One product, one panel, one record.

Nature's Way Fortify Daily Pre+Probiotic Age 50+, Extra Strength 50 Billion, 30 ct (SKU 11582) — label audit

Same price, same 525 mg blend and same ten designators as the brand's non-50+ sibling — and strictly less disclosure. The adult version at least publishes a 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal in web copy. This one publishes no CFU subtotal for either blend.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

64.0 out of 100

Rank 69 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over the whole rubric: this record answers all five questions below, so nothing is renormalised away and the divisor is the full 1.00. That share travels with every score on this site and is never dropped — a score over part of the rubric’s weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 64.0 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 10 of 10 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 10 / 10 = 1.0000 0.2400
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 10 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 10 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. 3 / 3 = 1.0000 0.2200
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 9 of 10 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 9 / 10 = 0.9000 0.1800
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 1 claimed certification queried at the issuer’s register and not listed there. 0 / 1 = 0.0000 0.0000
The five weights sum to 1.00. This record answers all five, so the divisor below is that full 1.00 and nothing has been renormalised away. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.6400 — the last column added up — divided by 1.00, the weight this record could answer, is 0.6400. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 64.0 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Nature's Way Fortify Daily Pre+Probiotic Age 50+, Extra Strength 50 Billion, 30 ct (SKU 11582) discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed Fortify® Age 50+ 50 Billion CFU — Proprietary Probiotic Blend — 525 mg
What that count is measured against Through expiry
Strain designators All organisms coded
Organism slots transcribed here 10 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 333747

"Guarantees 50 billion live probiotic cultures through the date of expiration." No refrigeration required.

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.

Every organism on the panel carries a printed strain designator. Whether those designators lead anywhere is a separate question, answered below.

Every organism named on the panel of Nature's Way Fortify Daily Pre+Probiotic Age 50+, Extra Strength 50 Billion, 30 ct (SKU 11582), in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Bifidobacterium bifidum/lactis Bb-02 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium lactis HN019 (printed as HOWARU® Bifidobacterium lactis HN019) — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium lactis Bi-07 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium bifidum Bb-06 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Bifidobacterium longum BL-05 — not stated separately Human records, no RCT ("Bl-05" OR "Bl05") AND (Bifidobacterium OR longum OR probiotic), with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactobacillus paracasei Lpc-37 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator tightened with a genus/species conjunct, randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactobacillus acidophilus NCFM (printed as HOWARU® Lactobacillus acidophilus NCFM) — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator tightened with a genus/species conjunct, randomized controlled trial[pt]
Lactobacillus plantarum Lp-115 — not stated separately Human RCT PubMed E-utilities, exact designator with randomized controlled trial[pt]
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 333747 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market. Three-way UPC match — Amazon UPC 033674115824, Shopify barcode 033674115824 and DSLD UPC 0 33674 11582 4, SKU 11582. Source for the panel structure (Proprietary Probiotic Blend 525 mg plus Chicory root fiber 50 mg, with both nested blends at quantity NP), the at-expiry guarantee and the label seals. Other ingredients identical to the non-50+ sibling.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagenaturesway-11582-2026-07-31https://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic-adults-50 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Shopify. Product JSON gave price ($29.99, "30 capsules"), SKU and barcode, cross-checked against the Amazon UPC. Supplement Facts from the rendered page. Source for the on-label "3 clinically studied probiotic strains" claim (HN019, Bi-07, BL-04) and the NSF/ANSI 455-2 and ISO claims.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pageamazon-B00099QQIM-2026-07-31https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00099QQIM — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Fetched directly, HTTP 200, no CAPTCHA. Source for the UPC used in the three-way identity check. Price not usable — EUR carousel figures returned rather than the buy-box.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 9 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$29.99 USD
What that buys
30 delayed-release capsules, 1 capsule daily, 30 servings per container. Brand Shopify variant, "30 capsules".
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic-adults-50 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Nature's Way Fortify Daily Pre+Probiotic Age 50+, Extra Strength 50 Billion, 30 ct (SKU 11582), each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
Non-GMO Project Verified Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices Brand-asserted, unverified 31 July 2026
NSF/ANSI 173 Dietary Supplements (contents certification) Absent from register 31 July 2026

GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization)

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

The register loads but its table is JS-rendered and empty to a fetcher, and GFCO's own page states "This list is in process and does not contain all approved manufacturers", so absence proves nothing. Certifies gluten absence, not probiotic content.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

Non-GMO Project Verified

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

Every register path tried returned 404 or Cloudflare 403. Certifies GMO absence, not probiotic content.

NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices

The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.

No public register for 455-2 was reachable — /Certified/GMP4552/ returns 404 and nsf.org returns Cloudflare 403. The NSF GMP register that is public covers NSF/ANSI 173 Section 8 and does not list Nature's Way. Brand-asserted and unverified, explicitly not "does not hold it". Certifies facility process, not contents.

NSF/ANSI 173 Dietary Supplements (contents certification)

The register was queried and this product is not listed on it.

Queried under five company and trade-name variants, all "No Matching Products Found". Nature's Way does not claim NSF product certification, so this is context and not a contradiction — but it is why this product carries no contents certification of any kind.

The register we queried (opens in a new tab)

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 zero-cfu-disclosure-below-the-fifty-billion-headline

No per-strain figure, no per-blend subtotal, nothing. All 50 billion sits behind a single proprietary-blend number, and DSLD confirms both nested blends at quantity NP. Strictly worse than the sibling SKU at exactly the same price.

The record: DSLD 333747 Supplement Facts transcription against DSLD 327963, both 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 2 bl-05-has-zero-human-rcts

Bifidobacterium longum BL-05 returns 0 RCT-tagged records on the tightened query, from 5 total PubMed records — a designator with a literature footprint but no randomised human trial found. The absence was run twice, bare and tightened, before being stated.

The record: PubMed exact-designator queries, bare (6 records, 0 RCTs) and tightened (5 records, 0 RCTs), 2026-07-31

Finding 3 eleven-diverse-probiotic-strains-against-ten-printed-designators

Both the brand page and the DSLD label say "11 diverse probiotic strains". Ten designators are printed.

The record: naturesway.com product page and DSLD 333747, both 2026-07-31

Finding 4 three-certification-claims-none-verifiable-and-none-about-probiotic-content

GFCO gluten-free, Non-GMO Project Verified and NSF/ANSI 455-2 facility GMP. None could be confirmed at its issuer's register, and none of the three certifies CFU count, strain identity or potency at expiry. This product carries no contents certification.

The record: gfco.org, nongmoproject.org and NSF registers all queried 2026-07-31; DSLD 333747 label seals

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

GFCO (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) status
The register loads but its table is JS-rendered and empty to a fetcher, and GFCO's own page states "This list is in process and does not contain all approved manufacturers", so absence proves nothing. Certifies gluten absence, not probiotic content.
Non-GMO Project Verified status
Every register path tried returned 404 or Cloudflare 403. Certifies GMO absence, not probiotic content.
NSF/ANSI 455-2 Good Manufacturing Practices status
No public register for 455-2 was reachable — /Certified/GMP4552/ returns 404 and nsf.org returns Cloudflare 403. The NSF GMP register that is public covers NSF/ANSI 173 Section 8 and does not list Nature's Way. Brand-asserted and unverified, explicitly not "does not hold it". Certifies facility process, not contents.
A men’s-versus-women’s label diff
The same brand’s women’s SKU has not been compared against this panel.
Any CFU figure below the 50-billion headline
There is none, at any level. No per-strain figure and no per-blend subtotal; DSLD confirms both nested blends at quantity NP, "not provided". The sibling adult SKU at least publishes a 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal in web copy. This one publishes nothing, at the same price.
Why the label says eleven strains when ten designators are printed
Same discrepancy as the sibling SKU. The eleventh appears to be an artefact of the dual-species entry "Bifidobacterium bifidum/lactis Bb-02" being counted twice, but that is an appearance rather than a confirmed explanation.
Any of the three claimed certifications, at its issuer
GFCO's register is incomplete by its own admission, the Non-GMO Project's register is Cloudflare-blocked on every path tried, and no public register for NSF/ANSI 455-2 was reachable.
Amazon's current US price
The fetch is geolocated outside the US and Amazon returned EUR carousel figures rather than the buy-box. The price published here is the brand's own.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic-adults-50https://naturesway.com/products/fortify-50-billion-daily-probiotic-adults-50 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

This is the age-segmented version of a product audited alongside it, and the most useful thing about it is the comparison, because everything else is held constant. Same brand, same $29.99, same $1.00 a day, same 525 mg blend mass, same 50 mg of chicory fibre, same at-expiry guarantee, same ten designators printed against a claim of eleven.

What differs is the disclosure, and it differs in the wrong direction. The non-50+ sibling at least publishes a 36-billion Lactobacilli subtotal in its web copy, which lets a reader work out the Bifidobacteria half by subtraction. This SKU publishes no subtotal for either blend — nothing, at any level, below the 50-billion headline. The federal label record confirms both nested blends at quantity NP, not provided. You are paying the same money for strictly less information.

The formula itself is Bifido-forward, which is a coherent thing to do for an older buyer: six Bifidobacterium entries listed first, four Lactobacillus entries after. Nine of the ten designators carry at least one human randomised trial under the exact code on the label, several of them heavily — L. rhamnosus GG at 191, HN019 at 36, NCFM at 35. The tenth, B. longum BL-05, returns zero. It has a literature footprint of five records and no randomised human trial that could be found; that absence was queried twice, bare and tightened, before being written down.

Credit where it belongs: the on-label claim is “3 clinically studied probiotic strains” — considerably more conservative than the table above would support. And the potency basis is the honest form, “Guarantees 50 billion live probiotic cultures through the date of expiration”, with no refrigeration condition attached.

The certifications carry the same scope trap as every Nature’s Way SKU. Gluten-free, Non-GMO and facility GMP: three claims, none confirmable at its issuer, and — more to the point — none of them about what is actually in the capsule. There is no contents certification on this product.

One last observation worth keeping. Nature’s Way segments this line by age, and by sex for women only. Six live women’s probiotic SKUs, zero men’s, and a men’s SKU that existed and was discontinued.