One product, one panel, one record.
Renew Life Ultimate Flora Men's Care Probiotic 50 Billion (SKU RN1530124, sold on Amazon as "Probiotics for Men 50 Billion CFU") — label audit
The bottle is less informative than the advert. The Supplement Facts panel disambiguates its strains with bare parenthetical numbers — B. lactis (1), (2), (3) — while the brand's own Amazon listing for the same SKU names all twelve real designators: Bl-04, HN019, Bi-07, Bi-26, Lp-115, GG, NCFM, Ll-23, Lc-11, Lpc-37, La-14, Lbr-35. The brand knows these codes and chose not to print them on the label.
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Torn down 2026-07-31, after the founding cohort of 27 was frozen. It sits outside every D27 denominator the site publishes.
- How deep this went
- Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
41.5 out of 100
Rank 103 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 6 of 12 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. | 6 / 12 = 0.5000 | 0.1200 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 0 of 12 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 0 / 12 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 1 of 12 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 1 / 12 = 0.0833 | 0.016667 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.356667 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.4147. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 41.5 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 50 Billion CFU (28 billion Bifidobacterium, 22 billion Lacto/Lactococcus) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | Some organisms coded |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 12 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Marketed to men |
"At Expiration Date under recommended storage conditions. Store in a cool, dry place. Best if refrigerated. Provides postbiotic benefits from inanimate organisms."
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
Some organisms carry a printed strain designator and some are named by species only.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bifidobacterium lactis | (1) | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | (2) | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium lactis | (3) | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Bifidobacterium infantis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus plantarum | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus rhamnosus | GG | — not stated separately | Human RCT | "ATCC 53103" |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | (1) | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactococcus lactis | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus casei | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus paracasei | — none printed | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus acidophilus | (2) | — not stated separately | No designator printed | — |
| Lactobacillus brevis | — none printed | — not stated separately | Animal or in-vitro only | "Lbr-35", "Lbr35", "LBR-35" |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — RN1530124AMAZONIMAGES02.jpghttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-mens-care-probiotic-50-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1530124 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own 1800x2400 Supplement Facts JPEG, transcribed by hand. The transcription method was validated on two sibling panels where the independently counted totals matched the brand's own stated counts exactly (31 and 26).
- Dated capture of the brand’s own page — amazon-B0CLBC6M19-2026-07-31https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CLBC6M19 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Source for the twelve named designators the label omits. SKU identity confirmed by UPC — Amazon item model number 631257122520 matches the brand page's schema.org gtin12. Listing shows 51 ratings, 4.4 stars, Best Sellers Rank #813 in Probiotic Nutritional Supplements. A low-traction listing.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 217194 (opens in a new tab) captured Renew Life Ultimate Flora Men's Care 90 Billion, the older on-market label in the same line. Corroborates the branded-strain lineage — "Contains a blend of 14 different strains", "Contains 3 strains of Bifidobacterium lactis". The line has gone 14 strains in 2020 to 12 now.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 1 organism slot carries a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$1.25 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $37.49 USD
- What that buys
- 30-capsule bottle (30 servings, 1 capsule daily), brand-direct price. $33.74 on Subscribe & Save.
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-mens-care-probiotic-50-billion-30-delayed-release-vegan-caps-rn1530124 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Non-GMO Project Verified | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
| Renew Life lot-level test-result portal | Brand-asserted, unverified | 31 July 2026 |
Non-GMO Project Verified
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
Claimed four times on the brand page. The issuer's public product register is unreachable — nongmoproject.org/find-by-product/ and /product-search/ both return HTTP 404, and the site root returns 200 with no product-finder path in its own navigation. Never recorded as verified, never as absent. Scope note — Non-GMO verification concerns GMO status only. It says nothing about CFU count, strain identity, potency at expiry or contaminants.
Renew Life lot-level test-result portal
The badge is displayed, but the register could not be reached to confirm it. We call this unverified, not false.
The sample result the portal displays shows four heavy metals — lead, arsenic, mercury, cadmium — and no CFU potency result, no strain-identity confirmation, no wider contaminant panel. It needs a lot number from a bottle already purchased. The adjacent "100+ Quality Checks" and "Lab Tested to Ensure Quality" claims are not substantiated by anything the portal shows a consumer.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 label-anonymises-strains-the-brand-names-in-its-own-advert
The panel prints "Bifidobacterium lactis (1)", "(2)", "(3)" and "Lactobacillus acidophilus (1)", "(2)". Apart from GG, not one designator appears on the label. The same brand's Amazon listing for the same SKU names twelve genuine, well-characterised Danisco/DuPont/IFF-lineage strains with substantial published literature. A buyer holding the bottle cannot identify a single organism beyond species level.
The record: Panel JPEG RN1530124AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg versus Amazon B0CLBC6M19 "Important information → Ingredients", both 2026-07-31 — open ithttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CLBC6M19 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
Finding 2 page-states-31-strains-three-times-panel-has-12
"50 Billion CFU from 31 probiotic strains for men", "across 31 diverse strains", and "contains 31 different strains of beneficial probiotics from Bifidobacterium, Lactobacillus, Streptococcus, and Lactococcus". The panel has 12 strains and contains no Streptococcus whatsoever. The correct figure — 12 — appears once, in a single bullet. The count and the genus list are imported from the 65B and 90B SKUs. The brand's women's 65 Billion page states 26 and its panel has exactly 26, so this is not an inability to get it right.
The record: renewlife.com RN1530124 page text versus panel JPEG RN1530124AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg, 2026-07-31
Finding 3 synbiotic-with-prebiotics-but-no-prebiotic-on-the-panel
Sold as a "3-in-1 synbiotic with probiotics, prebiotics & postbiotics", described as a synbiotic four times, and named "Men's Once Daily Pre & Probiotic" in the body copy. The Supplement Facts panel has no prebiotic line — unlike the 65B (100 mg) and 90B (160 mg), which both have one. Other Ingredients are cellulose, capsule and MCT: excipients, not a prebiotic.
The record: Panel JPEG RN1530124AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg, transcribed 2026-07-31
Finding 4 proprietary-blend-disarms-a-real-evidence-base
Roughly 10 of 12 strains have human RCT literature at species level — the largest such roster this project has documented in a men's SKU. Read at the standard this site actually scores by, the exact designator printed on the panel, one of the twelve resolves; Nature's Way Fortify Men's resolves eight of eleven. And even the loose reading cannot be used. HN019's constipation trials were run at a specified dose; this label does not tell you whether HN019 here is 10 billion CFU or 10 million. Twelve strains share one 152 mg figure. A proprietary blend converts a real evidence base into an unfalsifiable one.
The record: PMID 40320938 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 5 costs-more-per-day-than-the-brands-own-higher-cfu-sku
$1.25 a day against $1.11 for the brand's 65 Billion men's SKU — 12.5% more, for 23% fewer CFU, 19 fewer strains, and no prebiotic at all. Within one brand, on one shelf.
The record: renewlife.com RN1530124 $37.49/30 versus RN27502 $33.32/30, both fetched 2026-07-31
Finding 6 bi-04-printed-with-a-capital-i
The Amazon ingredient text reads "Bifidobacterium Lactis BI-04" with a capital i. The actual IFF strain is Bl-04, lowercase L for lactis. The consequence is reproducible: "BI-04" AND randomized returns 0 records; "Bl-04" AND randomized returns 17. A buyer who types what the listing shows finds nothing.
The record: Amazon B0CLBC6M19 ingredient text, 2026-07-31
Finding 7 misleading-cfu-comparator-self-contradicted-on-the-same-page
"Our 50 billion CFU formula delivers far more than the 10 to 15 million CFU you'll commonly find in other probiotics." The mainstream competitive set is dosed in billions, so against that comparator the product reads as 3,000 to 5,000 times stronger than the alternatives. Four paragraphs later the same page says "the most effective formulas typically provide at least 10 billion CFU per serving".
The record: renewlife.com RN1530124, both sentences on one page, 2026-07-31
Finding 8 constipation-and-respiratory-health-are-the-most-aggressive-wording-here
"Helps reduce occasional gas and constipation, plus promotes immune and respiratory health." Constipation is named as a condition rather than hedged as occasional irregularity, though the bundled "occasional gas" does most of the softening work. Respiratory health is claimed for a digestive probiotic with no strain-level substantiation offered. Both remain inside structure/function grammar with the full disclaimer — no explicit disease claim was identified anywhere on this page.
The record: renewlife.com RN1530124 bullet copy, verbatim, 2026-07-31
Finding 9 three-product-names-for-one-sku
Amazon calls it "Probiotics for Men 50 Billion CFU | 30 Vegetarian Capsules"; the brand page calls it "Ultimate Flora Men's Care Probiotic 50 Billion, 30 Delayed Release Vegan Caps"; the body copy calls it "Ultimate Flora Men's Once Daily Pre & Probiotic". Vegan and vegetarian are used interchangeably. Identity was confirmed by UPC, not by name — Amazon model number 631257122520 matches the brand page's own schema.org gtin12.
The record: Amazon B0CLBC6M19 versus renewlife.com RN1530124, GTIN-12 631257122520 on both
Finding 10 best-if-refrigerated-on-the-pricier-sku
This 50 Billion SKU says "Best if refrigerated". The cheaper 65 Billion says "Refrigeration not required". The same wording appears on the brand's 2020 DSLD record for the Men's Care line.
The record: Panel JPEG RN1530124AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg and DSLD 217194 — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 11 no-male-population-rct-for-any-strain
(HN019 OR NCFM OR "Bi-07" OR "Lpc-37") AND (men OR male) AND randomized returns 49 records, but "men OR male" matches any mixed-sex trial in PubMed. None is a male-outcome trial. No male-specific ingredient of any kind is present either — no zinc, no saw palmetto, no prostate or urinary botanical.
The record: PubMed E-utilities, queries run 2026-07-31
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- Non-GMO Project Verified status
- Claimed four times on the brand page. The issuer's public product register is unreachable — nongmoproject.org/find-by-product/ and /product-search/ both return HTTP 404, and the site root returns 200 with no product-finder path in its own navigation. Never recorded as verified, never as absent. Scope note — Non-GMO verification concerns GMO status only. It says nothing about CFU count, strain identity, potency at expiry or contaminants.
- Renew Life lot-level test-result portal status
- The sample result the portal displays shows four heavy metals — lead, arsenic, mercury, cadmium — and no CFU potency result, no strain-identity confirmation, no wider contaminant panel. It needs a lot number from a bottle already purchased. The adjacent "100+ Quality Checks" and "Lab Tested to Ensure Quality" claims are not substantiated by anything the portal shows a consumer.
- Whether the twelve Amazon designators map row-for-row to the twelve panel entries
- The mapping is an inference from the fact that both lists carry 12 entries, the same species, in the same order. The brand does not state it. What is established, and does not depend on the inference, is that the brand names twelve real designators in its own Amazon listing and prints none of them on the label.
- Whether the Amazon ingredient list reflects the current fill
- If it is stale, the entire strain-evidence assessment moves. Corroborated in kind but not in detail by DSLD 217194 (Men's Care 90 Billion, 2020), which states "Contains a blend of 14 different strains" and "Contains 3 strains of Bifidobacterium lactis" — the same (1)/(2)/(3) structure. The exact current roster is brand-asserted.
- A machine-readable Supplement Facts panel
- JPEG only, on a Shopify CDN. Nothing in the HTML, embedded JSON or structured data. When the brand copy and the panel disagree — as they do here on strain count — the machine-readable text is the wrong one.
- Any DSLD record for this SKU
- None found, established by enumerating 325 Renew Life records across 6 queries rather than by a UPC miss (DSLD's free-text search does not index UPCs; this was tested against a known-good UPC and shown not to work). A provenance limit, not a compliance failure.
- Per-strain CFU
- Twelve strains share one 152 mg, 50 billion CFU figure. Structurally unavailable.
- The Amazon selling price
- Buybox suppressed by a delivery-location gate; no price node in the served HTML.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
The tragedy of this SKU is that a genuinely good formula is wrapped in a page that misstates its own strain count and a label that refuses to name its own strains.
Read the panel and you learn almost nothing: Bifidobacterium lactis (1), (2), (3), Lactobacillus acidophilus (1), (2). Bare parenthetical numbers. Apart from GG, no designator appears anywhere on the bottle. Then open the brand’s own Amazon listing for the same UPC and there they are — Bl-04, HN019, Bi-07, Bi-26, Lp-115, GG, NCFM, Ll-23, Lc-11, Lpc-37, La-14, Lbr-35. Twelve real, well-characterised commercial strains, roughly ten of which carry human RCT literature. That is the strongest strain roster this project has documented in a men’s product. The brand knows these codes. It prints them in its advert and leaves them off the label.
Set that next to its sibling, the 65 Billion, which prints thirty-one codes that resolve to nothing at all, and the category’s core deception becomes visible: the label that shows the most strain codes is backed by the least evidence, and the label that shows none is backed by the most. Don’t count the codes. Paste one into PubMed.
Two things then disarm the good roster. The doses are undisclosed — twelve strains share one 152 mg, 50 billion figure, so HN019’s constipation trials, run at a specified dose, cannot be applied to this capsule. And the page cannot keep its own facts straight: it claims 31 strains three times, names a genus (Streptococcus) that is not on the panel, and sells itself as a “3-in-1 synbiotic with prebiotics” while declaring no prebiotic ingredient. It also costs 12.5% more per day than the brand’s own higher-CFU, more-strain, prebiotic-containing 65 Billion.
Credit where it is owed: CFU guaranteed through expiration, Bifido and Lacto subtotals disclosed, a lot-level test portal almost no competitor offers, delayed-release delivery specified, correct serving arithmetic, and no disease claims.