit is being used to report a total that admits to including inanimate organisms, with no disclosed split. Note also the storage divergence: this SKU says "Best if refrigerated" while its sibling says "Refrigeration not required" — same capsule technology, same brand, same line, opposite advice in the fine print, with the higher-CFU product the one that wants a fridge. And the page's own FAQ concedes the underlying point, verbatim: "Though CFU count isn't the only indicator of a probiotic's potency or efficacy, a higher CFU count generally means a more potent probiotic, provided it's manufactured in a way that ensures that the colony-forming units rem[ain]…" — on the page whose entire premium rests on CFU count.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 100 Billion, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Bifidobacterium lactis UF-12 — not stated separately No records "UF-12"[All Fields] AND Bifidobacterium[All Fields] → 0; "UF-12"[All Fields] → 0; "UF12"[All Fields] → 0
Bifidobacterium lactis UF-50 — not stated separately No records "UF-50"[All Fields] AND Bifidobacterium[All Fields] → 0; "UF-50"[All Fields] → 9, all unrelated
Bifidobacterium lactis UF-26 — not stated separately No records "UF-26"[All Fields] AND Bifidobacterium[All Fields] → 0; "UF-26"[All Fields] → 0
Bifidobacterium breve UF-3 — not stated separately No records "UF-3"[All Fields] AND Bifidobacterium breve[All Fields] → 0; "UF-3"[All Fields] → 53, all unrelated
Bifidobacterium longum UF-536 — not stated separately No records "UF-536"[All Fields] → 0; UF-536 OR UF536 → 0
Bifidobacterium bifidum UF-910 — not stated separately No records "UF-910"[All Fields] → 0; UF-910 OR UF910 → 0
Bifidobacterium infantis UF-019 — not stated separately No records "UF-019"[All Fields] → 0; UF-019 OR UF019 OR UF-19 → 6, all unrelated
Lactobacillus plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) UF-217 — not stated separately No records "UF-217"[All Fields] → 0; UF-217 OR UF217 → 0
Lactobacillus plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) UF-987 — not stated separately No records "UF-987"[All Fields] → 0; UF-987 OR UF987 → 0
Lactobacillus plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) UF-115 — not stated separately No records "UF-115"[All Fields] → 0; UF-115 OR UF115 → 0
Lactococcus lactis UF-23 — not stated separately No records "UF-23"[All Fields] AND Lactococcus[All Fields] → 0; "UF-23"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus rhamnosus (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus) GG — not stated separately Human RCT "Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus GG"[All Fields] OR "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG"[All Fields] → 1714; the same OR "ATCC 53103"[All Fields] AND randomized controlled trial[Publication Type] → 191; "ATCC 53103"[All Fields] → 170
Lactobacillus rhamnosus (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus) UF-11 — not stated separately No records "UF-11"[All Fields] AND rhamnosus[All Fields] → 0; "UF-11"[All Fields] → 1, unrelated
Lactobacillus fermentum (correct name: Limosilactobacillus fermentum) UF-120 — not stated separately No records "UF-120"[All Fields] AND fermentum[All Fields] → 0; "UF-120"[All Fields] → 1, unrelated
Lactobacillus fermentum (correct name: Limosilactobacillus fermentum) UF-226 — not stated separately No records "UF-226"[All Fields] → 0; UF-226 OR UF226 → 0
Lactobacillus casei (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus casei) UF-431 — not stated separately No records "UF-431"[All Fields] → 0; UF-431 OR UF431 → 0
Lactobacillus casei (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus casei) UF-121 — not stated separately No records "UF-121"[All Fields] AND casei[All Fields] → 0; "UF-121"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus acidophilus UF-5 — not stated separately No records "UF-5"[All Fields] AND Lactobacillus acidophilus[All Fields] → 0; "UF-5"[All Fields] → 20, all unrelated
Lactobacillus gasseri UF-2055 — not stated separately No records "UF-2055"[All Fields] → 0; UF-2055 OR UF2055 → 0
Lactobacillus reuteri (correct name: Limosilactobacillus reuteri) UF-14 — not stated separately No records "UF-14"[All Fields] AND reuteri[All Fields] → 0; "UF-14"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus paracasei (correct name: Lacticaseibacillus paracasei) UF-19 — not stated separately No records "UF-19"[All Fields] AND paracasei[All Fields] → 0; "UF-19"[All Fields] → 6, all unrelated
Streptococcus thermophilus UF-336 — not stated separately No records "UF-336"[All Fields] AND thermophilus[All Fields] → 0; "UF-336"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus helveticus UF-142 — not stated separately No records "UF-142"[All Fields] AND helveticus[All Fields] → 0; "UF-142"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus brevis (correct name: Levilactobacillus brevis) UF-35 — not stated separately No records "UF-35"[All Fields] AND brevis[All Fields] → 0; "UF-35"[All Fields] → 0
Lactobacillus salivarius (correct name: Ligilactobacillus salivarius) UF-862 — not stated separately No records "UF-862"[All Fields] → 0; UF-862 OR UF862 → 0
Lactobacillus bulgaricus UF-563 — not stated separately No records "UF-563"[All Fields] → 0; UF-563 OR UF563 → 0
Lactobacillus bulgaricus UF-165 — not stated separately No records "UF-165"[All Fields] → 1, unrelated
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Photograph of the printed panelRN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg captured The current Supplement Facts panel, published by the brand only as a product JPEG, downloaded at 2000 to 2400 px and transcribed by eye. Ultimate Flora™ Extra Care 100 Billion Blend, 180 mg, with Bifidobacterium subtotal 60 billion CFU and Lactobacillus/Lactococcus/Streptococcus subtotal 40 billion CFU across 27 designators; Organic Prebiotic Fiber 100 mg (Organic Acacia Fiber, Organic Rice Fiber, Organic Rice Extract Blend); other ingredients Non-GMO Vegan Capsule (Delayed Release) (Cellulose, Gellan Gum), with no MCT and no silica, unlike the 30 Billion sibling. The strain count checks out: 7 Bifido plus 20 Lacto/Lactococcus/Streptococcus is 27, matching the claimed "27 diverse strains".
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagerenew-life-rn1550162-2026-07-31https://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-100-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550162 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200, fetched directly. renewlife.com is Shopify and fully open, so /products/<handle>.js gave the SKU RN1550162, the barcode 631257121035 and the prices. This capture is also the source of the FAQ line conceding that CFU count is not the only indicator, the postbiotic definition, the "compared to lactobacillus-dominant competitors" claim, and the zero counts for NSF, USP, Informed, cGMP, GMP, Certified, tested, third-party and "Non-GMO Project Verified".
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 250915 (opens in a new tab) captured NIH label record for this lineage under its previous name, "Ultimate Flora Ultimate Care Probiotic 100 Billion" — superseded, and the record that documents what this SKU used to contain: BI-04, HN019, Bi-26, Bi-07, Lp-115, GG, Ll-23, Lc-11, Lpc-37, La-14, NCFM and Lbr-35. It also carries the legacy claim set verbatim ("we use more clinically studied strains than the leading brand", "#1 Most studied strain", "L. rhamnosus GG strain, PubMed Clinical Trials", "A formula containing world-class strains backed by science") and a Seals/Symbols statement reading "Non GMO project / Verified / nongmoproject.org". It is published here as a historical record and is explicitly not this product's current panel.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.31 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$39.15 USD
What that buys
30-capsule bottle, 1 capsule daily, 30 servings ($39.15 ÷ 30 = $1.305); $35.24 on the brand's own 10% Subscribe & Save, or $1.17 a day. Measured per billion, that is $0.39 per billion CFU per day against $2.62 for the brand's 30 Billion SKU — the 100 Billion is 3.3 times cheaper per CFU, which matters only if CFU count is the right thing to buy, and this product's own footnote is the reason to doubt that it is.
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-100-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550162 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 100 Billion, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Non-GMO Project Verified Register unreachable 31 July 2026

Non-GMO Project Verified

The certifier’s register could not be queried at all. That is a finding about the verification infrastructure, not about the brand.

Not currently claimed on this product's page — a count of "Non-GMO Project Verified" on the live page returns 0, against 1 on the brand's 30 Billion page — but historically claimed for this lineage: the superseded record DSLD 250915 explicitly logged a Seals/Symbols statement reading "Non GMO project / Verified / nongmoproject.org". Either the butterfly was dropped in reformulation or the page is incomplete. Either way it is unverifiable at the issuer: nongmoproject.org/find-by-product/ returns HTTP 404, /find-non-gmo/ is a JavaScript shell, and the WordPress REST API exposes no product post type. Beyond this, the live page was scanned for NSF, USP, Informed, cGMP, GMP, Certified, tested and third-party and every one returned zero hits. No third-party contents certification is asserted for this product.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Compared against Renew Life Ultimate Flora Women's Complete 90 Billion (RN1550146). Diffed .

What the two panels differ by

  • This SKU has no women's counterpart of its own. The brand's gendered pair sits in the Complete line at 90 billion — Men's Complete 90 Billion (RN1550161, barcode 631257121578) and Women's Complete 90 Billion (RN1550146, barcode 631257121004) — both priced identically at $45.82. renewlife.com product pages and Supplement Facts panels for RN1550161 and RN1550146, both transcribed 2026-07-31
  • The women's SKU is differentiated with genuinely urogenital organisms — L. crispatus UF-88 and L. jensenii UF-522, canonical vaginal Lactobacillus species, plus L. rhamnosus UF-V1 and L. reuteri UF-pH4, codes that read as site-targeted — and is positioned "Supports vaginal, digestive & immune health". Panels for RN1550146 and RN1550161 transcribed 2026-07-31; ("Lactobacillus crispatus") AND randomized controlled trial[pt] → 46 and ("Lactobacillus jensenii") AND randomized controlled trial[pt] → 2, while UF-88, UF-522, UF-V1 and UF-pH4 each return 0, queried hyphenated and unhyphenated
  • The men's SKU is differentiated with nothing male-specific at all — no prostate ingredient, no urinary ingredient, no androgen-related ingredient, no male-associated organism. Its 31 strains are the identical roster to the brand's $23.59 unisex Extra Care 30 Billion, at three times the CFU for $45.82. Panel for RN1550161 transcribed against the Extra Care 30 Billion panel RN1530081_REV_20E_20THUMBNAILS_NewLook-02.jpg, both 2026-07-31

What is identical across the pair

  • Both gendered SKUs carry an identical 160 mg prebiotic of Organic Acacia and Organic Oat Hull
  • Both gendered SKUs are priced identically at $45.82

renewlife.com panels for RN1550162, RN1550161, RN1550146 and RN1530081, all transcribed 2026-07-31

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 the-premium-sku-has-fewer-strains-and-half-the-prebiotic-fibre

The $39.15 product carries 27 strains and 100 mg of prebiotic fibre. The brand's $23.59 product carries 31 strains and 200 mg. Specifically, this SKU drops three B. lactis strains (UF-IM04, UF-DG19, UF-07) and one L. acidophilus (UF-01). Every marketing frame on both pages is built on strain diversity — "Multiple Strains, Multiple Benefits", "a broader mix of B's and L's … may offer greater benefits" — and the premium SKU delivers less of exactly that.

The record: Panel images RN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg and RN1530081_REV_20E_20THUMBNAILS_NewLook-02.jpg, both transcribed 2026-07-31

Finding 2 the-clinically-studied-claim-rests-on-strains-no-longer-in-the-product

The previous generation of this exact SKU, DSLD 250915 ("Ultimate Flora Ultimate Care Probiotic 100 Billion", entered 2021-06-23), ran on BI-04, HN019, Bi-26, Bi-07, Lp-115, GG, Ll-23, Lc-11, Lpc-37, La-14, NCFM and Lbr-35 — a roster of published Danisco/IFF strains with real literatures ("Bl-04" OR "Bi-04" OR "BL04" → 76; "HN019" → 111; "NCFM" AND randomized controlled trial[pt] → 35; "Bi-07" OR "Bi07" → 60). It now runs on UF- codes with none. The legacy label's own claim set, transcribed verbatim in that record, includes "we use more clinically studied strains than the leading brand", "#1 Most studied strain" and "A formula containing world-class strains backed by science". Why it matters: PMID 29868585, McFarland LV et al., Front Med 2018;5:124, establishes that probiotic efficacy is strain-specific and disease-specific, so evidence does not transfer across a reformulation.

The record: DSLD 250915 against the current panel image RN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg, plus PMID 29868585, all 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 3 cfu-is-used-to-count-dead-organisms

"Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures — 100 Billion CFU¹", footnoted "Provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms". A colony-forming unit counts organisms capable of forming a colony; inanimate cells cannot. The page's own copy defines postbiotics as "inanimate microorganisms" and then counts them in the total. The intersection is barely studied at all: "postbiotic"[Title/Abstract] AND "colony forming unit*"[Title/Abstract] returns 5 records.

The record: Panel image RN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg footnote and the product page's postbiotic definition, both transcribed 2026-07-31

Finding 4 twenty-six-of-twenty-seven-designators-have-zero-pubmed-records

Every UF- code was queried across two spellings — once with a genus or species guard, once bare and unhyphenated — and all returned zero probiotic records. The non-zero bare-string hits were individually disambiguated and resolve to uranium-fluoride chemistry, virology, German medical law, veterinary cryobiology and steroid pharmacology.

The record: Full query set run against NCBI E-utilities 2026-07-31; disambiguated PMIDs 32388312, 40512972, 40904026, 33439885, 35310876, 26446780, 1814021

Finding 5 the-one-strain-with-a-research-file-cannot-be-shown-to-reach-a-studied-dose

L. rhamnosus GG is 1 of 20 organisms sharing the 40 billion CFU Lactobacillus subtotal, with no per-strain disclosure. $1.31 a day buys 100 billion "probiotic & postbiotic cultures" of which an undisclosed fraction is the only strain with a literature.

The record: Panel subtotals transcribed 2026-07-31; "Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus GG" OR "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG" → 1714, 191 RCT-tagged

Finding 6 storage-advice-contradicts-the-sibling-sku

This panel says "Best if refrigerated"; the brand's 30 Billion panel says "Refrigeration not required". Same capsule technology, same brand, same line, opposite advice — and the higher-CFU product is the one that wants a fridge.

The record: Panel footnotes on RN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg and RN1530081_REV_20E_20THUMBNAILS_NewLook-02.jpg, both 2026-07-31

Finding 7 the-government-record-for-this-sku-is-a-whole-formulation-out-of-date

DSLD 250915, entered 2021-06-23, is five years old and describes the superseded Danisco-era formula under a different product name. Anyone citing it as this product's panel — as several supplement-comparison sites do — is publishing a strain list the product no longer contains.

The record: DSLD 250915 against the current brand panel image, both read 2026-07-31

Finding 8 non-gmo-project-verified-historically-claimed-and-unverifiable

Claimed in the superseded label record's Seals/Symbols statement, not claimed on the current page, and checkable at neither: the issuer's product register returns 404 on one path and a JavaScript shell on the other, with no product post type in its API.

The record: DSLD 250915 Seals/Symbols statement; live page count of "Non-GMO Project Verified" = 0; nongmoproject.org/find-by-product/ → 404 and /wp/v2/types → no product object, all 2026-07-31

Finding 9 nomenclature-is-roughly-six-years-stale

Pre-2020 Lactobacillus names throughout the panel, against the reclassification in PMID 32293557 (Zheng J et al., Int J Syst Evol Microbiol 2020). Legal, and dated.

The record: Panel image RN1550162_C_AMAZONIMAGES_SFB.jpg against PMID 32293557, 2026-07-31

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

Non-GMO Project Verified status
Not currently claimed on this product's page — a count of "Non-GMO Project Verified" on the live page returns 0, against 1 on the brand's 30 Billion page — but historically claimed for this lineage: the superseded record DSLD 250915 explicitly logged a Seals/Symbols statement reading "Non GMO project / Verified / nongmoproject.org". Either the butterfly was dropped in reformulation or the page is incomplete. Either way it is unverifiable at the issuer: nongmoproject.org/find-by-product/ returns HTTP 404, /find-non-gmo/ is a JavaScript shell, and the WordPress REST API exposes no product post type. Beyond this, the live page was scanned for NSF, USP, Informed, cGMP, GMP, Certified, tested and third-party and every one returned zero hits. No third-party contents certification is asserted for this product.
The per-strain CFU for any of the 27 organisms
Not disclosed. The panel gives a 60 billion Bifidobacterium subtotal and a 40 billion Lactobacillus/Lactococcus/Streptococcus subtotal and nothing per organism. Structurally unanswerable rather than a search failure.
What fraction of the "100 Billion CFU" is alive
The line item is "Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures" and the footnote concedes it provides "postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms". The page's own educational copy defines postbiotics as "inanimate microorganisms that result from prebiotics and probiotics" — and then counts them in a colony-forming-unit total. The brand has told the reader, in plain English on the same page, why its headline number is not what they think it is. The live fraction is undisclosed.
What the UF- prefix stands for and who assigns it
A web search summary asserts UF means Ultimate Flora and that these are Renew Life's own proprietary designators. That could not be confirmed at a primary source and is not relied on. What is verified is that UF- is not one of the internationally recognised depositary prefixes and that PubMed returns nothing for any of them.
Non-GMO Project Verified status at the issuer
The register is unreachable — find-by-product returns 404, find-non-gmo is a JavaScript shell, and the WordPress REST API exposes no product post type. The claim is also not currently made on this page, only historically in DSLD 250915. Unverifiable either way, in both directions.
The Amazon rating count and what it attaches to
Reported as 10,264 on the listing, and Amazon renders it client-side so it is not extractable from any snapshot. It is also an ASIN-level rollup: this ASIN has carried at least three different product identities, from "Ultimate Flora Ultimate Care" in the 2022 snapshot to "Probiotic with Prebiotics" now. Treat the count as attached to the ASIN, not to this formula.
The current Amazon listing
The only Internet Archive snapshot on file for the ASIN is dated 2022-07-12 and describes the previous "Ultimate Care" product, and live Amazon returns a robot-check stub. The current listing title was captured via search result metadata only. Nothing on this page's panel depends on it — the panel comes from the brand's own current product JPEG.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-100-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550162https://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-100-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550162 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Pay 66% more and get fewer strains. This is the brand’s premium SKU at $39.15 against $23.59 for its Extra Care 30 Billion. It carries 27 strains against 31, and 100 mg of prebiotic fibre against 200 mg. It drops three B. lactis strains and one L. acidophilus outright. And every marketing frame on both pages is built on strain diversity“Multiple Strains, Multiple Benefits”, “a broader mix of B’s and L’s … may offer greater benefits”. The premium product delivers less of the exact thing both pages are sold on.

What it does get right. The CFU basis is at expiry and it is stated plainly. The 27 designators are strain-level, not a species list. The Bifido and Lacto subtotals are given, and the prebiotic sources are itemised rather than hidden in a blend. No third-party certification is falsely claimed. And the page’s own FAQ concedes the central point in its own words: “Though CFU count isn’t the only indicator of a probiotic’s potency or efficacy…” — on the page whose entire premium rests on CFU count.

Then query the codes. Twenty-six of twenty-seven return nothing. Two spellings each, every non-zero bare-string hit disambiguated one by one and traced to uranium-fluoride chemistry, virology, German medical law, veterinary cryobiology and steroid pharmacology. The exception is L. rhamnosus GG — and it is 1 of 20 organisms inside a 40-billion subtotal with no per-strain disclosure, so $1.31 a day buys an unknowable fraction of the only strain with a research file.

And the headline number counts the dead. “Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures — 100 Billion CFU, footnoted “Provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms.” The page’s own educational copy defines postbiotics as “inanimate microorganisms” — so the brand has explained, in plain English on the same page, why its own headline number is not what a buyer thinks it is. A colony-forming unit counts organisms that can form a colony. The live fraction is not disclosed.

The reformulation finding travels with it. The previous generation of this exact SKU ran on Bl-04, HN019, NCFM, Bi-07 and the rest of the Danisco/IFF catalogue — strains with hundreds of records between them — and its own label carried “we use more clinically studied strains than the leading brand”. The strains changed. The sentence did not.

One last thing worth noticing, because it is on the fine print of two bottles from one line: this panel says “Best if refrigerated” and its sibling says “Refrigeration not required”. The higher-CFU product is the one that wants a fridge.