One product, one panel, one record.

Vitamin Bounty Pro-50 Probiotic (Raw Probiotics), 60 veggie capsules — label audit

The Supplement Facts panel and the product page — both published by the brand, on the same page — disagree about what is in the bottle. The panel lists a two-item greens blend of oat straw and alfalfa; the page lists four items including wheat grass and barley grass, beside a Gluten Free seal. Each surface carries a taxonomic error the other gets right. The brand's own graphic says "Same formula, New look".

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
No NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record is on file for this product in this teardown.
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
Addendum — outside the founding denominators Audited 2026-07-31, outside the frozen founding cohort of 27 and outside every D27 denominator.
How deep this went
Label audit — the lighter pass What the label says, what basis it gives for its CFU number, whether the strains are coded, whether a government label record exists — checked and published. No full claim inventory was written for this SKU. It is a real result, and it is a shallower one than the teardowns above it, which is why the page says so before you weigh it against them.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

17.1 out of 100

Rank 135 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 17.1 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 17.1 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 0 of 13 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 13 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. 2 / 3 = 0.6667 0.146667
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 0 of 13 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.146667 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.1705. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 17.1 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Vitamin Bounty Pro-50 Probiotic (Raw Probiotics), 60 veggie capsules discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 50 Billion CFU across a 188 mg blend of 13 organisms
What that count is measured against At manufacture only
Strain designators None — species only
Organism slots transcribed here 13 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex

"Formulated with 50 billion CFU at time of manufacture." Stated plainly on the panel, which is more honest than omitting it — and it is the weakest basis available. It tells the buyer nothing about what is alive in the capsule they swallow. Storage — "No refrigeration required."

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.

The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.

Every organism named on the panel of Vitamin Bounty Pro-50 Probiotic (Raw Probiotics), 60 veggie capsules, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Lactobacillus acidophilus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus plantarum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium lactis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus brevis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus casei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus rhamnosus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus salivaruis (correct name: Lactobacillus salivarius) — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus paracasei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus bulgaricus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium bifidum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium breve — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium longum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Saccharomyces boulardii — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Photograph of the printed panelPro50_SupplementFacts.jpghttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/probiotic-50-billion-cfu — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own Supplement Facts image, transcribed including its errors. The page HTML carries a different ingredient list from the panel. SKU VB1001, barcode 00869026000469.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagevitaminbounty-pro50-2026-07-31https://vitaminbounty.com/products/probiotic-50-billion-cfu — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured HTTP 200. Price from Shopify variant JSON. The 29-product catalogue was pulled from products.json in the same pass for the intra-brand CFU ladder and the men's-SKU absence check.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$1.00 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$29.99 USD
What that buys
60-capsule bottle (30 servings, 2 capsules daily). $23.99 on 20% Subscribe & Save.
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/probiotic-50-billion-cfu — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Vitamin Bounty Pro-50 Probiotic (Raw Probiotics), 60 veggie capsules, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
Any third-party certification Not checked 31 July 2026

Any third-party certification

We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.

None is claimed. No NSF, no USP, no Informed Choice, no Non-GMO Project, no named laboratory. The brand's "A Clean Formula You Can Trust" graphic lists delayed-release capsule, no refrigeration required, dairy free, gluten free, USA with globally sourced ingredients, and "Tested live organisms". That last is a bare brand assertion with no testing body, no method and no scope named. There is nothing here to verify at an issuer's register because nothing is claimed.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

This brand sells no women’s counterpart to this product, so there is no diff to run.

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 cfu-guaranteed-at-time-of-manufacture

The only non-expiry basis among the five products audited alongside it, attached to the largest front-of-pack CFU number in the batch. A 50-billion at-manufacture claim and a 2-billion at-expiry claim are not comparable quantities, and the front-of-pack number invites exactly that comparison.

The record: Panel footnote, verbatim, from brand label image Pro50_SupplementFacts.jpg

Finding 2 thirteen-species-presented-as-thirteen-strains

Zero ATCC, DSM, CNCM, NCIMB or proprietary designators appear anywhere on the label, while the packaging reads "13 PROBIOTIC STRAINS / 50 BILLION ORGANISMS PER SERVING". These are 13 species. Strain specificity is the whole basis of probiotic efficacy claims.

The record: PMID 29868585 — open it (opens in a new tab)

Finding 3 the-brands-own-two-surfaces-disagree-about-the-formula

Panel versus page: a two-item greens blend against a four-item one; "Lactobacillus salivaruis" on the panel against the correct spelling on the page; "Bifidobacterium brevis" on the page against the correct spelling on the panel. Each surface carries a different taxonomic error the other gets right, and the brand's own graphic asserts "Same formula, New look".

The record: Brand label image Pro50_SupplementFacts.jpg versus the ingredient list in the same page's HTML

Finding 4 gluten-free-seal-beside-a-page-listed-wheat-grass

Unreconciled on the brand's own product page. Reported at exactly that strength — a conflict between two of the brand's surfaces, not a contamination finding.

The record: Page ingredient list versus brand graphic Pro50_CleanFormula.jpg

Finding 5 no-third-party-certification-and-an-unscoped-testing-claim

"Tested live organisms" names no body, no method and no scope. Nothing else is claimed at all.

The record: Brand graphic Pro50_CleanFormula.jpg, 2026-07-31

Finding 6 grammatical-error-on-the-printed-supplement-facts-panel

The panel's blend line reads "50 Billions CFU Probiotic Blend".

The record: Brand label image Pro50_SupplementFacts.jpg

Finding 7 before-and-after-testimonial-imagery-on-a-digestive-supplement

The page carries testimonial copy ("No more bloating! — Nikki B.") alongside before-and-after body photography.

The record: vitaminbounty.com product page, 2026-07-31

Finding 8 no-government-label-record

The product is invisible in the federal label database, checked on four brand spellings.

The record: DSLD queries on four spellings, all zero, 2026-07-31 — open it (opens in a new tab)

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

Any third-party certification status
None is claimed. No NSF, no USP, no Informed Choice, no Non-GMO Project, no named laboratory. The brand's "A Clean Formula You Can Trust" graphic lists delayed-release capsule, no refrigeration required, dairy free, gluten free, USA with globally sourced ingredients, and "Tested live organisms". That last is a bare brand assertion with no testing body, no method and no scope named. There is nothing here to verify at an issuer's register because nothing is claimed.
What the greens blend actually contains
The panel says oat straw and alfalfa grass, two items. The page says barley grass, oat grass, wheat grass and alfalfa, four items. The brand's own packaging-change graphic on the same page says "Same formula, New look", which forecloses a reformulation explanation. Reported as an unreconciled conflict between two of the brand's own surfaces, not as a proven anything.
Whether the product is gluten free as its seal claims
The page-HTML ingredient list names wheat grass and barley grass while the product graphic beside it carries a Gluten Free seal. Young cereal grasses harvested pre-jointing are conventionally treated as gluten free, so this is not automatically a violation — but the two surfaces do not agree on whether those ingredients are present at all, and a coeliac buyer reading that page cannot reconcile it. This is not escalated into a contamination claim.
Any government label record
None exists. Checked on four spellings — "Pro-50 Probiotic", "VitaminBounty", "Vitamin Bounty", "Bounty Pro-50" — all returning zero, consistent with independent confirmation in a prior pass.
Any human RCT matchable to this product as sold
Zero of 13, and this is structural rather than a failure of searching — a species name does not identify a tested agent. The correct statement is "no strain is disclosed, so no claim can be matched to a trial", never "no strain here has an RCT".
Per-organism CFU
50 billion across 13 organisms averages about 3.8 billion each, but nothing prevents one cheap organism carrying nearly all of it.
The CFU of the brand's Pro-100 SKU
Not stated in the catalogue copy, so the intra-brand CFU ladder could not be completed.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://vitaminbounty.com/products/probiotic-50-billion-cfuhttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/probiotic-50-billion-cfu — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Two surfaces on one product page, published by the same brand, that do not agree about what is in the bottle. The Supplement Facts panel says the greens blend is oat straw and alfalfa grass. The ingredient list in the page’s own HTML says barley grass, oat grass, wheat grass and alfalfa. The panel misspells salivarius; the page invents Bifidobacterium brevis. Each surface gets right what the other gets wrong. And the brand forecloses the innocent explanation itself, because its packaging-change graphic on that same page reads “Same formula, New look” — so a reformulation cannot account for it.

Beside that ingredient list sits a Gluten Free seal. Young cereal grasses harvested before jointing are conventionally treated as gluten free, so this is not automatically a violation, and it is not published as one. What is true and damaging enough on its own is that a coeliac buyer reading that page cannot reconcile the two lists.

On the label itself: thirteen species, zero strain designators, sold as “13 PROBIOTIC STRAINS”. Because no strain is disclosed, no claim on this product can be matched to any trial — that is a statement about the label, and it is the only version of the statement that is true. The CFU number, the largest front-of-pack figure among the products audited alongside it, is guaranteed at time of manufacture. The brand states that plainly on the panel, which several competitors do not manage at all, and it is still the weakest guarantee available: it describes the factory, not the capsule you swallow.

There is no third-party certification of any kind. “Tested live organisms” names no laboratory, no method and no scope.