One product, one panel, one record.

Xymogen ProbioMax Daily 30B, 30 capsules — label audit

Exactly half the 30 billion headline is a three-strain proprietary blend with no per-strain split. All four organisms carry a designator and only one carries a dose — HN019, which is the strain the marketing leans on. The three inside the undisclosed blend are precisely the three with thin-to-moderate literature, so their doses cannot be checked against any trial.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator this site publishes.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

55.1 out of 100

Rank 82 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 66% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining 2 questions are unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: they leave the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 66% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 55.1 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 4 of 4 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 4 / 4 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 1 of 4 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 1 / 4 = 0.2500 0.0500
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "none-stated": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated no, basis reaches expiry no — 1 of 3. 1 / 3 = 0.3333 0.073333
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 Only 1 of 4 designators on this panel have been searched — below the 50% coverage a published share requires. A ratio over 1 slots would describe our sampling, not the label. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.66 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.363333 — the last column added up — divided by 0.66, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5505. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 55.1 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Xymogen ProbioMax Daily 30B, 30 capsules discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 30 Billion CFU (the panel prints two rows of 15 Billion CFU† each)
What that count is measured against No basis stated
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 4 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 294816

The only footnote on this panel is "† Colony-Forming Unit" — a definition of the abbreviation, not a basis. There is no "at expiry" and no "at time of manufacture" language on the label, on the product page, or in Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-214. The panel defines the unit and declines to define the moment.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

A CFU number appears with no temporal basis of any kind. A count with no basis is not a quantity; there is no date at which it is claimed to be true.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of Xymogen ProbioMax Daily 30B, 30 capsules, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Bifidobacterium lactis (correct name: Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis) HN019 50 mg (15 Billion CFU†) Human RCT PubMed designator search, randomised-controlled-trial-tagged subset
Lactobacillus acidophilus La-14 — not stated separately Not yet checked PubMed designator search, human record count
Bifidobacterium longum Bl-05 — not stated separately Not yet checked PubMed designator search, human record count
Lactobacillus plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) Lp-115 — not stated separately Not yet checked PubMed designator search, human record count
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagexymogen-drs-214-probiomax-daily-2026-07-31https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Xymogen Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-214 (ProbioMax-Daily-DRS214-021925-FINAL), downloaded from the brand. The strongest label source available for this SKU: the Supplement Facts panel renders only inside a JavaScript viewer on the product page, and the reference sheet carries the verbatim panel including its footnote definitions. Source for the two-row panel structure, the four designators, the 174 mg / 15 billion and 50 mg / 15 billion figures, the "† Colony-Forming Unit" footnote, the cGMP self-assertion and the "Female Health" category rail.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 294816 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market, entered 2023-08-23, with a label scan on file. UPC 8 71149 00287 9 matches the product page's stated UPC 0871149002879 exactly, which is what fixes this record to the 30-count SKU rather than to the 60-count sibling (294817, UPC ending 00191 9). Source for the label seals, including "GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified" and "ePV", and for the Copyright 2020 label statement block.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagexymogen-probiomax-daily-30b-pdp-2026-07-31https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Fetched directly, HTTP 200. Source for the one-time and autoship prices, the UPC, the SKU, the related health categories including Women's Health, the professional-use-only restriction, and the link to the lot-specific certificate of analysis PDF.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.80 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$53.99 USD
What that buys
30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule daily); autoship price $48.59
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Xymogen ProbioMax Daily 30B, 30 capsules, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
ePV (ePedigree Verification) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Per-lot certificate of analysis published on the product page Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026

GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

The seal is transcribed on the government label record and names no certifying body. There is no register to query and no certificate number to check, so this is brand-asserted and unverifiable by construction rather than by circumstance. Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-214 adds, in its footer, "All XYMOGEN® Formulas Meet or Exceed cGMP Quality Standards" — a self-assertion in the same category.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

ePV (ePedigree Verification)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

Transcribed as a label seal. ePV is Xymogen's own programme, not a third-party mark, and is recorded here so it is not mistaken for one.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

Per-lot certificate of analysis published on the product page

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

A genuine plus, stated as such. The product page links a lot-specific certificate of analysis PDF. It is self-issued and it is not a third-party register — and publishing a lot-linked COA on the product page is more than almost anyone else in this category does.

The register we queried https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 half-the-cfu-sits-in-a-three-strain-proprietary-blend

The panel is two rows: a Proprietary Blend of La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115 at 174 mg / 15 Billion CFU, and HN019 alone at 50 mg / 15 Billion CFU. Identity is disclosed for all four; dose is disclosed for one. Exactly half the headline number is unsplit.

The record: Xymogen Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-214 panel, verbatim, 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 2 no-cfu-basis-of-any-kind

The only footnote on the panel defines what CFU stands for. There is no at-expiry and no at-manufacture language on the label, the page or the reference sheet.

The record: DRS-214 panel footnote, verbatim, plus xymogen.com product page and DSLD 294816, all 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 3 the-undisclosed-strains-are-the-under-evidenced-ones

HN019, with 41 randomised-trial-tagged records, is the one strain broken out with its own dose. La-14 (18 human records), Lp-115 (7) and Bl-05 (1) are the three whose doses are hidden inside the blend, so none of them can be checked against any trial.

The record: PubMed record counts per designator, 2026-07-31, against the DRS-214 panel structure — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 4 professional-use-only-suppresses-price-and-review-comparison

"Professional use only" and "Not for resale on third-party websites" are channel-control terms, and one of their effects is that independent price and review comparison for this product barely exists.

The record: xymogen.com product page channel restrictions, verbatim, 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

3 strain designators not looked up
These designators are printed on the panel and have not been searched. They are unchecked, not empty.
GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified status
The seal is transcribed on the government label record and names no certifying body. There is no register to query and no certificate number to check, so this is brand-asserted and unverifiable by construction rather than by circumstance. Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-214 adds, in its footer, "All XYMOGEN® Formulas Meet or Exceed cGMP Quality Standards" — a self-assertion in the same category.
ePV (ePedigree Verification) status
Transcribed as a label seal. ePV is Xymogen's own programme, not a third-party mark, and is recorded here so it is not mistaken for one.
Per-lot certificate of analysis published on the product page status
A genuine plus, stated as such. The product page links a lot-specific certificate of analysis PDF. It is self-issued and it is not a third-party register — and publishing a lot-linked COA on the product page is more than almost anyone else in this category does.
The split inside the three-strain Proprietary Blend
La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115 share one 174 mg / 15 billion CFU figure — exactly half the product's headline dose — with no individual amounts. Any one of the three could be a token, and the three inside the blend are precisely the three whose literature is thin to moderate.
Any CFU basis
Absent from the label, the product page and DRS-214. The only footnote defines the abbreviation "CFU".
The certifier behind "GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified"
No certifying body is named anywhere, so there is no register to query. Unverifiable by construction, not by an unreachable register.
Adjudicated randomised-trial status for La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115
The PubMed figures recorded for those three are human record counts rather than adjudicated trials — no abstract was read to confirm the designator was the intervention. They are used only to separate a real human literature from none, and no per-strain RCT count is published for them.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Probiotics/ProbioMax-Daily-30B-30c/p/000000000300005129 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

The panel is two rows, and the split between them is the whole story.

Proprietary BlendL. acidophilus La-14, B. longum Bl-05, L. plantarum Lp-115 — 174 mg (15 Billion CFU†) B. lactis HN01950 mg (15 Billion CFU†)

All four organisms carry a designator. One of them carries a dose. Exactly half the 30 billion headline sits in a three-strain blend with no individual amounts, so any one of the three could be a token presence.

And notice which one got broken out. HN019 — 41 randomised-trial-tagged records, the best-evidenced organism in the formula, and the one the marketing copy leans on. The three hidden inside the blend are La-14 (18 human records), Lp-115 (7) and Bl-05 (1). The favourable half of the disclosure is the half that is disclosed.

There is no CFU basis at all. The only footnote on the panel reads ”† Colony-Forming Unit” — a definition of the abbreviation. No at-expiry, no at-manufacture, not on the label, not on the page, not in the brand’s own Doctor Reference Sheet. The panel defines the unit and declines to define the moment.

The certification line is worth reading carefully in both directions. “GMP Compliant Third-Party Verified” names no certifying body, so there is nothing to query — unverifiable by construction rather than by an unreachable register. “ePV (ePedigree Verification)” is Xymogen’s own programme, not a third-party mark. And the product page links a lot-specific certificate of analysis, which is self-issued, is not a register, and is genuinely more than almost anyone else in this category publishes.

Two smaller things. “Professional use only” and “Not for resale on third-party websites” are channel controls whose side effect is that independent price and review comparison for this product barely exists. And the label statement block is stamped Copyright 2020, six years stale, still printing Lactobacillus plantarum while the same brand’s sheet for its 100B product has moved to Lactiplantibacillus.