One product, one panel, one record.

Xymogen ProbioMax Sb 35B, 30 acid-resistant vegetarian capsules — label audit

A published per-lot certificate of analysis shows this batch assayed at about 3.4 times its label claim at manufacture, with a 35-month expiry — circumstantial evidence that the product is formulated to hold potency to the end of shelf life. The label still does not promise it. The only footnote on the panel defines what CFU stands for.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator this site publishes.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

50.5 out of 100

Rank 92 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 50.5 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 4 of 5 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 4 / 5 = 0.8000 0.1920
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 2 of 5 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 2 / 5 = 0.4000 0.0800
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "none-stated": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated no, basis reaches expiry no — 1 of 3. 1 / 3 = 0.3333 0.073333
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 4 of 5 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 4 / 5 = 0.8000 0.1600
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 1 claimed certification queried at the issuer’s register and not listed there. 0 / 1 = 0.0000 0.0000
The five weights sum to 1.00. This record answers all five, so the divisor below is that full 1.00 and nothing has been renormalised away. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.505333 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.5053. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 50.5 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Xymogen ProbioMax Sb 35B, 30 acid-resistant vegetarian capsules discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 35 Billion CFU per capsule (the panel prints 5 + 15 + 15 Billion CFU† across three rows)
What that count is measured against No basis stated
Strain designators Some organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 5 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 294818

The only footnote on the panel is "† Colony-Forming Unit". There is no "at time of manufacture", no "at expiration" and no storage-qualified guarantee anywhere on Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-276 or on the product page. The panel defines the unit and declines to define the moment — on a product whose own published certificate of analysis carries a 35-month expiry.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

A CFU number appears with no temporal basis of any kind. A count with no basis is not a quantity; there is no date at which it is claimed to be true.

Some organisms carry a printed strain designator and some are named by species only.

Every organism named on the panel of Xymogen ProbioMax Sb 35B, 30 acid-resistant vegetarian capsules, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Saccharomyces boulardii (correct name: Saccharomyces cerevisiae var. boulardii) — none printed 250 mg (5 Billion CFU†) No designator printed
Bifidobacterium lactis (correct name: Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis) HN019 50 mg (15 Billion CFU†) Human RCT PubMed designator search, record count
Lactobacillus acidophilus La-14 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed designator search anchored to the species, record count
Bifidobacterium longum Bl-05 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed designator search anchored to the species, record count
Lactiplantibacillus plantarum Lp-115 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed designator search, record count
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagexymogen-drs-276-probiomax-sb-35b-2026-07-31https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Xymogen Doctor Reference Sheet DRS-276, revision 01/19/26, downloaded from the brand. The label source for this page: it carries the verbatim Supplement Facts panel including footnote definitions, which the product page renders only inside a JavaScript viewer. Source for the three-row panel, the five organisms, the 5 + 15 + 15 arithmetic that matches the 35 billion headline exactly, the "† Colony-Forming Unit" footnote, the S. boulardii reference list, the cGMP self-assertion and the ungendered category tags.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagexymogen-coa-lot-10005419-2026-07-31https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The batch certificate of analysis for lot 10005419, material number 300005109, published by the brand on the product page and transcribed visually from the scan. Manufacture 11/2025, expiry 10/2028. The only real assay document in its batch, and the artefact behind two findings: the measured potency of 118.4 billion against a 35 billion label claim, and the split between third-party potency laboratories (Mérieux, Eurofins) and in-house purity methods.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 294818 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market, entered 2023-08-23. UPC 8 71149 00199 5 matches the product page's stated UPC 0871149001995 exactly, and the SKU 000000000300005109 matches both the URL and the certificate of analysis material number, which is what fixes all of this to one SKU. Companion record 303831 (30 count, 2023-12-14); the 60-count variant is 303832. DSLD files the product under the legacy name "ProbioMax Sb DF".

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 4 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.67 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$49.99 USD
What that buys
30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule daily); autoship price $44.99
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Xymogen ProbioMax Sb 35B, 30 acid-resistant vegetarian capsules, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
NSF/ANSI 173 contents certification Absent from register 31 July 2026
cGMP quality standards (self-asserted) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Batch certificate of analysis, lot 10005419 Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026

NSF/ANSI 173 contents certification

The register was queried and this product is not listed on it.

Verified at the issuer's own register, and this is the cleanest possible version of the finding. XYMOGEN INC. is listed, with 14 certified products — ATP Ignite, XymoBolX, OptiMag 125, Creatine, Electrolyte Sticks, Omega MonoPure 1300 EC, SynovX Relief, HMB PRO, AngiNOX Elite among them — and the string "Probio" does not appear anywhere in the listing. The brand demonstrably can and does certify products at NSF. It simply has not certified this one. Note also that this SKU makes no NSF claim, so nothing is being contradicted.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

cGMP quality standards (self-asserted)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

DRS-276 states "All XYMOGEN® Formulas Meet or Exceed cGMP Quality Standards." No certifier is named, so there is no issuer to query. Brand-asserted and unverifiable by construction.

The register we queried https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Batch certificate of analysis, lot 10005419

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

The strongest single document in its batch, and it needs its scope stated. Lot 10005419, material number 300005109, manufactured 11/2025, expiry 10/2028. Total probiotic enumeration measured 104,398,000,000 CFU against a specification of not less than 30 billion, by Danisco A1365 at Mérieux; S. boulardii measured 14,000,000,000 CFU against not less than 5 billion, by ZME0I at Eurofins. So the two potency assays ran at third-party laboratories and the measured total is about 3.4 times the label claim. Every purity and heavy-metal assay ran in-house on Xymogen's own methods: E. coli and Salmonella negative per 10 g by QC-017/Xymogen; arsenic 0.03 mcg against a limit of 10, cadmium 0.01 against 4.1, lead not more than 0.01 against 0.5, mercury not more than 0.01 against 0.3, all by AM-003/Xymogen. Disintegration 38 minutes against a 30 to 60 minute specification by USP <2040> simulated gastric. "Third-party tested" is true of the potency numbers and not of the contaminant numbers, and that distinction is almost never drawn. This is one lot and is not evidence about any other lot.

The register we queried https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 cfu-basis-unstated-on-a-35-month-shelf-life

The only footnote on the panel is "† Colony-Forming Unit". No at-expiry, no at-manufacture, nowhere. The brand's own certificate of analysis records a manufacture date of 11/2025 and an expiry of 10/2028, so the buyer is being asked to trust a 35-month decay curve that the label never describes.

The record: DRS-276 panel footnote and the published lot 10005419 certificate of analysis, both 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 2 the-s-boulardii-evidence-cited-does-not-match-the-s-boulardii-sold

DRS-276 rests its S. boulardii case on PMID 20458757 (McFarland 2010, 27 trials, 5,029 patients) and PMIDs 21997865, 19096876 and 16572062. None of those is a trial of an undisclosed S. boulardii, and the clinical literature for this organism is dominated by CNCM I-745 — 119 PubMed records for the species with "CNCM". The label names no S. boulardii strain at all.

The record: DRS-276 reference list; PubMed "Saccharomyces boulardii" AND "CNCM" returns 119 records, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 3 half-the-cfu-sits-in-an-undivided-three-strain-blend

La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115 share one 15 billion CFU figure. Bl-05 returns 3 records, the thinnest literature in the formula, and there is no way to know how much of the blend it is.

The record: DRS-276 panel, verbatim, against per-designator PubMed record counts, 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 4 third-party-tested-covers-the-potency-assays-and-not-the-contaminant-assays

On the brand's own certificate of analysis, the two potency assays ran at Mérieux and Eurofins and every purity, microbial and heavy-metal assay ran in-house on methods tagged "Xymogen". The document is genuinely more than most of this category publishes, and the distinction inside it is one almost no brand draws.

The record: Lot 10005419 certificate of analysis, method column transcribed in full, 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 5 not-nsf-certified-while-the-brand-certifies-fourteen-other-products

XYMOGEN INC. is listed on NSF's own dietary-supplement register with 14 certified products, and "Probio" appears nowhere in the listing. The brand can and does certify at NSF. It has not certified this one — and it makes no NSF claim here, so nothing is being contradicted.

The record: info.nsf.org/Certified/Dietary/Listings.asp queried by CompanyName=Xymogen, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 6 the-brands-own-page-cannot-agree-on-the-products-name

The page H1 and breadcrumb read "ProbioMax® Sb DF 30 Capsules" while the product title, URL and certificate of analysis read "ProbioMax Sb 35B". Legacy "DF" naming has not been fully retired, and DSLD still files the product under "ProbioMax Sb DF".

The record: xymogen.com product page H1, breadcrumb, title and URL against the lot 10005419 COA and DSLD 294818, all 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

cGMP quality standards (self-asserted) status
DRS-276 states "All XYMOGEN® Formulas Meet or Exceed cGMP Quality Standards." No certifier is named, so there is no issuer to query. Brand-asserted and unverifiable by construction.
Batch certificate of analysis, lot 10005419 status
The strongest single document in its batch, and it needs its scope stated. Lot 10005419, material number 300005109, manufactured 11/2025, expiry 10/2028. Total probiotic enumeration measured 104,398,000,000 CFU against a specification of not less than 30 billion, by Danisco A1365 at Mérieux; S. boulardii measured 14,000,000,000 CFU against not less than 5 billion, by ZME0I at Eurofins. So the two potency assays ran at third-party laboratories and the measured total is about 3.4 times the label claim. Every purity and heavy-metal assay ran in-house on Xymogen's own methods: E. coli and Salmonella negative per 10 g by QC-017/Xymogen; arsenic 0.03 mcg against a limit of 10, cadmium 0.01 against 4.1, lead not more than 0.01 against 0.5, mercury not more than 0.01 against 0.3, all by AM-003/Xymogen. Disintegration 38 minutes against a 30 to 60 minute specification by USP <2040> simulated gastric. "Third-party tested" is true of the potency numbers and not of the contaminant numbers, and that distinction is almost never drawn. This is one lot and is not evidence about any other lot.
Which strain of S. boulardii is in the capsule
Not disclosed anywhere on the panel, the reference sheet or the product page — while the reference sheet's own evidence section rests on a literature dominated by CNCM I-745. A buyer cannot tell whether they are getting the studied organism.
Any CFU basis
Absent from the panel, DRS-276 and the product page. The only footnote defines the abbreviation. The published certificate of analysis shows a 35-month shelf life and about 3.4 times overage at manufacture, which is what a formulator does when they intend the product to still meet label at a distant expiry — and it is circumstantial evidence about one lot, not a commitment.
The split inside the three-strain Proprietary Blend
La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115 share one 174 mg / 15 billion CFU figure with no individual amounts. Any one of the three could be a token.
Whether the contaminant results were independently produced
They were not. The certificate of analysis tags every purity and heavy-metal method as Xymogen's own in-house method, while the two potency assays ran at Mérieux and Eurofins. Nothing here is refuted — the point is that "third-party tested" applies to half the document.
Whether any other lot resembles lot 10005419
Not established and not claimable. One published certificate of analysis is evidence about one lot.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109https://www.xymogen.com/Full-Catalog/Gastrointestinal-Support/ProbioMax-Sb-35B-30c/p/000000000300005109 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

This product publishes something almost nobody in this category publishes, and it is worth reading closely because of what it shows about the label rather than what it shows about the bottle.

Xymogen puts a per-lot certificate of analysis on the product page. Lot 10005419, manufactured 11/2025, expiry 10/2028. Total probiotic enumeration measured 104.4 billion CFU against a specification of not less than 30 billion; S. boulardii measured 14 billion against not less than 5. That is roughly 3.4 times the 35 billion label claim, at manufacture, on a 35-month shelf life — which is exactly what a formulator does when they intend a product to still meet label at a distant expiry.

And the label still does not promise it. The only footnote on the panel reads ”† Colony-Forming Unit”. No at-expiry, no at-manufacture, nowhere. So the honest framing is this: an unstated basis is not evidence of a bad product. It is the absence of an enforceable commitment. The buyer gets that overage as a fact about one lot, not as a guarantee about theirs.

Read the certificate one level further and there is a second distinction almost no brand draws. The two potency assays ran at Mérieux and Eurofins. Every purity, microbial and heavy-metal assay ran in-house, on methods tagged “Xymogen”. “Third-party tested” is true of half this document.

The panel itself is mostly well built. Five organisms, 5 + 15 + 15 billion, arithmetic matching the 35 billion headline exactly, HN019 broken out on its own line with its own dose. Two gaps.

Half the CFU sits in an undivided three-strain blend — La-14, Bl-05 and Lp-115 sharing one 15 billion figure, with Bl-05 carrying the thinnest literature in the formula at 3 records.

And the Saccharomyces boulardii has no strain designator at all. The brand’s own reference sheet rests its case for this organism on McFarland 2010 and three other trials. The clinical literature for S. boulardii is dominated by CNCM I-745 — 119 PubMed records under that deposit. Nothing on this label says whether that is what is in the capsule. It is the classic strain-specificity gap, and it is sitting inside an otherwise carefully disclosed panel.

One clean negative to finish, stated at the register. XYMOGEN INC. is NSF-listed with 14 certified products — and “Probio” appears nowhere in that listing. The brand can certify at NSF, and does. It has not certified this one, and it makes no NSF claim here, so nothing is being contradicted.