One product, one panel, one record.
Renew Life Ultimate Flora Extra Care Probiotic 50 Billion, 30 ct (RN1550148) — label audit
This ungendered SKU and Renew Life's Men's Care 50 Billion cost exactly the same $37.49 and carry an identical CFU architecture to the billion — 28 Bifido, 22 Lacto, 50 total, at expiry. This one lists 31 strains with designators on all of them. The men's one lists 12, with none. At the same price, the gendered SKU is a strict downgrade in both diversity and disclosure.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
54.7 out of 100
Rank 84 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 19 of 19 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 19 / 19 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 19 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 19 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 1 of 19 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 1 / 19 = 0.0526 | 0.010526 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.470526 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5471. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 54.7 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 50 Billion CFU "Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures" (28 billion Bifidobacterium, 22 billion Lacto/Lactococcus/Streptococcus) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 19 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
"At Expiration Date under recommended storage conditions. Store in a cool, dry place. Best if refrigerated. Provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms." The page names the practice it is beating — "Some probiotic supplements guarantee potency and live cultures at time of manufacturing. We guarantee through the expiration date."
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bifidobacterium lactis | UF-12, UF-IM04, UF-DG19, UF-07, UF-50, UF-26 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Bifidobacterium longum | UF-536 | — not stated separately | No records | "UF-536"[All Fields]; UF536 |
| Bifidobacterium breve | UF-3 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Bifidobacterium bifidum | UF-910 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Bifidobacterium infantis | UF-019 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus plantarum | UF-217, UF-987, UF-115 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | UF-01, UF-5 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactococcus lactis | UF-23 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | GG, UF-11 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "ATCC 53103" |
| Lactobacillus fermentum | UF-120, UF-226 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus casei | UF-431, UF-121 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus gasseri | UF-2055 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus reuteri | UF-14 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus paracasei | UF-19 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus brevis | UF-35 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus helveticus | UF-142 | — not stated separately | No records | "UF-142" |
| Lactobacillus salivarius | UF-862 | — not stated separately | No records | "UF-862" |
| Streptococcus thermophilus | UF-336 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
| Lactobacillus bulgaricus | UF-165, UF-563 | — not stated separately | Untraceable house code | — |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — RN1550148_REV_20D_THUMBNAILS-04.jpghttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-50-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550148 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own current label art, served from the product page's Full Supplement Facts modal, with a copyright line reading 2026 RenewLife. Price, SKU and UPC come from embedded Shopify variant JSON on the same page, so label and price are from a single fetch and cannot be mismatched. The strain count was counted from the panel and the brand's claim of 31 is correct.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.25 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $37.49 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule daily). $33.74 on 10% Subscribe & Save.
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-extra-care-probiotic-50-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1550148 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Any third-party certification | Not checked | 31 July 2026 |
Any third-party certification
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
None is claimed. The page says "Non-GMO, vegan, and free of gluten, dairy, & soy" — a bare self-assertion, and specifically not "Non-GMO Project Verified". No NSF, no USP, no Informed Choice, no BSCG, no ConsumerLab mark anywhere on the page or panel. Registers were unreachable in any case (Non-GMO Project 404, USP 403, NSF 403), so this is recorded as no certification claimed rather than any certification refuted.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Compared against Compared against the brand's men's SKU rather than a women's one: Ultimate Flora Men's Care Probiotic 50 Billion, 30 ct (RN1530124, UPC 631257122520). Diffed .
What the two panels differ by
- Identical price, identical dosing, identical CFU architecture to the billion — 28 Bifido, 22 Lacto, 50 total at expiry on both — and this SKU lists 31 strains against the men's 12. RN1550148 panel image versus RN1530124 panel image, both read from the brand's own CDN
- This panel prints a UF- designator on all 31 strains. The men's panel prints "Bifidobacterium lactis (1), (2), (3)" and "Lactobacillus acidophilus (1), (2)" — bare parenthetical counters. Only GG is named on the men's label. RN1550148 panel image versus RN1530124 panel image
- Blend weight 100 mg here plus 100 mg of organic prebiotic acacia fibre; 152 mg on the men's, with no fibre at all. RN1550148 panel image versus RN1530124 panel image
What is identical across the pair
- $37.49, identical
- 30 delayed-release vegan capsules, one daily, in both
- 28 billion Bifido, 22 billion Lacto, 50 billion total at expiry — identical to the billion in both
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 thirty-one-designators-that-lead-nowhere
A reader scoring by "does the label name strains?" gets this panel exactly backwards. It looks best-in-class and 30 of the 31 codes return zero PubMed records. This is a more sophisticated failure than a plain proprietary blend: better than species-only, well short of verifiable.
The record: PubMed exact-phrase queries: "UF-536", UF536, "UF-142", "UF-862", "UF-DG19", "UF-IM04" — all 0
Finding 2 cfu-total-explicitly-includes-non-viable-organisms
"Total Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures — 50 Billion CFU", with a footnote crediting benefits from inanimate organisms. That is internally contradictory as a CFU figure, and it means the live fraction of the headline number is not disclosed.
The record: Panel image RN1550148_REV_20D_THUMBNAILS-04.jpg, label copyright 2026 RenewLife
Finding 3 no-per-strain-cfu
A two-tier split of 28 billion and 22 billion, and nothing finer, across 31 strains.
The record: Panel image RN1550148_REV_20D_THUMBNAILS-04.jpg
Finding 4 two-guarantee-periods-on-one-page
A badge reads "60-Day Money Back Guarantee" while the body copy reads "we offer a one-year money back guarantee". Both on one page load.
The record: renewlife.com RN1550148, fetched 2026-07-31
Finding 5 most-studied-strain-footnote-frozen-at-january-2022
"Based on the number of scientific and clinical studies of Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG for a range of benefits as of January 2022" — presented in the present tense in 2026.
The record: renewlife.com RN1550148, footnote verbatim
Finding 6 non-gmo-asserted-without-the-mark
The page says "Non-GMO" as a bare adjective, not "Non-GMO Project Verified". The distinction is the finding — there is no issuer and therefore nothing to check.
The record: renewlife.com RN1550148, fetched 2026-07-31
Finding 7 pre-2020-nomenclature-throughout
Every reassigned organism still carries the legacy Lactobacillus genus. Legal, and it dates the panel.
The record: PMID 32293557 — open it (opens in a new tab)
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- Any third-party certification status
- None is claimed. The page says "Non-GMO, vegan, and free of gluten, dairy, & soy" — a bare self-assertion, and specifically not "Non-GMO Project Verified". No NSF, no USP, no Informed Choice, no BSCG, no ConsumerLab mark anywhere on the page or panel. Registers were unreachable in any case (Non-GMO Project 404, USP 403, NSF 403), so this is recorded as no certification claimed rather than any certification refuted.
- What any of the 30 UF- designators refers to
- They are private codes with no literature footprint and no culture-collection accession. Absence was re-queried on alternative spellings, and the apparent hits on unquoted variants were opened and found to be unrelated tokenisation artefacts.
- The dose of L. rhamnosus GG
- Undisclosed. Twenty-one organisms share the 22 billion Lacto bucket, so the one strain the marketing leans on could be any fraction of it.
- How much of the 50 billion is alive
- The panel labels the total "Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures" and the footnote says it "provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms". A CFU is by definition a viable cell that can form a colony, so counting non-viable organisms inside a CFU total leaves the viable fraction undisclosed.
- A government label record matched by UPC
- None matched for this SKU.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
This is the cleanest same-brand, same-price, same-potency demonstration of this site’s thesis anywhere in the research.
Renew Life sells this ungendered Extra Care 50 Billion at $37.49. It sells Men’s Care 50 Billion at $37.49. Both are 30 delayed-release capsules, one a day. Both are 28 billion Bifido and 22 billion Lacto for 50 billion total, guaranteed at expiry — identical to the billion, which is not a coincidence of formulation but the same potency spec. This one lists 31 strains, every one carrying a designator. The men’s lists 12, with no designators at all — just Bifidobacterium lactis (1), (2), (3). Nothing in the men’s formula is male-specific. Buying the gendered SKU is a strict downgrade in diversity and disclosure for exactly the same money.
Then the catch that stops this page from being a recommendation. Those 31 designators are UF- codes, Renew Life’s own internal series, and they are not accessions at anything — not ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB. Queried exactly, they return zero. The one real strain identity on the panel is L. rhamnosus GG, and its dose is unknowable, because twenty-one organisms share the 22-billion Lacto bucket.
One more thing the label does that is worth understanding. The 50 billion is printed as “Probiotic & Postbiotic Cultures”, and the footnote credits benefits from “inanimate organisms”. A CFU is by definition a cell that can form a colony. Folding dead cells into a CFU count means the live fraction of the number on the front of the box is not disclosed anywhere.