One product, one panel, one record.
Renew Life Ultimate Flora Saccharomyces Boulardii Go Pack, 20 vegan capsules (RN15417) — label audit
A single-organism product that does not name its organism's strain. Essentially the entire clinical evidence base for Saccharomyces boulardii attaches to one deposited strain, CNCM I-745, which has 109 PubMed records. This label tells you nothing about whether that is what is in the capsule — while the page advises readers to "look for clinically studied strains".
This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.
The record this page rests on
- NIH label record
- Label read on
- The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
- Cohort
- Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
- How deep this went
- Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.
The Label Verifiability Score for this product
48.8 out of 100
Rank 96 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 1 other product — 2 products sit on 48.8 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.
The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.
Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.
| Component | Weight | What was counted, and where | Fraction | Weight × fraction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strain identity printed on the panel | 0.24 | 0 of 1 organism slot carries a printed strain designator. | 0 / 1 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| Per-organism amount printed | 0.20 | 1 of 1 organism slot has an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. | 1 / 1 = 1.0000 | 0.2000 |
| What the CFU count is measured against | 0.22 | Potency basis "through-expiry": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry yes — 3 of 3. | 3 / 3 = 1.0000 | 0.2200 |
| Printed designators that lead to a human trial | 0.20 | 0 of 1 checked organism slot resolves to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. | 0 / 1 = 0.0000 | 0.0000 |
| Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register | 0.14 | Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. | Not answered | — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought |
0.4200 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.4884. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 48.8 above.
See this product’s row in the full ranking, alongside the other 153 scored products, or read what each of the five components asks and how to check it .
What this label discloses
Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.
| Disclosure | As recorded |
|---|---|
| CFU as printed | 5 Billion CFU (250 mg Saccharomyces boulardii) |
| What that count is measured against | Through expiry |
| Strain designators | None — species only |
| Organism slots transcribed here | 1 — the full panel |
| Marketed as | Unisex |
"At Expiration Date under recommended storage conditions. Store in a cool, dry place. Refrigeration not required." Clean, single-organism and unambiguous.
The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.
The panel guarantees the count through the expiration or best-by date. This is the only basis that is falsifiable by a reader holding the bottle.
The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.
| Organism as printed | Designator as printed | Quantity as printed | What the designator resolves to | The query we ran |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saccharomyces boulardii (correct name: Saccharomyces cerevisiae var. boulardii) | — none printed | 5 Billion CFU, 250 mg | No designator printed | "CNCM I-745" |
What of that is verifiable
A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.
- Photograph of the printed panel — RN15417AMAZONIMAGES02.jpghttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-saccaromyces-boulardii-go-pack-20-vegan-capsules-rn15417 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own current label art, copyright 2025 RenewLife, read from the product page. UPC 631257154170 and price come from embedded Shopify variant JSON on the same page.
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record — DSLD 250797 (opens in a new tab) captured On-market, name-and-count match only — this record carries no UPC, so it is not a verified match to RN15417. Used solely to flag the apparent 6 billion to 5 billion and 500 mg to 250 mg difference between label generations, which is recorded as unresolved.
How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for
Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.
Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.
For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.
A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.
What it costs per day
$0.58 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.
- Price
- $11.65 USD
- What that buys
- 20-capsule blister pack (20 servings, 1 capsule daily)
- Price checked
- — the source we read it fromhttps://www.renewlife.com/products/ultimate-flora-saccaromyces-boulardii-go-pack-20-vegan-capsules-rn15417 — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.
What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register
A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.
| Programme | Status at the issuer | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Any third-party certification | Not checked | 31 July 2026 |
Any third-party certification
We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.
None claimed. The panel states "VEGAN, NON-GMO, NO ARTIFICIAL COLORS" — self-assertions with no issuer mark. Registers were unreachable in any case, so this is recorded as not claimed rather than refuted.
How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version
Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.
This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.
Every finding on this page, with the record behind it
Finding 1 single-strain-product-with-no-strain-designator
The evidence base for this organism is locked to CNCM I-745, and the label gives a buyer no way to know whether that is what they are holding. Strains matchable to a human RCT — 0 of 1.
The record: Panel image RN15417AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg, entire panel; PubMed "CNCM I-745" → 109
Finding 2 a-specific-efficacy-claim-rides-on-the-missing-identity
"Helps relieve occasional diarrhea" and "Formulated with one targeted strain, Saccharomyces boulardii, this formula is specifically designed to support digestive comfort and relief of occasional diarrhea." Which clinical study, of which strain, is never stated. This is the textbook strain-swap substantiation gap: the credibility belongs to a strain the label does not claim to contain.
The record: renewlife.com RN15417, verbatim, 2026-07-31; DSLD 250797 for the older label's stronger wording — open it (opens in a new tab)
Finding 3 the-brand-calls-a-species-a-strain-then-tells-you-to-check-strains
"One targeted strain, Saccharomyces boulardii", "an advanced probiotic strain", "This specialty strain" — repeatedly and explicitly, for what is not even a species-level identification. The same page advises readers to "look for clinically studied strains", which its own label makes impossible to follow.
The record: renewlife.com RN15417, verbatim, 2026-07-31
Finding 4 the-brand-misspells-its-own-active-ingredient
The product title, the H1 and the URL slug all read "Saccaromyces", missing the h. The Supplement Facts panel spells it correctly, so this is a marketing-side quality tell rather than a label error.
The record: renewlife.com RN15417 URL and page title, 2026-07-31
Finding 5 inulin-in-a-product-for-diarrhoea
Inulin appears unquantified in Other Ingredients — a fermentable fibre inside a product sold for digestive upset.
The record: Panel image RN15417AMAZONIMAGES02.jpg, Other Ingredients
What we could not verify
Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.
- Any third-party certification status
- None claimed. The panel states "VEGAN, NON-GMO, NO ARTIFICIAL COLORS" — self-assertions with no issuer mark. Registers were unreachable in any case, so this is recorded as not claimed rather than refuted.
- Which strain of S. boulardii is in the capsule
- Not disclosed. For a 31-strain blend an undisclosed strain is one unknown among many; for a single-organism product the strain identity is the product. This is the decisive gap on this SKU.
- Whether the product was reformulated
- Flagged, not asserted. The closest DSLD record (250797, "Ultimate Flora Probiotic Saccharomyces boulardii 6 Billion", 20 vegetarian capsules, entered 2021-07-27, on-market) transcribes the older label as 6 billion live cultures and 500 mg per capsule. The current label reads 5 billion and 250 mg — half the mass and about 17% less CFU. That DSLD record carries no UPC, so it cannot be hard-matched to RN15417. The correct published form is "the label generation on file with NIH differs", not "Renew Life cut the dose".
- Which clinical study supports the diarrhoea claim
- Never stated. The page says the product is "specifically designed to support digestive comfort and relief of occasional diarrhea", and the DSLD transcription of the older label goes further with "Clinically studied probiotic for relief of occasional diarrhea" — with no study and no strain named.
How to check every line of this page yourself
Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:
- Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
- Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
- Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
- Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
- Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.
The whole Supplement Facts panel is one line: Saccharomyces boulardii — 5 Billion CFU — 250 mg.
That is admirably short, and it is the problem. For a 31-strain blend, an unnamed strain is one unknown among many. For a single-organism product, the strain identity is the product — and this one does not disclose it. It matters more for this organism than almost any other, because essentially the entire clinical evidence base for S. boulardii attaches to one deposited strain, CNCM I-745, the Biocodex strain sold as Florastor, with 109 PubMed records behind it. Nothing on this label tells you whether that is what you are swallowing.
The page nonetheless claims the product “helps relieve occasional diarrhea”, and the older label on file with the NIH goes further — “Clinically studied probiotic for relief of occasional diarrhea.” Which study, of which strain, is never said.
The sharpest detail is the brand’s own advice. Renew Life’s page tells readers to “look for clinically studied strains”, calls this one “one targeted strain, Saccharomyces boulardii”, and never names a strain — for an organism that is not even a separate species (it is conventionally S. cerevisiae var. boulardii). The product title, H1 and URL also misspell it as “Saccaromyces”.
What is good here is real and worth saying: potency guaranteed at expiry, the cheapest cost per day in its batch at $0.58, blister packaging for stability, no proprietary blend to hide behind, and explicit warnings for yeast-sensitive users and people on immune-suppressing medication.