One product, one panel, one record.

Vitamin Bounty Pro-Daily Probiotic — label audit

The bottle says take one capsule daily. The brand's own product page says take two. That single contradiction halves the days supply and doubles the real cost per day, from $0.97 to $1.93 — on the lowest CFU count in its batch, guaranteed only at manufacture.

This page is an audit of a label. It records what this product’s panel discloses, what of that could be checked against a primary record, and what could not. The score below ranks this product on that disclosure and on nothing else.

The record this page rests on

NIH label record
Label read on
The most recent dated artefact behind this page. Labels change; this is how old our reading of it is.
Cohort
D₂₇ founding teardown One of the 27 products taken apart at label level. That cohort is frozen and dated, so the audit’s published percentages cannot silently move.
How deep this went
Full forensic teardown Panel transcribed, every strain designator queried, every certification chased to its issuer’s own register, and the literature behind each marketing claim opened and read.

The Label Verifiability Score for this product

17.1 out of 100

Rank 135 of the 154 products in this audit the rubric can score. This rank is shared with 6 other products — 7 products sit on 17.1 and are tied. They hold the position jointly; no tiebreaker is applied, because every tiebreaker available here would be a number the rubric deliberately refused to weigh, smuggled back in to make a list look tidier.

The score measures one thing: how much of what you are buying this company tells you, and how much of that survives being checked against a source that is not the company. It does not measure whether the product works — this site holds no efficacy data of its own, and 0 of 294 organism slots in the founding cohort carry a strain with a human randomised trial for any male-specific outcome, so nobody in this category has evidence that would support a ranking by effect.

Computed over 86% of the rubric by weight — the share of the five questions below this record could answer. The remaining question is unanswered, and unanswered is not nought: it leaves the divisor rather than dragging the score down. That share travels with the number and is never dropped — this score over 86% of the weight and the same score over all of it are different claims.

How the 17.1 is arrived at: the five components of the Label Verifiability Score, each with the weight it carries and the fraction this label actually earned.
Component Weight What was counted, and where Fraction Weight × fraction
Strain identity printed on the panel 0.24 0 of 13 organism slots carry a printed strain designator. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Per-organism amount printed 0.20 0 of 13 organism slots have an amount of its own; the rest are inside a blend total. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
What the CFU count is measured against 0.22 Potency basis "at-manufacture": CFU figure printed yes, single basis stated yes, basis reaches expiry no — 2 of 3. 2 / 3 = 0.6667 0.146667
Printed designators that lead to a human trial 0.20 0 of 13 checked organism slots resolve to at least one human randomised trial under the designator exactly as printed. This counts whether the identity leads to a trial, never what the trial found. 0 / 13 = 0.0000 0.0000
Certification confirmed at the issuer’s own register 0.14 Every certification on this record is brand-asserted with the register unreachable, or not yet queried. An unreachable register is a fact about the verification infrastructure, not about this brand, so it may not move its position. Not answered — excluded from the divisor, not counted as nought
The five weights sum to 1.00. A component this record could not answer is renormalised away rather than counted as nought — it leaves the divisor, which is why the divisor below is 0.86 rather than 1.00. Fractions are shown to four decimals and the weighted values to six, which is the precision at which adding the last column by hand, dividing, and rounding to one decimal reproduces the published score on every product in this audit. The site's own arithmetic uses the exact fractions and rounds once at the end, so the printed total can differ from the column's own sum in the sixth decimal and never in the score. Recomputed from this product's own record on every build. A stored score that no longer follows from the record it summarises fails the build.

0.146667 — the last column added up — divided by 0.86, the weight this record could answer, is 0.1705. Multiplied by 100 and rounded to one decimal, that is the 17.1 above.

What this label discloses

Everything in this table is what the product itself states — on the printed panel, on the brand’s own page, or in the label record the manufacturer filed. Nothing in it is checked yet; checking is the next section.

What Vitamin Bounty Pro-Daily Probiotic discloses, as recorded from its label and label record.
Disclosure As recorded
CFU as printed 5 Billion CFU
What that count is measured against At manufacture only
Strain designators None — species only
Organism slots transcribed here 13 — the full panel
Marketed as Unisex
Source: DSLD 263178

** Potency at time of manufacture

The panel’s own words on potency, verbatim.

The count is stated at time of manufacture only. The panel makes no commitment about what is alive when you swallow it.

The panel names species only, with no strain designator anywhere. A species name is not a claim: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species can contain thousands.

Every organism named on the panel of Vitamin Bounty Pro-Daily Probiotic, in panel order, with what its designator resolves to.
Organism as printed Designator as printed Quantity as printed What the designator resolves to The query we ran
Lactobacillus acidophilus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium lactis (correct name: Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis) — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus brevis — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus casei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus plantarum (correct name: Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus rhamnosus — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus salivarius — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus paracasei — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Lactobacillus bulgaricus (correct name: Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus) — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium bifidum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium brevis (correct name: Bifidobacterium breve) — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Bifidobacterium longum — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
Saccharomyces boulardii — none printed — not stated separately No designator printed
The query column is the exact search string, so that a reader can re-run it and get our result or a different one.

What of that is verifiable

A disclosure is verifiable when a reader can open a record that neither we nor the brand controls and see the same thing. Below is every dated artefact this page rests on. What is absent from this list is not verified, however reasonable it sounds.

  • Photograph of the printed panelVitamin_Bounty_Pro_Daily_Righthttps://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0266/7112/0472/products/Vitamin_Bounty_Pro_Daily_Right_f47d4358-b3f7-4ce8-9c3f-b5f1d6bca107.jpg — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured The brand's own bottle render, fully legible at native 1000x1000, read directly and independently re-read during the audit. There is no DSLD record for this product, so this image is the only source for the panel.
  • Dated capture of the brand’s own pagevitaminbounty-prodaily-pdp-2026-07-30https://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits. captured Live page and Shopify catalogue: SKU VB1004, $28.99, published 2019-12-04, the "Take 2 capsules daily" instruction, and the zero-match search for third-party testing language.
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record DSLD 263178 (opens in a new tab) captured Women's Pro-Daily comparator, entered 2021-11-19, on-market: five organisms, a 500 mg Proprietary Women's Health Formula and 50 mg prebiotic FOS.

How many of its strains have a human trial for what it is sold for

Across the frozen founding cohort, 0 of 294 organism slots (0.0%) carry an organism with a human randomised controlled trial for any male-specific outcome. Not for this product — for all 27 of the founding teardowns, taken together. That is the number to hold against any men’s probiotic, including this one.

Two further founding-cohort figures for context: only 43 of 294 organism slots carry a strain with any human RCT at all under the exact code printed on the label, and only 2 of 27 products have a published human trial of the finished formula — the thing actually in the bottle. All three figures divide by the frozen cohort of 27 teardowns and 294 organism slots, never by every teardown on this site.

For this product specifically, 0 organism slots carry a strain with a human RCT under the exact designator printed on the label.

A word on what a designator has to clear before it counts here. The organism must be named with the exact strain code that appears in the trial, the trial must be in humans, and the code must return that trial when a reader searches it. A species name does not qualify: the trials in this field are of strains, and a species contains thousands of them.

What it costs per day

$0.97 a day at the dose the label itself instructs.

Price
$28.99 USD
What that buys
30-capsule bottle (30 servings at the label's one-capsule dose)
Price checked
the source we read it fromhttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

For context, the median verified cost across the frozen founding cohort is $1.52 a day — about $553 a year. The two figures come off one median: 24 priced products give an even count, so the median is the mean of the two middle ones, $1.515 a day. The daily figure is that rounded to the cent; the annual figure is $1.515 × 365 = $ 552.975, rounded to the dollar. Annualising the rounded $1.52 instead gives $ 554.80, which is why the rule is printed rather than left for you to guess at.

That median runs over 24 products, not 27: three of the founding teardowns have no verifiable US price at all, and are excluded rather than estimated. It is not a median over every teardown on this site.

What certification it holds, checked at the issuer’s own register

A badge on a bottle is a claim like any other. Every row below was checked — or not checked — at the certifier’s own public register, never at the badge. Across the frozen founding cohort, 2 of 27 products hold a certification we could confirm at the issuer — a founding-cohort figure, not a count over every teardown on this site.

Certification claims for Vitamin Bounty Pro-Daily Probiotic, each checked at the issuer’s own register.
Programme Status at the issuer Checked
None claimed Not checked not checked

None claimed

We have not queried this register for this product. It does not mean the product holds nothing.

The product page contains zero occurrences of "third party", "3rd party", "lab", "tested", "potency", "GMP", "FDA" or "clinical", verified by scripted string search over the rendered page text, and the label carries no certifier mark of any kind. Nothing to verify, because nothing is claimed. That is at least internally consistent — and it means there is no external check on a product whose CFU is guaranteed only at manufacture.

How it differs from the same brand’s women’s version

Across the fourteen same-brand men’s-versus-women’s label diffs run inside the frozen founding cohort, zero men’s or default formulas contain a probiotic strain, identified by designator, that was selected on male-specific evidence. In eight of the fourteen the sex-specific differentiator is a botanical or a mineral, and in five of the fourteen the women’s SKU is better-specified, cheaper, or both — “better-specified” meaning the panel that discloses more, never the panel with more in it. The rule behind each of those counts, and all fourteen pairs classified against it , are published in full. Diffs run on teardowns added since sit outside this fourteen, and outside the sentence above.

Compared against Vitamin Bounty Women's Pro-Daily Probiotic. Diffed .

What the two panels differ by

  • The women's product is $22.99 against Pro-Daily's $28.99 — six dollars less — at $0.77 a day against $0.97. Vitamin Bounty products.json, 29 products, fetched 2026-07-30
  • The women's product is 60 capsules at two a day and 10 billion CFU; Pro-Daily is 30 capsules at one a day and 5 billion. Both are 30 servings. Vitamin Bounty products.json versus the Pro-Daily label render
  • The women's product adds a Proprietary Women's Health Formula of 500 mg — ashwagandha root, cranberry fruit, black cohosh root — and Prebiotic FOS 50 mg. Pro-Daily's botanical add-on is a 40 mg Greens Blend and there is no prebiotic. DSLD 263178 versus the Pro-Daily label render

What is identical across the pair

  • Both are proprietary blends with zero strain designators.
  • Both are Vitamin Bounty's own SKUs, sold from the same catalogue.

Brand bottle render (Pro-Daily) versus DSLD 263178 and the brand's Shopify catalogue — the women’s SKU record (opens in a new tab)

Every finding on this page, with the record behind it

Finding 1 label-and-website-give-different-doses

The label's serving size is one delayed-release capsule and the back panel reads "SUGGESTED USE: Take one (1) capsule daily". The product page, under "How To Use", reads: "Take 2 capsules daily between meals or on an empty stomach with water." The same brand publishes two different doses for the same 30-count bottle. At the label dose it is a 30-day supply at $0.97 a day; at the website dose it is a 15-day supply at $1.93.

The record: Brand bottle render versus vitaminbounty.com product page, both verified 2026-07-30 — open ithttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Finding 2 two-taxonomic-errors-on-the-printed-panel

"Bifidobacterium brevis" is not a valid taxon — the species is Bifidobacterium breve — and Lactobacillus brevis is listed separately three lines above, so this reads as copy-paste contamination rather than a duplicate entry. And the header says "13 Strains of Probiotic Bacteria" while the list includes Saccharomyces boulardii, which is a yeast. A third, minor: "Hordeum vulgaris" should be Hordeum vulgare.

The record: Brand bottle render, read directly at native 1000x1000

Finding 3 shown-to-support-with-nothing-shown

"Shown to support immune and digestive health." "Shown to" asserts demonstrated evidence. No study, citation or strain designator is offered anywhere on the site, and with zero of thirteen organisms designated, no such showing is possible.

The record: vitaminbounty.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30

Finding 4 immune-system-boost-with-no-immune-ingredient

"Immune system boost." The product contains no immune-specific ingredient. The brand's own 10-billion sibling SKU adds zinc and vitamin C, which carry authorised immune claims; this one does not.

The record: Brand bottle render and vitaminbounty.com product page, verified 2026-07-30

Finding 5 fix-these-digestive-problems

"Are you sick of feeling bloated after every meal, or worse: suffering from continuous, annoying GI problems?" followed by "Pro Daily probiotics help you fix these digestive problems". "Fix" is a treatment verb, and it is paired with "continuous… GI problems" — the closest thing in its batch to an implied treatment claim on a men's-marketed SKU.

The record: vitaminbounty.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30

Finding 6 lowest-cfu-at-the-highest-price

5 billion CFU for $28.99 — $0.193 per billion CFU per day, roughly fourteen times the Sports Research figure in the same batch — and it is the only one of the three anchored at manufacture.

The record: Brand bottle render and Shopify catalogue, verified 2026-07-30

Finding 7 advance-notice-cancellation-window

A site-wide "SUBSCRIBE & SAVE 20%" banner, with cancellation requiring action "at least 3 days in advance before renewal to avoid future charges". Not a hard trap — a 120-day money-back guarantee is offered — but the advance-notice window is a real friction term disclosed only in body copy.

The record: vitaminbounty.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30

Finding 8 shipping-thresholds-contradict-on-one-page

The header banner says "FREE US SHIPPING ABOVE $50"; the footer on the same page says "Free US Shipping For Orders $60+".

The record: vitaminbounty.com product page, verified live 2026-07-30

Finding 9 no-dsld-record

The UPC returns zero hits in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, so there is no government-transcribed copy of this panel and the brand's own bottle render is the only source.

The record: DSLD UPC query, re-run 2026-07-30 — open it (opens in a new tab)

What we could not verify

Every gap below is published rather than deleted. Most are derived automatically from the empty fields in this page’s own record, so a gap cannot be hidden by leaving a box blank.

None claimed status
The product page contains zero occurrences of "third party", "3rd party", "lab", "tested", "potency", "GMP", "FDA" or "clinical", verified by scripted string search over the rendered page text, and the label carries no certifier mark of any kind. Nothing to verify, because nothing is claimed. That is at least internally consistent — and it means there is no external check on a product whose CFU is guaranteed only at manufacture.
The CFU basis of the women's comparator
The women's label carries a ** marker whose footnote text was not retrievable, and DSLD 263178 does not reproduce it. Genuinely unverified.
Any government label record for Pro-Daily
There is none — the UPC returns zero hits in DSLD, so the panel published here rests solely on the brand's own 1000x1000 bottle render, which was read directly and independently re-read during the audit. Brand-filtered DSLD returns only two Vitamin Bounty probiotic records (Women's Pro-Daily 263178 and Pro-100 266647), neither of which is this product.
Per-strain CFU across the thirteen organisms
Not disclosed. A 5 billion blend of 13 organisms could be 4.9 billion of the cheapest one.

How to check every line of this page yourself

Nothing on this page requires trusting us. Every claim above resolves to a record you can open:

  1. Open the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database record linked at the top of this page. It is the label the manufacturer filed, not our transcription of it.
  2. Compare the CFU line and the suggested-use line against the disclosure table above. If they disagree with us, we are wrong and we want to know.
  3. Take any strain designator from the panel and run the query printed beside it. The query is published precisely so you can get a different answer than we did.
  4. Divide the price by the number of days the label’s own dose instructions make the container last. That arithmetic is the whole of the cost-per-day row.
  5. Search the certifier’s own register for this product, not for the brand. A company can participate in a programme without this product being on its list.

Primary product record: https://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-daily-probiotichttps://vitaminbounty.com/products/pro-daily-probiotic — Address given, not linked: this site does not link out to the products it audits.

Take one capsule daily, says the bottle. Take two capsules daily, says the brand’s own product page, under “How To Use”.

That is a 30-count bottle. So it is either a thirty-day supply at $0.97 a day, or a fifteen-day supply at $1.93 a day, depending on which of the brand’s two instructions you follow. Nothing on either surface acknowledges the other.

Everything else about the panel is consistent with a label nobody senior read. It announces a “Proprietary Blend of 13 Strains of Probiotic Bacteria” and then lists Saccharomyces boulardii, which is a yeast. It lists “Bifidobacterium brevis”, which is not a valid species name — the organism is Bifidobacterium breve, and Lactobacillus brevis is printed three lines above, so this looks like copy-paste contamination between the two rows. And it spells barley grass Hordeum vulgaris instead of vulgare.

Zero of the thirteen organisms carry a strain designator, so none can be matched to any published trial. Against that, the page claims the product is “Shown to support immune and digestive health” — an evidentiary claim, with no study, no citation and no strain named anywhere on the site — and promises an “Immune system boost” from a formula containing no immune-specific ingredient. The brand’s own 10-billion sibling SKU does add zinc and vitamin C. This one does not.

The comparison that hurts most is with Vitamin Bounty’s own women’s product. Twice the CFU. Twice the capsules. A 500 mg botanical blend against this one’s 40 mg of greens. A prebiotic this one does not have. Six dollars cheaper. There is no men’s probiotic in the brand’s 29-product catalogue at all — Pro-Daily is simply the ungendered default that listicles steer men toward, and by every measurable axis it is the worse buy from the same shelf.

One thing to say plainly in the product’s favour: “Potency at time of manufacture” is printed right there on the panel. It is the least consumer-favourable basis available, and the brand states it outright rather than hiding it. That is the honest version of the bad answer, and several products in this cohort do not manage even that.