One product, one panel, one record.
Swolverine Probiotix — label audit
The product description is unedited ChatGPT output shipped to production. The Shopify body_html still carries the raw DOM of the conversation it was pasted from — data-message-author-role, data-message-model-slug="gpt-5-pro", data-turn-id, conversation-turn indices — on a page whose own brand promise reads "Every Product We Sell Requires Proven Scientific Research."
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
- What did not survive verification
- Part of this page was refuted or could not be reproduced Three limits sit on this record. (1) The government label record does not match the package on sale: DSLD 242072 carries a different UPC and a 60-count package against the current 30-serving SKU, so it corroborates formula continuity only, and every panel figure published here was read from the current label image instead. (2) The USD prices come from the shop-currency Shopify JSON, because the live HTML rendered EUR for an egress IP geolocating to Spain; they are not a US-rendered storefront price. (3) The review-feed finding covers the rendered feed only, not all 65 records, and is published as two specific observed defects rather than a characterisation of the feed.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
24.4 out of 100
Rank 132 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 1 of 7 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 1 / 7 = 0.1429 | 0.034286 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 7 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 7 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. | 2 / 3 = 0.6667 | 0.146667 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 1 of 7 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 1 / 7 = 0.1429 | 0.028571 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.209524 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.2436. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 24.4 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 5.75 Billion CFU† (9 mg) |
| What that count is measured against | At manufacture only |
| Strain designators | Some organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 7 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
Panel footnote, verbatim: "†Potency at time of manufacture. This product may be kept refrigerated to maximize shelf-life and potency." The page repeats it in prose: "Label transparency* — Disclosed strains; total CFU listed per serving at time of manufacture.*"
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.
Some organisms carry a printed strain designator and some are named by species only.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bacillus subtilis | DE111® | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "DE111" AND (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR clinical trial[pt]) → 5 (PMIDs 37026366, 36790091, 33671071, 33161737, 33105368) |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus casei | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium longum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus plantarum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium breve | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — Swolverine-probiotix-6236928774-51562771153176https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1283/2557/files/Swolverine-probiotix-6236928774-51562771153176.png — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own 678×718 Supplement Facts image (product image #3), transcribed by hand. The panel is not present as text in the page HTML. This is the source of every panel figure on this page.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 242072 (opens in a new tab) captured Entered 2021-02-25, on-market. UPC 0 92617 97177 4 and 60 Capsule(s) — it does not match the current SKU and documents an earlier package. Used only as corroboration that the formula fields are unchanged, and as the source of the label statements "Sourced from a GMP certified facility. Formulated in USA.", "Non GMO / No Soy", the allergen statement and the directions.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — swolverine-probiotix-pdp-2026-07-31https://swolverine.com/products/probiotix — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Live page and Shopify JSON, HTTP 200. SKU PROBIOTIX, barcode 850078868527. Source of the badge wording, the claim quotations, the Prop 65 text, the broken Vue markup and the embedded ChatGPT conversation DOM. USD pricing was read from the shop-currency JSON; the rendered HTML showed EUR.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$0.90 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $26.99 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings at the panel's 1-capsule serving size)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://swolverine.com/products/probiotix — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| "3rd-Party Tested — Every batch verified" badge | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "Sourced from a GMP certified facility" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| "Non GMO / No Soy" | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
"3rd-Party Tested — Every batch verified" badge
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The brand's dedicated page at /pages/third-party-testing was fetched (HTTP 200). It contains "Every Product We Sell Requires Proven Scientific Research", "Dose Matters More Than Anything. We Ensure The Dosage Meets Performance Outcomes" and "All Products Are Third Party Tested For Quality And Content Standards", followed by a goal-category navigation grid, a blog carousel and a best-sellers carousel. It names no laboratory, publishes no certificate of analysis, gives no certificate number and identifies no certifying body. A page titled "third-party testing" containing no testing evidence of any kind. There is no issuer register to query because no issuer is named.
"Sourced from a GMP certified facility"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Recorded as a label statement in DSLD 242072, alongside "Formulated in USA". No certifier is named. cGMP is in any case a facility requirement under 21 CFR Part 111, legally mandatory for every US supplement manufacturer.
"Non GMO / No Soy"
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
A bare self-claim recorded on the DSLD label statements, not Non-GMO Project Verified. No third-party mark is asserted, so there is nothing to look up at any register.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 product-description-is-unedited-chatgpt-output
The Shopify body_html retains the raw DOM of a ChatGPT conversation — the copy was pasted straight from the chat window into the CMS and shipped. Markers present in the live source: data-message-author-role="assistant"; data-message-model-slug="gpt-5-pro"; data-turn="assistant"; data-turn-id="request-691ab3f1-…"; data-testid="conversation-turn-58"; class="markdown prose dark:prose-invert … deep-research-result markdown-new-styling"; data-start and data-end character offsets on nearly every element; and a stray trailing ** where markdown bold was never closed. Anyone can reproduce this: fetch /products/probiotix.json and read product.body_html. This is a supplement brand asserting "Every Product We Sell Requires Proven Scientific Research" while shipping a research-flavoured product description generated by a chatbot and never edited.
The record: swolverine.com/products/probiotix.json → product.body_html, read 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://swolverine.com/products/probiotix.json — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 2 no-proprietary-blends-badge-on-a-proprietary-blend
The page carries a "Fully Transparent — No proprietary blends" badge. The brand's own Supplement Facts panel gives one aggregate line — 9 mg, 5.75 billion CFU — covering seven organisms with zero per-organism allocation. That is a proprietary blend in everything but the label word. The badge is false against the brand's own panel.
The record: Brand Supplement Facts image versus the page's own badge, both read 2026-07-31
Finding 3 four-mutually-inconsistent-serving-sizes
The Supplement Facts panel says 1 capsule, 30 servings. The page spec field says "2 Capsules Daily". The how-to-use block says 1 capsule daily and up to 2. DSLD transcribes the label directions as 1 capsule 1 to 3 times daily. At 2 capsules a day the 30-count bottle is a 15-day supply and the cost per day doubles from $0.90 to $1.80.
The record: Brand panel image, page spec field, page how-to-use block, DSLD 242072 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 4 prop-65-warning-with-no-chemical-named
Verbatim from the live page: "WARNING: Can expose you to chemicals, which are known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information, go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov." No chemical is named. The sentence reads as a template with the substance slot never filled, while still asserting both the cancer and the reproductive-harm endpoints. A consumer cannot act on it.
The record: swolverine.com/products/probiotix, quoted verbatim 2026-07-31
Finding 5 de111-present-at-an-undisclosed-and-probably-sub-studied-dose
The one strain in this product carrying real evidence was studied alone at 5 billion CFU/day. The entire seven-organism blend here is 5.75 billion CFU, with no per-organism allocation disclosed anywhere. For DE111 to reach its studied dose it would have to be roughly 87% of the blend. The label does not state that, and the page offers no way to find out.
The record: PMID 33105368 (5 billion CFU/day) against the brand's own 5.75 billion CFU panel total
Finding 6 disclosed-strains-claim-with-six-of-seven-species-only
The page advertises "Label transparency* — Disclosed strains". Six of the seven organisms carry no designator at all. One does.
The record: Brand Supplement Facts image, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 7 third-party-testing-page-contains-no-testing-evidence
The badge reads "3rd-Party Tested / Every batch verified". The brand's dedicated /pages/third-party-testing returns HTTP 200 and contains three slogans, a navigation grid, a blog carousel and a best-sellers carousel. No laboratory, no certificate of analysis, no certificate number, no certifying body. Note also the internal tension: "Dose Matters More Than Anything" sits on the same site as a product whose per-organism doses are entirely undisclosed.
The record: swolverine.com/pages/third-party-testing, fetched 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://swolverine.com/pages/third-party-testing — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 8 cfu-guaranteed-only-at-time-of-manufacture
"†Potency at time of manufacture" — honestly disclosed, and the weakest of the three possible bases. It guarantees nothing about what is alive when the buyer swallows it, which is why the same label recommends refrigeration "to maximize shelf-life and potency".
The record: Brand Supplement Facts image footnote, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 9 upc-mismatch-against-the-government-record
DSLD 242072 carries UPC 0 92617 97177 4 and 60 Capsule(s); the SKU on sale carries barcode 850078868527 and 30 servings. The formula fields are identical across both. The package appears to have halved from 60 servings to 30 for an unchanged formula.
The record: DSLD 242072 against the live Shopify product JSON, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 10 broken-template-markup-rendering-as-page-text
Two literal strings appear as visible on-page text between the price block and the ingredients accordion: `0">` and `1" v-html="product.selected_variant.title">`. Unrendered Vue template markup, shipped to production.
The record: swolverine.com/products/probiotix, read 2026-07-31
Finding 11 review-feed-defects
65 reviews at 97% five-star. In the rendered feed, one review is duplicated verbatim (Rajiv R. / "Rajiv R", identical "Happy Gut, Happy life" text) and one entry is a customer question logged as a five-star review — title "I wondered if you carry any vitamin B12 in soft gel", body "Fantastic one".
The record: Rendered review feed on swolverine.com/products/probiotix, inspected 2026-07-31
Finding 12 supplement-facts-published-only-as-an-image
The panel exists only inside a 678×718 product image and appears nowhere as text in the page HTML. A screen reader, a price-comparison tool or any automated checker cannot read this product's composition.
The record: Full-page HTML, 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- "3rd-Party Tested — Every batch verified" badge status
- The brand's dedicated page at /pages/third-party-testing was fetched (HTTP 200). It contains "Every Product We Sell Requires Proven Scientific Research", "Dose Matters More Than Anything. We Ensure The Dosage Meets Performance Outcomes" and "All Products Are Third Party Tested For Quality And Content Standards", followed by a goal-category navigation grid, a blog carousel and a best-sellers carousel. It names no laboratory, publishes no certificate of analysis, gives no certificate number and identifies no certifying body. A page titled "third-party testing" containing no testing evidence of any kind. There is no issuer register to query because no issuer is named.
- "Sourced from a GMP certified facility" status
- Recorded as a label statement in DSLD 242072, alongside "Formulated in USA". No certifier is named. cGMP is in any case a facility requirement under 21 CFR Part 111, legally mandatory for every US supplement manufacturer.
- "Non GMO / No Soy" status
- A bare self-claim recorded on the DSLD label statements, not Non-GMO Project Verified. No third-party mark is asserted, so there is nothing to look up at any register.
- Which package DSLD 242072 documents relative to the one on sale
- The UPCs do not match. DSLD 242072 carries UPC 0 92617 97177 4 and 60 Capsule(s); the current SKU carries Shopify barcode 850078868527 and 30 servings. On every formula field the two agree — same 9 mg blend, same 5.75 billion CFU, same seven organisms, same at-manufacture footnote, same other ingredients — so the record corroborates formula continuity and nothing more. All panel figures on this page come from the current label image, not from DSLD.
- The per-organism allocation of the 9 mg / 5.75 billion CFU blend
- A single undivided figure covers all seven organisms. This is the number that decides the product, because DE111 was studied alone at 5 billion CFU/day: for DE111 to reach its studied dose here it would have to be roughly 87% of the entire blend, leaving about 750 million CFU to split among six other organisms. The label does not say, and nothing on the page permits a buyer to find out.
- The intended daily dose
- Four sources on and around this product state four different things. The Supplement Facts panel says "Serving Size 1 Capsule", 30 servings per container. The page spec field says "Serving Size — 2 Capsules Daily". The page's how-to-use block says "Take 1 capsule daily with food" and "you may use up to 2 capsules daily". DSLD transcribes the label directions as "1 capsule taken 1 to 3 times daily". A buyer cannot determine the dose, the duration of the bottle or the true cost per day from this page.
- The integrity of the full review feed
- The rendered feed was inspected, not all 65 records. Two defects were seen in what rendered: one review duplicated verbatim (Rajiv R. / "Rajiv R", identical "Happy Gut, Happy life" text), and one customer question logged as a five-star review, titled "I wondered if you carry any vitamin B12 in soft gel" with the body "Fantastic one". No claim is made about the remaining records.
- The USD price as a shopper in the US would see it
- The $26.99 and $22.94 figures come from the shop-currency Shopify product JSON. The live HTML rendered EUR (€24,95 / €21,20) because the analysing session's egress IP geolocates to Spain, and no USD toggle was available in that session.
- Whether the package price changed when the count halved
- The government record documents a 60-serving package and the current SKU is 30 servings for an unchanged formula. No historical price was retrieved, so no claim is made about price per serving over time. Recorded as an observation only.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
Open the JSON and read what the brand shipped.
Fetch https://swolverine.com/products/probiotix.json, look at product.body_html, and the product
description arrives with the conversation still attached to it:
data-message-author-role="assistant", data-message-model-slug="gpt-5-pro",
data-testid="conversation-turn-58", character-offset attributes on nearly every element, and a
stray ** where the markdown bold was never closed. The copy was pasted out of a chat window into
the CMS and published. On the same site: “Every Product We Sell Requires Proven Scientific
Research.”
Anyone can check that in about thirty seconds, which is why it leads.
The badge problem is the same shape. “Fully Transparent — No proprietary blends” sits on a page whose own Supplement Facts panel gives a single undivided line — 9 mg, 5.75 billion CFU — for seven organisms. No per-organism allocation exists anywhere. That is a proprietary blend; only the word is missing.
And the missing split is not cosmetic here, because Swolverine does something almost nobody else in this category does: it names a real strain. DE111 (Bacillus subtilis) is trademarked, traceable and carries five human trials. Give the brand that credit, then read the arithmetic. DE111 was studied alone at 5 billion CFU/day. The entire seven-organism blend in this capsule is 5.75 billion. For the strain with the evidence to reach the dose that produced the evidence, it would have to be roughly 87% of the blend — and the label will not say.
The trials themselves are worth reading before leaning on them. Four of the five carry Deerland — the strain’s owner — as funder or employer of the authors. The gut-barrier pilot found perceived GI health, microbiota, inflammation markers and plasma zonulin “largely unaffected”, which matters because this product advertises gut-barrier support. The multi-strain cocktail trial found GI, respiratory and urinary symptoms “not influenced”. The strongest positive result is a cholesterol outcome the product never claims. And the one athlete trial — on a product sold into an athlete frame — was run in 23 Division I female athletes and found no effect on performance.
Two more things a buyer would want. You cannot tell how much to take: the panel says one capsule, the spec field says two, the how-to-use block says one and up to two, and the government record says one capsule one to three times daily. At two a day this bottle is a 15-day supply and costs $1.80 a day, not $0.90. And the page carries a Prop 65 warning with the chemical name left blank — the cancer and reproductive-harm endpoints both asserted, the substance slot never filled in.
Where credit is due: the CFU basis is stated in plain words on the panel and repeated in prose — “Potency at time of manufacture.” It is the weakest basis available, and it is the only stated basis in its batch. Most of this category simply does not tell you.