One product, one panel, one record.
Nature's Way Fortify Adult Daily Pre+Probiotic, 50 Billion, 30 ct (SKU 10673) — label audit
Ten organisms are named to strain and all ten map to at least one human randomised trial — and the printed panel discloses the dose of none of them, so nine of the ten could be present as a token and the 50-billion headline would still be true.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
66.0 out of 100
Rank 59 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 66.0 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 10 of 10 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 10 / 10 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 10 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 10 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 10 of 10 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 10 / 10 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | 1 claimed certification queried at the issuer’s register and not listed there. | 0 / 1 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
0.6600 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.6600. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 66.0 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | Fortify® Daily 50 Billion CFU — Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 525 mg |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 10 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
"Guarantees 50 billion live probiotic cultures through the date of expiration." Storage: "Can be stored at room temperature or refrigerated… No refrigeration needed" — an at-expiry guarantee not conditioned on a consumer cold chain, which is the stronger form of the claim.
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lactobacillus casei | Lc-11 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator tightened with a genus/species conjunct, randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | GG | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator tightened with a genus/species conjunct, randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus paracasei | Lpc-37 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | HN001 (printed as HOWARU® Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001) | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | La-14 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Lactobacillus plantarum | Lp-115 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium bifidum/lactis | Bb-02 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | BL-04 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | HN019 (printed as HOWARU® Bifidobacterium lactis HN019) | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | Bi-07 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt] |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 327963 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market. Three-way UPC match — Amazon UPC 033674106730, Shopify barcode 033674106730 and DSLD UPC 0 33674 10673 0, SKU 10673 on both brand and Amazon. The highest-confidence identity in its batch. Source for the panel structure (Fortify Daily Proprietary Probiotic Blend 525 mg, with Lactobacilli Blend and Bifidobacteria Blend nested at quantity NP), the at-expiry guarantee, the label seals and the "11 diverse probiotic strains" line. Other ingredients: cellulose, plant-derived capsule (hypromellose, gellan gum), magnesium stearate, silica. Strain provenance, verbatim: "The probiotic strains contained in this product are manufactured by IFF."
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — naturesway-10673-2026-07-31https://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Shopify. Product JSON gave price ($29.99, "30 capsules"), SKU and barcode, which cross-checked against the Amazon UPC. Supplement Facts came from the rendered product page. This is also the only surface carrying the 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal, and the source of the NSF/ANSI 455-2 and ISO claims.
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — amazon-B071Y8DDYP-2026-07-31https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071Y8DDYP — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Fetched directly, HTTP 200, no CAPTCHA. Source for the UPC used in the three-way identity check. Price was not usable — the fetch is geolocated outside the US and Amazon returned EUR carousel figures rather than the buy-box.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 10 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $29.99 USD
- What that buys
- 30 delayed-release capsules, 1 capsule daily, 30 servings per container. Brand Shopify variant, "30 capsules".
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| Non-GMO Project Verified | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| NSF/ANSI 173 Dietary Supplements (contents certification) | Absent from register | 31 July 2026 |
GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization)
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Label seal, verbatim from the DSLD transcription: "Certfied Gluten Free GFCO.org" — the misspelling is on the transcribed label. The register loads but its table is JS-rendered and empty to a fetcher, and GFCO's own page states "This list is in process and does not contain all approved manufacturers", so absence there proves nothing. Note also the scope: this certifies gluten absence, not CFU count, strain identity or potency.
Non-GMO Project Verified
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Label seal, verbatim: "Non GMO Project Verified nongmoproject.org". Every register path tried — /find-verified-products/, /find-by-product/, /find-a-product/, /find-verified/, /verified-products/ and a wp-json search — returned 404 or Cloudflare 403. Certifies GMO absence, not probiotic content.
NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Brand page claims "Our facilities are certified by NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices for dietary supplements" and "We were among the first to earn a third-party GMP certificate from NSF", plus "ISO Certified". No public register for 455-2 was reachable — /Certified/GMP4552/ returns 404 and nsf.org returns Cloudflare 403. The NSF GMP register that is public covers NSF/ANSI 173 Section 8 and does not list Nature's Way. Recorded as brand-asserted and unverified, explicitly not "does not hold it". This certifies facility process, not contents.
NSF/ANSI 173 Dietary Supplements (contents certification)
The register was queried and this product is not listed on it.
The public contents register responded and is queryable. Queries for CompanyName=Nature, Nature's Way and Natures Way, and TradeName=Fortify and Primadophilus, all return "No Matching Products Found". Nature's Way does not claim NSF product certification, so this is context and not a contradiction — but it is the reason this product carries no contents certification of any kind.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 proprietary-blend-with-zero-per-strain-cfu-on-the-printed-panel
Ten organisms sharing one 525 mg number. DSLD confirms both nested blends at quantity NP, so the printed panel carries no per-strain and no per-blend CFU at all.
The record: DSLD 327963 Supplement Facts transcription, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 2 half-the-cfu-is-unallocated-even-at-blend-level
The Lactobacilli subtotal of 36 billion lives in web copy only; the Bifidobacteria subtotal is disclosed nowhere, in any form. Roughly 14 billion of the headline 50 is knowable only by subtraction.
The record: naturesway.com product page body copy against DSLD 327963, 2026-07-31
Finding 3 eleven-diverse-probiotic-strains-against-ten-printed-designators
Both the brand page and the DSLD label say "11 diverse probiotic strains". Ten designators are printed.
The record: naturesway.com product page and DSLD 327963, both 2026-07-31
Finding 4 three-certification-claims-none-verifiable-and-none-about-probiotic-content
GFCO gluten-free, Non-GMO Project Verified and NSF/ANSI 455-2 facility GMP. None could be confirmed at its issuer's register, and the scope trap matters more than the verification: all three certify gluten absence, GMO absence or facility process. None of them certifies CFU count, strain identity or potency at expiry. This product carries no contents certification.
The record: gfco.org, nongmoproject.org and NSF registers all queried 2026-07-31; DSLD 327963 label seals
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) status
- Label seal, verbatim from the DSLD transcription: "Certfied Gluten Free GFCO.org" — the misspelling is on the transcribed label. The register loads but its table is JS-rendered and empty to a fetcher, and GFCO's own page states "This list is in process and does not contain all approved manufacturers", so absence there proves nothing. Note also the scope: this certifies gluten absence, not CFU count, strain identity or potency.
- Non-GMO Project Verified status
- Label seal, verbatim: "Non GMO Project Verified nongmoproject.org". Every register path tried — /find-verified-products/, /find-by-product/, /find-a-product/, /find-verified/, /verified-products/ and a wp-json search — returned 404 or Cloudflare 403. Certifies GMO absence, not probiotic content.
- NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices status
- Brand page claims "Our facilities are certified by NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices for dietary supplements" and "We were among the first to earn a third-party GMP certificate from NSF", plus "ISO Certified". No public register for 455-2 was reachable — /Certified/GMP4552/ returns 404 and nsf.org returns Cloudflare 403. The NSF GMP register that is public covers NSF/ANSI 173 Section 8 and does not list Nature's Way. Recorded as brand-asserted and unverified, explicitly not "does not hold it". This certifies facility process, not contents.
- A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
- The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
- How the 50 billion CFU is split across the ten organisms
- The printed Supplement Facts panel carries no per-strain and no per-blend CFU at all — DSLD confirms both nested blends at quantity NP, "not provided". A 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal appears in web copy; the Bifidobacteria subtotal appears nowhere, and is only implied at 14 billion by subtraction. So a reader cannot tell whether any of these strains is present at its studied dose.
- Why the label says eleven strains when ten designators are printed
- The page and the DSLD label both say "11 diverse probiotic strains" while only 10 designators appear. The eleventh looks like an artefact of the dual-species entry "Bifidobacterium bifidum/lactis Bb-02" being counted twice, but that is an appearance rather than a confirmed explanation.
- Any of the three claimed certifications, at its issuer
- GFCO's register is incomplete by its own admission, the Non-GMO Project's register is Cloudflare-blocked on every path tried, and no public register for NSF/ANSI 455-2 was reachable. All three are recorded as brand-asserted and unverified — explicitly not as "does not hold it".
- Amazon's current US price
- The fetch is geolocated outside the US and Amazon returned EUR carousel figures rather than the buy-box. The price published here is the brand's own.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
The strain disclosure here is genuinely good, and the evidence behind it is the best in its batch. Ten organisms, ten real designators, and ten of ten carrying at least one human randomised trial under the exact code printed — including L. rhamnosus GG at 191 RCTs, HN001 at 49 and HN019 at 36. The brand is also restrained about it on-label, claiming only “4 clinically studied probiotic strains” where the full table would support a bigger number. That is restraint, and this site notices when a brand under-claims.
Now the catch, and it is the whole ballgame. The printed panel discloses the dose of none of them. The
federal label record confirms it explicitly: both nested blends are recorded at quantity NP — not
provided. Fifty billion CFU sits behind a single 525 mg line. A 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal exists in
the brand’s web copy, and the Bifidobacteria subtotal exists nowhere at all; you can only get to it by
subtraction. So the useful question — is any of these well-studied strains present at the dose its trials
used? — is unanswerable. Nine of the ten could be a token inclusion and the 50-billion headline would
still be true.
The CFU basis deserves credit and gets it: “Guarantees 50 billion live probiotic cultures through the date of expiration”, with no refrigeration required. That is the stronger form of the claim — an at-expiry guarantee that does not quietly depend on the consumer’s fridge.
The certifications need reading carefully, and the scope matters more than the verification. Three are claimed: GFCO gluten-free, Non-GMO Project Verified, and NSF/ANSI 455-2 facility GMP. None could be confirmed at its issuer’s register — GFCO’s list is incomplete by its own admission, the Non-GMO Project’s register was blocked on every path tried, and no public register exists for 455-2 — so all three are recorded as asserted and unverified rather than absent. But even if all three were confirmed tomorrow, they would certify gluten absence, GMO absence and facility process. Not one of them says anything about how many live organisms are in the capsule.
One footnote the label itself trips over: both the brand page and the label record say “11 diverse probiotic strains”, and ten designators are printed.
And the finding this site was built for: Nature’s Way currently sells six women’s-specific probiotic SKUs and zero men’s. A men’s SKU did exist — Fortify Men’s Probiotic 30 Billion, two DSLD records, both flagged off market. A top-five mass brand built a men’s probiotic, discontinued it, and kept all six women’s products.