One product, one panel, one record.
Nature's Way Fortify Men's 30 Billion Daily Probiotic (delisted; DSLD 259392, UPC 033674132913) — label audit
The one ingredient that makes this a men's product is selenium at 200 mcg as L-selenomethionine — the exact dose and the exact chemical form used in SELECT, the largest prostate-cancer prevention trial ever run in men (n=35,533), which found no prevention effect, and whose baseline-status analysis found a 91% increase in high-grade prostate cancer among men whose selenium was already adequate.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
70.4 out of 100
Rank 51 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 11 of 11 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 11 / 11 = 1.0000 | 0.2400 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 11 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 11 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 8 of 11 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 8 / 11 = 0.7273 | 0.145455 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.605455 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.7040. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 70.4 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 30 Billion CFU per capsule (Lactobacilli Blend 22 Billion CFU, Bifidobacteria Blend 8 Billion CFU) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | All organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 11 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Marketed to men |
Three independent statements, all saying the same thing. Archived brand PDP: "guaranteed to be potent through expiration". DSLD 259392, Formula re: Contains: "…will deliver 30 billion live probiotic cultures until the date of expiration without refrigeration…". DSLD 259392, Formulation re: Other: "Guaranteed potency". The label also discloses the unit it is counting in — "Potency of live cultures measured in Colony Forming Units (CFU)."
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lactobacillus paracasei | Lpc-37 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus paracasei Lpc-37" OR "Lacticaseibacillus paracasei Lpc-37" |
| Lactobacillus plantarum | Lp-115 | — not stated separately | Human records, no RCT | "Lactobacillus plantarum Lp-115" OR "Lactiplantibacillus plantarum Lp-115" |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | GG | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG" OR "Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus GG" OR "ATCC 53103" |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | HOWARU Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus rhamnosus HN001" OR "Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus HN001" |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | La-14 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Lactobacillus acidophilus La-14" OR "Lactobacillus acidophilus LA-14" |
| Lactobacillus brevis | Lbr-35 | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "Lactobacillus brevis Lbr-35" OR "Levilactobacillus brevis Lbr-35" (0, phrase-not-found); "Lbr-35"[tw] (1); "Lbr35" (1); "Lactobacillus brevis" AND "Lbr-35" (0) |
| Lactobacillus casei | Lc-11 | — not stated separately | No records | "Lactobacillus casei Lc-11" OR "Lacticaseibacillus casei Lc-11" (phrase-not-found); "Lc-11"[tw] AND (probiotic OR Lactobacillus) (4, all token-matches); "Lactobacillus casei Lc11" (phrase-not-found) |
| Bifidobacterium bifidum/lactis | Bb-02 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bifidobacterium lactis Bb-02" OR "Bifidobacterium bifidum Bb-02" |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | Bi-07 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bifidobacterium lactis Bi-07" OR "Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis Bi-07" |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | BL-04 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bifidobacterium lactis Bl-04" OR "Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis Bl-04" |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | HOWARU Bifidobacterium lactis HN019 | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "Bifidobacterium lactis HN019" OR "Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis HN019" |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 259392 (opens in a new tab) captured NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record, entered 2022-01-22, off market 2022-07-22. Source for the full Supplement Facts, all label statements, %DV, the at-expiry potency statements, the IQVIA footnote and the target-group coding ("Adult Male (18-50 Years)", "Gluten Free"). UPC 0 33674 13291 3, matching the archived brand page's printed UPC 033674132913.
- Internet Archive capture — 20230206085414 (opens in a new tab) captured The only Internet Archive snapshot of this product detail page that has ever existed, confirmed by CDX query returning a single row. Source for the price ($25.49), the marketing copy, the Supplement Facts as the brand printed it, the Other Ingredients and the UPC. Field-by-field agreement with DSLD 259392.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 273450 (opens in a new tab) captured The third DSLD record for the same formula, entered 2023-01-23 and still carrying offMarket: 0 in 2026 — three-plus years after entry and long after the brand removed the product. Recorded here as the evidence behind the government-database staleness finding.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 8 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$0.85 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $25.49 USD
- What that buys
- 30 delayed-release vegetarian capsules (30 servings, 1 capsule daily)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it from (opens in a new tab)
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| GFCO Certified Gluten-Free | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| Non-GMO Project Verified | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| TRU-ID ("Certified Authentic — Tru-ID" / "DNA authenticated probiotic strains") | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
GFCO Certified Gluten-Free
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The one register in this set that is machine-readable and UPC-indexed, so it was queried four times. products.gfco.org/?s=Fortify returns thirteen Nature's Way Fortify entries listed by UPC — including Fortify Womens 30B (033674102954), Fortify Daily 30B (033674102947) and Fortify Optima Women's 90B (033674158593) — and no men's entry. The men's UPC 033674132913 returns "No products found", as does the item number 13291. The fourth query is the trap: products.gfco.org/?s=Fortify+Mens returns three results, all of them Fortify Womens, because "Mens" is a substring of "Womens". An analyst running only that query would conclude the men's SKU is certified. Two register-side notes for anyone reproducing this: GFCO stores the brand with a backtick, as "Nature`s Way", so a search for "Nature's Way" returns nothing. How to read the result, precisely: the men's SKU's UPC is not present in GFCO's public register as of 2026-07-31 while thirteen sibling products are. That is NOT evidence the product was never certified — it has been off-market since 2022 and registers routinely delist discontinued SKUs. The defensible statement is that the gluten-free certification printed on this label cannot be verified at the issuer's register today.
Non-GMO Project Verified
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The register renders its product results client-side; the server HTML contains zero product rows for any query. The register could not be reached, so the claim is unverified. This is a limit of access, not evidence against the brand.
TRU-ID ("Certified Authentic — Tru-ID" / "DNA authenticated probiotic strains")
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The issuer has gone dark. TRU-ID was a University of Guelph-derived Canadian DNA-barcoding certification. Domain probes on 2026-07-31: truid.ca does not resolve (HTTP 000); tru-id.ca and www.tru-id.ca redirect to tru-id.site, which returns a non-standard HTTP 436; truidcertification.com does not resolve. No public certified-product register was located. A DNA-authentication mark on a supplement label whose issuing body has no reachable website and no public register is unverifiable by construction — the consumer-facing purpose of a certification mark is defeated. Note also the scope: TRU-ID authenticates species identity by DNA, which is precisely the one thing that would not catch this product's actual weakness, namely that eleven confirmed-identity strains share an undisclosed 30 billion CFU. No register URL is recorded because none exists to record.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
Compared against Nature's Way Fortify Women's Daily Probiotic 30 Billion (DSLD 317110, UPC 033674102954). Diffed .
What the two panels differ by
- Selenium 200 mcg (364% DV) as L-selenomethionine is in the men's product and entirely absent from the women's. It is the only male-specific ingredient on the panel. DSLD 259392 versus DSLD 317110
- Eleven strains against ten, and the blend masses are 20 mg apart — 500 mg men's, 520 mg women's. The men's SKU has seven Lactobacilli and four Bifidobacteria; the women's has eight and two. DSLD 259392 versus DSLD 317110
- Three strains are men's-only — Lbr-35, Bb-02 and Bi-07 — and two of the men's SKU's three zero-or-weak-evidence strains sit among them. Lbr-35 is men's-only and has no human literature at all under its printed designator. DSLD 259392 versus DSLD 317110; PubMed E-utilities, queries recorded per organism, 2026-07-31
- Two strains are women's-only — L. acidophilus NCFM and L. rhamnosus Lr-32. DSLD 317110
- The women's label makes a urogenital claim and the men's makes none. The women's states "Promotes vaginal health with clinically studied probiotic strains L. acidophilus La-14 and L. rhamnosus HN001" — and both of those strains are also in the men's product. The men's label makes no prostate claim and no urinary claim. The brand had the same two strains in both bottles and could only find a urogenital claim to make for one sex. That is not a formulation difference; it is an evidence difference, and the men's side is the empty one. DSLD 317110 label statements versus DSLD 259392 label statements
- The men's SKU has been off-market since 2022 and its PDP returns HTTP 404. The women's is live at $23.99 — $1.50 cheaper than the men's ever was. naturesway.com/collections/probiotics/products.json?limit=250 — 28 live SKUs, seven women's, zero men's, 2026-07-31
What is identical across the pair
- Same total potency, 30 Billion CFU, on the same at-expiry basis.
- Same dose form and count — one delayed-release capsule daily, 30 per bottle.
- Same prebiotic at the same dose, chicory root fiber 50 mg.
- Same supplier, IFF (formerly DuPont/Danisco), disclosed on both labels.
- Eight of the eleven organisms are common to both — Lpc-37, Lp-115, GG, HN001, La-14, Lc-11, Bl-04 and HN019.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 the-only-male-specific-ingredient-is-the-select-dose-and-form-of-selenium
Selenium 200 mcg as L-selenomethionine, 364% DV, is the sole male-specific ingredient on the panel — there is no prostate botanical, no saw palmetto, no zinc, no lycopene, no urinary ingredient and no male-associated organism. The brand is explicit about it: "Specially formulated for men with a proprietary blend of Lactobacilli and Bifidobacteria probiotics and Selenium… and Selenium for men's health", and "Selenium is a powerful antioxidant to support men's health". That is not an arbitrary dose. It is the exact dose and exact chemical form used in SELECT — Lippman SM et al., JAMA 2009;301(1):39-51, PMID 19066370, NCT00006392 — a phase III randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind trial in 35,533 men across 427 sites, whose prostate-cancer hazard ratio for selenium was 1.04 (99% CI 0.87–1.24) and which concluded that selenium did not prevent prostate cancer. The prespecified baseline-status analysis is the one that matters for a supplement sold to unselected men: Kristal AR et al., J Natl Cancer Inst 2014;106(3):djt456, PMID 24563519, found that selenium supplementation increased the risk of high-grade prostate cancer by 91% (P = .007) among men whose baseline selenium status was already high, with no benefit in men whose status was low, and its authors advise men to avoid selenium supplementation above recommended dietary intakes. The selenium RDA for adult men is 55 mcg; the Tolerable Upper Intake Level is 400 mcg. A daily probiotic buyer does not know his toenail selenium percentile, and by the design of the product he is taking it indefinitely.
The record: PMID 19066370 · PMID 24563519 · NCT00006392 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 3 three-of-eleven-strains-have-no-human-rct-under-the-printed-designator
Lbr-35 returns zero records containing the designator as an indexed phrase across three spelling variants; its one loose-match record, PMID 34488774, is a bacterial transcriptomics paper. Lc-11 returns zero across two further spellings; its four apparent hits are PubMed phrase-fallback artefacts matched on tokens rather than the designator. Lp-115 returns 10 records and zero RCT-tagged ones. Two of these three — Lbr-35 and Bb-02's neighbours aside — are men's-only additions that the brand's women's SKU does not carry.
The record: PubMed E-utilities, all queries warning-checked for quotedphrasesnotfound, 2026-07-31
Finding 4 doctor-preferred-rests-on-a-2019-physician-preference-survey-not-a-trial
The claim is "Contains the doctor-preferred probiotic for regularity". The label's own footnote, verbatim from DSLD: "Based on an IQVIA ProVoice survey of Primary Care Physicians, HOWARU B. lactis HN019 is the doctor preferred probiotic strain for regularity as compared to other strains in leading probiotic brands, 52-week sales MULO, ending 11/3/2019; December 2019." That is a market-research survey of physician preference plus retail sales data — it measures what doctors say they prefer, not what works. Credit where due: the brand discloses the methodology and the date on the label, which most brands making a "doctor recommended" claim do not. The date is the finding — a December 2019 survey still footnoting a 2023 label. And HN019 does have real regularity evidence, 27 RCT-tagged records, so the brand had a genuine clinical citation available and reached for a preference survey instead.
The record: DSLD 259392 label footnote, verbatim — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 5 a-dna-authentication-mark-whose-issuer-has-gone-dark
The label carries "Certified Authentic - Tru-ID" and "DNA authenticated probiotic strains", and the PDP repeats "DNA-authenticated". TRU-ID's domains do not resolve or return a non-standard HTTP 436, and no public certified-product register was located. A certification mark whose issuing body has no reachable website and no public register is unverifiable by construction. This generalises: certification marks outlive their certifiers, and the label does not tell you when that happens.
The record: Domain probes of truid.ca, tru-id.ca, tru-id.site and truidcertification.com, 2026-07-31
Finding 6 gluten-free-mark-not-findable-at-the-issuers-register-by-upc
Four queries against GFCO's public register. The men's UPC 033674132913 and item number 13291 both return "No products found", while thirteen sibling Nature's Way Fortify products — including the women's 30 Billion — are present and indexed by UPC. A fourth query on the product name returns three false positives, all of them Fortify Womens, because the register substring-matches and "Mens" is a substring of "Womens".
The record: products.gfco.org, four queries, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 7 no-culture-collection-accession-for-ten-of-eleven-strains
Every one of the eleven organisms carries a specific commercial strain designator, which is materially better disclosure than most of this category. The standard caveat still applies: these are supplier designators, not culture-collection accessions. Lpc-37, La-14, Lp-115, Bi-07, Bl-04, Bb-02, Lbr-35 and Lc-11 are IFF/Danisco trade codes and HN001 and HN019 are Fonterra trade codes. Only GG is printed in a form that resolves to a public deposit without a supplier catalogue.
The record: Archived brand panel and DSLD 259392, 2026-07-31
Finding 8 the-first-and-only-choice-is-an-unsubstantiated-superiority-claim
The PDP describes the product as "the first and only choice for digestive and immune health support", with no basis offered. The page also carries an uncited delivery claim — "Each capsule is resistant to the harmful effects of stomach acid and distributes live cultures to the proper area of the small intestine and colon" — where the delayed-release capsule is real but the delivery claim cites nothing. Set against that: no disease claims, no prostate claim, no testosterone claim and no libido claim appear anywhere. On the narrow regulatory question this label is clean, and cleaner than much of this category.
The record: Archived brand PDP, Wayback capture 20230206085414 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 9 delisted-since-2022-while-the-brand-runs-seven-womens-probiotic-skus
The PDP returns HTTP 404, and the brand's own machine-readable collection feed confirms it independently: 28 live probiotic SKUs, zero men's. Seven are women's-coded, including a dedicated urinary-tract product. Nature's Way built a men's SKU, ran it from roughly 2020 to 2022, and killed it while expanding the women's line.
The record: naturesway.com PDP HTTP 404 and naturesway.com/collections/probiotics/products.json?limit=250 — 28 products, 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://naturesway.com/collections/probiotics/products.json?limit=250 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 10 the-government-label-database-still-flags-this-product-on-market
Three DSLD records exist for this product — 230252 (entered 2020-07-23, off market 2021-12-10), 259392 (entered 2022-01-22, off market 2022-07-22) and 273450 (entered 2023-01-23, offMarket: 0). All three carry the same formula, and DSLD relates 259392 to the other two as "Image difference, same product". Record 273450 still classifies the product as on-market in 2026, more than three years after entry and long after the brand removed it. DSLD is a reliable source of what the label said. It is not a reliable source of current availability, and that distinction should travel with every DSLD citation on this site.
The record: DSLD 230252, 259392 and 273450 — open it (opens in a new tab)
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- GFCO Certified Gluten-Free status
- The one register in this set that is machine-readable and UPC-indexed, so it was queried four times. products.gfco.org/?s=Fortify returns thirteen Nature's Way Fortify entries listed by UPC — including Fortify Womens 30B (033674102954), Fortify Daily 30B (033674102947) and Fortify Optima Women's 90B (033674158593) — and no men's entry. The men's UPC 033674132913 returns "No products found", as does the item number 13291. The fourth query is the trap: products.gfco.org/?s=Fortify+Mens returns three results, all of them Fortify Womens, because "Mens" is a substring of "Womens". An analyst running only that query would conclude the men's SKU is certified. Two register-side notes for anyone reproducing this: GFCO stores the brand with a backtick, as "Nature`s Way", so a search for "Nature's Way" returns nothing. How to read the result, precisely: the men's SKU's UPC is not present in GFCO's public register as of 2026-07-31 while thirteen sibling products are. That is NOT evidence the product was never certified — it has been off-market since 2022 and registers routinely delist discontinued SKUs. The defensible statement is that the gluten-free certification printed on this label cannot be verified at the issuer's register today.
- Non-GMO Project Verified status
- The register renders its product results client-side; the server HTML contains zero product rows for any query. The register could not be reached, so the claim is unverified. This is a limit of access, not evidence against the brand.
- TRU-ID ("Certified Authentic — Tru-ID" / "DNA authenticated probiotic strains") status
- The issuer has gone dark. TRU-ID was a University of Guelph-derived Canadian DNA-barcoding certification. Domain probes on 2026-07-31: truid.ca does not resolve (HTTP 000); tru-id.ca and www.tru-id.ca redirect to tru-id.site, which returns a non-standard HTTP 436; truidcertification.com does not resolve. No public certified-product register was located. A DNA-authentication mark on a supplement label whose issuing body has no reachable website and no public register is unverifiable by construction — the consumer-facing purpose of a certification mark is defeated. Note also the scope: TRU-ID authenticates species identity by DNA, which is precisely the one thing that would not catch this product's actual weakness, namely that eleven confirmed-identity strains share an undisclosed 30 billion CFU. No register URL is recorded because none exists to record.
- The current street price, or whether residual retail inventory exists
- The product is delisted and the only price recovered is the brand's own archived figure from 2023-02-06. Marketplace inventory was not checked or priced this pass, so no current price is stated or estimated.
- Per-strain CFU
- Eleven strains share 30 billion CFU with only a two-tier split disclosed — Lactobacilli 22 billion, Bifidobacteria 8 billion. No organism has an individual CFU. On an equal split that is roughly 3.1 billion per Lactobacillus and 2 billion per Bifidobacterium, an order of magnitude below the doses at which GG and HN019 were studied as monotherapy. The split is almost certainly not equal, and it is unknowable from the label.
- Any culture-collection accession for ten of the eleven strains
- Lpc-37, La-14, Lp-115, Bi-07, Bl-04, Bb-02, Lbr-35 and Lc-11 are IFF/Danisco trade codes; HN001 and HN019 are Fonterra trade codes. No ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB or CECT number appears anywhere on the label or the PDP. Only L. rhamnosus GG is printed in a form that resolves to a public deposit (ATCC 53103) without consulting a supplier catalogue.
- Funding and author affiliation behind the IFF-supplied strain trials
- Full text was not pulled, so conflict-of-interest status for those trials is unverified here.
- Whether the GFCO certification was ever held
- The register was queried four times and the men's UPC is not in it, while thirteen sibling Fortify products are. The product has been off-market since 2022 and certification registers routinely delist discontinued SKUs, so absence today is not evidence of absence then. The only publishable statement is that the mark printed on this label cannot be verified at the issuer's register now.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
On label transparency this is among the strongest products in this project, and its own headline ingredient is the worst finding in it. Both halves are the story; neither should be read alone.
Start with the transparency, because it is genuinely unusual. Eleven organisms, every one carrying a specific commercial strain designator — Lpc-37, Lp-115, GG, HN001, La-14, Lbr-35, Lc-11, Bb-02, Bi-07, BL-04, HN019 — with the supplier named on the label. A two-tier CFU split disclosed. Potency guaranteed through expiration, said three ways across the panel and the government record. The unit of measure stated outright: “Potency of live cultures measured in Colony Forming Units (CFU).” The methodology and date printed behind its softest claim. And $0.85 a day, the cheapest product in its batch by a factor of two.
Because the strains are named, the evidence question is answerable, and the answer is more strain-matched trials than any other men’s-marketed SKU in this project carries: 8 of 11 strains have at least one human RCT under the exact printed designator. It is not the best ratio on the site — smaller panels resolve cleanly, and this brand’s own Fortify Adult 50 Billion resolves all ten of the slots it prints. Three do not — Lbr-35 returns nothing across three spellings, Lc-11 nothing across two (its four apparent hits are a PubMed phrase-fallback artefact), and Lp-115 has ten records and zero trials.
Now the ingredient that makes it a men’s product.
There is exactly one, and the brand says so: selenium, 200 mcg as L-selenomethionine, 364% DV, “for men’s health”. That is not an arbitrary number. It is the exact dose and the exact chemical form used in SELECT — 35,533 men, 427 sites, phase III, randomised, double-blind — which found a prostate-cancer hazard ratio of 1.04 and concluded that selenium did not prevent prostate cancer. And the prespecified baseline-status analysis of that same trial found that selenium supplementation increased high-grade prostate cancer risk by 91% among men whose selenium status was already adequate, with no benefit in men whose status was low.
This does not say the product causes prostate cancer. It does not say that, the trial does not say that, and SELECT tested selenium alone rather than this capsule. Nature’s Way makes only a structure/function claim and never claims a prostate benefit — real restraint, and it should be credited. The finding is narrower and exact: the one thing that makes this a men’s product is dosed precisely where a very large men’s trial found no benefit and a subgroup harm signal.
The panel diff against the brand’s own women’s SKU sharpens it. Same platform: same 30 billion CFU, same at-expiry basis, same one-capsule dose, same 50 mg of chicory root fiber, same supplier, eight of eleven organisms shared. The men’s product is that shared platform plus selenium plus three strains, two of which have no human evidence. And the claim asymmetry is the tell — the women’s label credits “L. acidophilus La-14 and L. rhamnosus HN001” by name for vaginal health, and both of those strains are in the men’s bottle too. The brand had the same two strains on both sides and could only find a urogenital claim to make for one sex.
The men’s SKU has been off-market since 2022. The brand currently sells seven women’s probiotic SKUs, including a dedicated urinary-tract product, and zero men’s.